We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Rate Highly Anywhere But Off The Charts in Door County” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 136 Restaurant & Wine Bar

136 Restaurant & Wine Bar
136 North 3rd Avenue, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
+1 920-746-1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 74 restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Beaufort, SC, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would Rate Highly Anywhere But Off The Charts in Door County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I've eaten at 136 three times this summer, all very good meals and very good experiences overall. The veal chop on my first visit was as good as I've eaten anywhere, coupled with very well done polenta and perfectly prepared vegetables. Second trip--risotto. Fresh, flavorful and light, not the warmed over glop glop that passes for risotto in many places today. Today I had the fried egg sandwich for lunch. Super good. (Very messy though. Next time I'll eat it with knife and fork.) Service is always competent. My only complaint is the over loud music on the patio. But they will turn it down (in one case off) if you ask. I will be making this my go to restaurant in Door County.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    64
    24
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“best meal in Door County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We were driving thru Sturgeon Bay on our way to Fish Creek. Stopped at our favorite boutique up the hill and they recommended 136. We were too late for the lunch menu, but found the bar menu plentiful. We split the Shrimp bisque which was fabulous. Hint of sherry, 2 very large grilled shrimp garnished the cup. Was very flavorful. We also split the crab cakes which were served over some wonderful fresh micro greens in a light vinegarette. Best crab cake ever, even better than ones I had in Annapolis. Great hip interior, friendly staff. Don't miss this one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Fun food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

It's like Milwaukee dining in the middle of Door County- excellent choice for lunch and dinner! Highly recommend the crab cakes!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

the chicken bacon avocado sandwich ...OMG. their soups and sandwiches are GREAT...and the place is so cute.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“True gourmet cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Decent wine selection. Simply the finest bruschetta ever, house salad was very good with fresh berries. Mahi Mahi was a ten, truly outstanding. The chef has high standards and the food quality shows it. We waited a long time for our food, we rank the meal in our top ten in the last ten years. Strong choice, you will enjoy it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 136 Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to 136 Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 136 Restaurant & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.