We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Door

The Garden Door
Peninsular Agricultural Research Station, 4312 Hwy. 42, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Garden Door was designed and is maintained by the Door County Master Gardeners. TGD is nestled behind barns at the UW Peninsular Ag Research Station, which is located a few miles north of Sturgeon Bay on Highway 42. Enter at the south driveway and go straight back past the barns. The entry gate is on your left. TGD is the only free public garden in Door County. It is open from dawn until dusk every day. A donation box is located on the right as you exit through the gate. Enjoy the double kaliedascope, fairy garden. Meditation tunnel. Wander and enjoy the tranquility.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Garden Door is gorgeous! There are so many flowers in bloom right now! When we visited there were a few painters doing pleine aire paintings of the pond and butterfly gardens. The tunnel with its fused glass flowers also looked spectacular.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bueatiful quiet place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Another treat on our short Door County vacation was finding this garden. Free and open during daylight, this small but interesting collection of plants is well worth your time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great pit stop for the kids to explore the garden scene!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I am so glad we stopped here on our recent trip to Door County. It is a bit off of the main road so don’t get discouraged and drive back there. It is definitely worth stopping and they have great signage up to get you to the right spot. Our home spot was in Sturgeon Bay and we were headed up to Washington Island. This was the perfect stop where my 2 year old could walk around, wear out some energy and enjoy the beautiful flowers, coy pond and fairy house. They had a cool kaleidoscope setup when you first walked in with flowers which was cool to see. The highlight of this stop was the fairy house nestled between a couple of trees. There was a mini bird bath, bench and little hidden animal statues that my toddler LOVED! She kept wanting to go back in there to explore and hang out on the bench. All plants are labeled and this is a nice change from the normal hustle and bustle of the peninsula. Beautiful spot to relax and enjoy the outdoors!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN GEM for GARDENERS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a very unique garden maintained by the Door County Master Gardeners Association in cooperation with the UW Agricultural Research Station. Definitely worth a visit !

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor, Wisconsin
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Must stop secret hideaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

From the road you can't tell, but hidden away is The Garden Door a place to explore with free admission. Maintained by the Door County Master Gardeners, there are many features and different varieties of plants. Perfect for visitors of all ages. Be sure to bring a camera!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Door also viewed

 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to The Garden Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Door, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.