We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Door County Maritime Museum

Door County Maritime Museum
120 N. Madison Ave., Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
+1 920-743-5958
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Door County Maritime Museum: Enjoy tales of bold ship captains, brave seaman, innovative shipbuilders, rugged fishermen, stalwart lighthouse keepers and much, much more--sea stories abound! The Door County Maritime Museum offers three unique visitor experiences. Its year-round 20,000 square foot flagship museum is located between the dowtown bridges on Sturgeon Bay's workking waterfront. It features four large exhibit galleries and the immaculately restored seagoing tugboat John Purves built in 1919. The iconic Cana Island Lighthouse, located Baileys Harbor, is a Door County treasure. The northern museum is a hidden gem featuring the classic wooden fish tug Hope. It is located in the historic fishing village of Gills Rock alongside the infamous "Death's Door" passage. Both are open seasonally.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We went on tug boat tour. Our tour guide Jan was wonderful. It was very informative, she let my son tooot the tug horn! Told us about the yearly open houses at the coast guard and other areas of interest. Got to check out the periscope in the museum, you can look all around the area from inside the museum.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Ahoy! Thanks much for the great review...we're thrilled you enjoyed your visit to the museum and your tour of the historic tug John Purves. Walking the decks of our massive tugboat is truly a unique experience...there is no better way to learn about the life of a "tug sailor". We hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    43
    7
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Enjoyable and Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We visited this museum on our vacation and enjoyed it very much. There are so many models of ships in their museum and so much history to learn about - it was interesting. We especially enjoyed taking the tour of the John Purves Tug Boat-this was a real highlight for us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your museum visit and tugboat tour. Walking the deck of the historic tug John Purves is truly a unique experience! Thanks for the great review...we hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, WIsconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Informational, great for kids too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We love going here and always take a little more info with us when we leave. Try it, you will find something interesting there!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit! Hope you had time to don some pirate attire and fire the guns on the pirate ship Fortune in our new "Pirates--Ship to Shore" exhibit. It's fun for kids of all ages! Again, glad you enjoyed your visit...we hope to see you again in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arkdale
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Informative and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The history we found here was well presented and very interesting. Kids might not appreciate some things, but are sure to enjoy the boat that is displayed.

We were at the Gills Rock location and will be sure to check the other when we come back.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Ahoy! Thanks so much for the great review...we are thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to our "Northern Gem" in Gills Rock. Many folks who stop by our larger museum in Sturgeon Bay miss the opportunity to visit our wonderful little facility in the historic fishing village of Gills Rock at the tip of the peninsula. Again, we're glad you found your way to our Gills Rock museum...we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, MI
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Great Introduction to area Shipbuilding History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

A nicely arranged collection of artifacts and models relating to the history of shipbuilding in the city of Sturgeon Bay.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks so much for the postitive review! We are very proud of our shipbuilding accomplishments here in Sturgeon Bay. Great to hear that you enjoyed the exhibits...hope to see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Door County Maritime Museum also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Baileys Harbor, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Door County Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Door County Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.