We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahoy there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Door County Maritime Museum

Door County Maritime Museum
120 N. Madison Ave., Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
920-743-5958
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Door County Maritime Museum: Enjoy tales of bold ship captains, brave seaman, innovative shipbuilders, rugged fishermen, stalwart lighthouse keepers and much, much more--sea stories abound! The Door County Maritime Museum offers three unique visitor experiences. Its year-round 20,000 square foot flagship museum is located between the dowtown bridges on Sturgeon Bay's workking waterfront. It features four large exhibit galleries and the immaculately restored seagoing tugboat John Purves built in 1919. The iconic Cana Island Lighthouse, located Baileys Harbor, is a Door County treasure. The northern museum is a hidden gem featuring the classic wooden fish tug Hope. It is located in the historic fishing village of Gills Rock alongside the infamous "Death's Door" passage. Both are open seasonally.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ahoy there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

What a lot of fun. The museum and fire boat were very enjoyable. Would definitely go again. We meet a lot of friendly people and learned some interesting facts.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks much for the wonderful review...we are thrilled that you enjoyed the maritime museum. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    36
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mostly Models”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We hoped to see more ship artifacts and such, but the museum was made up of mostly mdoels and signs to read with some videos. It wasn't overly enjoyable for children, except the pirate area that was open while we were there. Our favorite part of the museum was the working periscope that we could see our hotel from!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Ahoy! Thanks for the review...we are always interested in the insights of our visitors. Great to hear that your children enjoyed our new "Pirates--Ship to Shore" exhibit. In addition to a host of artifacts from the golden age of piracy, visitors of all ages enjoy the opportunity to dress like a pirate, visit our pirate villiage and man the guns on our miniture pirate ship. We're also glad you enjoyed our working periscope...it is seriously cool! Hope you got a chance to explore our shipwreck kiosk, interactive "Lyle Gun" exhibit and spend a little time learning about the Door Peninsula's many ligthouses in our lighthouse room. Again, thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lots of information!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Museum was very good but takes a while to get through as there is a lot images and images to to see with lots of reading, which may be hard for kids. But there is a section of the museum set up as a pirate ship that is geared for kids that with hands on activities.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob D, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Ahoy! Thanks for the positive review...wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We hope you came away with a few new insights on the Door Peninsula's rich maritime history...and yes, our new "Pirates -- Ship to Shore" exhibit is fun for kids of all ages! We hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Worthwhile visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Boats, ships, even pirates. Great for young and old.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks so much for the great review...thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit! Our new "Pirates -- Ship to Shore" exhibit is a big hit with kids of all ages. Who can resist dressing like a pirate and sinking a few ships with cannon fire? Hope to see you again soon...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good rainy day option”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We went to the museum because our fishing trip got rained out. We really enjoyed the museum and learned a lot about Door County's shipbuilding industry. Take the optional tour of the tug.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Door County Maritime Museum, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Ahoy! Thanks much for the postive review. Wonderful to hear you enjoyed the museum and your tour of the historic tugboat John Purves! We just opened a small exhibit on the War of 1812--come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Door County Maritime Museum also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Baileys Harbor, Door County
 

Been to Door County Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Door County Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Door County Maritime Museum to your Saves list