We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at Westwood Shores” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort to your Saves list
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4303 Bayshore Dr., Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Racine, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Weekend at Westwood Shores”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We spent April 20-April 22, 2013 at this beautiful resort in Door County. We stayed in suite 301, which is a one bedroom deluxe unit facing as close to the water line as possible. The room was decorated with lighthouses and seagulls and shells. The king bed was very comfortable and the gas fireplace was wonderful, as the weather was still very chilly. The resort states that suites have 2 person jacuzzis, but we found that the jacuzzi was really more comfortable for one. The suite was clean, had a complete well-stocked kitchen, a private balcony, and was perfect for a weekend getaway. One note...this suite is at the very end of the resort, so there was quite a walk from the elevator to the room. However, it was worth the walk to have the privacy and view.

The indoor pool was immaculately clean and the whirlpool by the pool had the most powerful jets we've ever enjoyed. Hubby & I both struggle with back and joint pain. The whirlpool felt like a person was massaging our aching joints...ha.

The staff was helpful and friendly. They offered directions to area restaurants and activities, as well as suggestions and big smiles. The lounge area provides free 24 hour coffee, tea, and hot chocolate, as well as also having a flat screen TV and gas fireplace to sit and enjoy the beverage. The resort has free wi-fi, as well.

Bottom line, we would return again without hesitation. We booked off-season so the rates were lower than peak season, which was a big plus for us. If you are looking for a place that is well maintained, has a great view, and a friendly staff, Westwood Shores is that place. Although there isn't a restaurant on-site, the full kitchen worked super for us and the drive to an area restaurant is not that far away.

Thanks Westwood Shores!

Jean & Bob
Racine, WI

Room Tip: The closer to the water the better. Rooms away from the garden area are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    47
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
69
110
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Excellent, superb accommodations. Very nice people. Indoor pool was the best. Wonderful water view and lighthouse across the bay. Quiet room. Very clean and comfortable. Day journeys out to the rest of Door County was fun, we always looked forward to coming 'home' to rest and relax. Loved every minute of our stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc Rapids, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We just returned from a two-night, weekend stay at Westwood Shores, and had a wonderful time. This was our first visit. Our accomodation was a one-bedroom suite on the third floor overlooking Sturgeon Bay. As other reviewers have stated, everything about the room was perfect. We took advantage of the indoor pool and excellent spa. Especially noteworthy was the exceptionally comfortable bed. The staff treated us well, and reminded us upon checkout that we would be entitled to a ten percent discount if we booked our next stay within ten days, which we did. The resort is conveniently located to downtown Sturgeon Bay to the south, and Birmingham's Tavern, about a half mile to the north. Given that we live only an hour away, Westwood Shores is perfect for quick weekend getaways.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a bay view. Proximity to the outdoor pool would be nice in the summer mont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just got home from a wonderful weekend in Door County and our first time at Westwood Shores. What a great place! Located right on the shore of Green Bay (part of Lake Michigan) and tucked down in a peaceful wooded area. It's a few miles outside of Sturgeon Bay and about a 20 minute drive from the adorable little towns in Door County. The property was very comfortable. We had a one bedroom suite that overlooked the (frozen) lake. Nicely decorated and clean. Has a gas fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. Small kitchen is equipped with everything one needs. We stopped at a grocery before we got there to get a few essentials. There is a small store about a mile or so down the road, but Sturgeon Bay has everything you might need and is maybe 10 minutes away. The king sized bed was super comfy and had great soft, smooth linens. Small deck overlooked the outside (obviously closed) pool and the lake. The staff was friendly and helpful. We used the indoor pool, hot tub and sauna which was clean and well maintained. There was tea, coffee and hot chocolate available at all hours. No complaints. Would defintely stay there again. Checked on rates for July and they are substantially higher than winter, which is typical for Door County. This was a wonderful place for a mid-winter get-away!

Room Tip: We stayed in 307 which was a perfect location - awesome view of the lake. Quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is our 2nd time at Westwood and it was another positive experience. If you want relaxation, this is the place to go. We didn't know if it was a fluke the first time, but it wasn't. The staff is so personable, the room is comfy and warm and waking up with the tranguility of the bay outside is really relaxing. We booked again for April and can't wait to go back. We encourage anyone that just wants to get away to give Westwood a try.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the corner since nice view of the sunset and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Missouri
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here the nights of December 26th & 27th 2012. We had booked a one bedroom premier suite for $119 per night. Premier because of its proximity to the water and the resulting great view. Upon arrival we were informed that we had been upgraded to a two bedroom premier suite, consisting of a master bedroom including king size bed, two-person whirlpool tub, soft robes, and walk-in shower. The second bedroom contained a queen size bed. The remainder of the suite consisted of a second bathroom, a full kitchen, a small dining room, and a cozy living room with fireplace, sliding door to private deck, and a 37" flatscreen TV with DVD player. The sheer amount of space and range of amenities is very hard to beat at their very affordable rates. The staff was friendly, the suite spotless, and the view of sunset over the water from our suite magnificent. Our only two minor quibles are that the DVD player didn't have a remote and that the fireplace was on a noisy timer.

Room Tip: The premier suites have magnificent water views which are well worth the slightly higher rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, IL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

From the first time we stayed at Westwood Shores, we have never stayed anywhere else. The view from our dining room window is always gorgeous, and we enjoy being close to Sturgeon Bay, but not IN Sturgeon Bay. The suites are always clean and well-kept, and we will continue to stay here each time we return.

Room Tip: The top floor will insure no one above you to make noise....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort

Address: 4303 Bayshore Dr., Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort is located less than five miles north of the heart of Wisconsin's Sturgeon Bay on scenic Bay Shore Drive. All of our 38 suites have a breathtaking view making it a favorite vacation spot of guests coming to enjoy the splendor of Door County. Westwood Shores has a wide variety of year 'round activities including: heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools, shore-front picnic areas, complimentary paddle boats (in season), wireless high speed wireless and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Shores Waterfront Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwood Shores Waterfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.