We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgeport Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bridgeport Resort
Save
You added Bridgeport Resort to your Saves list
50 W Larch St, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice resort. From the cozy, comfortable rooms, to the exceptionally nice staff and everything in between. It also helped that the weather was warm and sunny. Indoor pool great for small children-they have a small splash park. Yes, we will come back.

Room Tip: My brother had the best suite. Rooms 302-303- Three bedrooms and three porches, wrapped around the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Good Afternoon Kathy T...

Thank you for calling Bridgeport Resort "Excellent" with an "Exceptionally nice staff!" The Staff and Ownership of Bridgeport are proud of the accommodations and service offered... and delighted to hear that you will be returning!

Thank you,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    60
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
151
140
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our third time in the 3 bedroom suite and once again it was great. Fantastic views from the balconies, and great proximity to the marina. We are always running late, so it's great that the pool hours are until 11:30. This year we had our family reunion and we were able to use the facilities to our advantage. Definitely recommend Bridgeport.

Room Tip: Sharing the 3 bedroom Utopia with another family is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hello John and Gail D...

It is great to hear that you have had three great stays at Bridgeport Resort! We look forward to seeing you three times thirty three more! Thank you for writing a review of Bridgeport Resort... We appreciate your time and patronage.

Be Well...
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this location and it was perfect. We stayed in 320 which is a two bedroom and it faces the water, also steps away from the elevator (only one in the place and we didn't even hear it).

The room was set up like a small apartment and it was nice to have a table and kitchen setup as we ate all our dinners and some breakfasts there with our 3 1/2 year old. Beds were comfy, lots of pillows. Didn't try the pull out couch, but the furniture was wonderful. Nice size balcony and table and chairs out there. Loved the view. Yes, the place was somewhat dated (no granite, stainless appliances, older woodwork, small showers - if you are expecting those things), but overall quite lovely and clean.

We would definitely stay in this place again. It's about 1 block to a maritime museum, 2-3 blocks to restaurants/bars and the parking lot is ample. We only used the indoor swimming pool but it was a great size and our kid loved the little kid's area.

Hints: Some pool noodles provided at pool. If you don't have housekeeping come in, they set a "refresh" bag of towels, etc. outside your door each day. Kid goodie bag given when you come in. There is a park you can walk to about 2 blocks away - amazing! Also there are grills on site at the hotel and the park. Fatzo's makes excellent pizza and they deliver after 5 p.m.

Room Tip: If you care about a view, pick water side. Rooms have window air conditioners so they will be loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Good Morning dawnjohn45!

Thank you for providing the best customer endorsement there is, "We would definitely stay in this place again." It is great to know that "it was perfect" from the comfy beds to the nearby restaurants and attractions.

The Staff and Management of Bridgeport Resort look forward to your next Door County Vacation!
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed out stay at Bridgeport. Loved our little patio overlooking the water. Clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff. We will definitely.recommend to friends and family. We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Hello mlochner...

"We will be back!!" ... and we will be elated to see you again! Thank you for being a guest of Bridgeport Resort. We value you and are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay!

Be Well...
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My family has been coming to this hotel for several years. We love the waterfront views. It has a great indoor pool and hot tub, as well as a kiddie play area for the younger kids. They also have a beautiful looking outdoor pool, but we've only come in the winter so we haven't tried it yet. There is also a ball pit for the kids. This is a great place to stay when you want to be close to everything in Door County, but also want a little quieter place. The staff is very friendly and helpful. And they run special rates on their rooms which makes it more affordable. We stay here at least once a year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Good Afternoon Kelly B...

Thank you for being a repeat guest at Bridgeport Resort! I am so glad to hear that you spend time with us on a yearly basis!

Please let us know if there is ever anything we can do to enhance your stay at the Bridgeport Resort!

Be Well...
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This is a nice hotel with suites located right on the waterfront at Sturgeon Bay. It is well kept up and clean, though the decor is dated. We used this as our base to explore the rest of the Door County peninsula for a week.

There are a few things within walking distance, but not much. A large building close by burned down recently. That took out a restaurant and a few shops. There is a pizza place that delivers (pretty yummy) and a few other shops next to it. But you'll need to walk a good 15 minutes to get into the touristy downtown area with most of the restaurants and shops. Scaturos is up the hill the other direction and can provide a terrific breakfast.

The hotel does not have a restaurant on the premises. Nor do they offer continental breakfast. They have a small selection of juices and milk in the common room. The staff can give you directions and recommendations for food. And rooms include a mini kitchen so you can go buy groceries and prepare almost anything in the room.

The pool was nice. And we relaxed in the hot tub too. The game room they had was sad and old (and pretty empty whenever we looked). The outside grounds are kept immaculate. And there is a nice walking path along the bay.

Staff was very friendly. Anything we needed they were happy to help. They seemed to enjoy their jobs and talking to the guests.


Main problem with this hotel is the rock hard beds. And I prefer a firm bed, don't get me wrong. But this really was like sleeping on a concrete slab. Both my wife and I were sore every morning and tossed and turned much of the night. The hallways are also dark and dreary. They are very cold as well so you better bundle up if you've been out to the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you avman67...

It is very kind of you to write a review of Bridgeport Resort. Your words and experiences will halp other Door County visitors decide where to stay.

It is unfortunate to hear that you did not sleep well... As with many things, each person has their own preference. Some enjoy a firm mattress and some a soft one. If you ever travel this way again, please feel free to inquire at the front desk anytime you are uncomfortable. The staff would be happy to assist you with getting additional blankets and pillows to make you more comfortable.

The highlight of your review was this... "Staff was very friendly. Anything we needed they were happy to help. They seemed to enjoy their jobs and talking to the guests." I enjoy hearing that the Staff exceeded your expectations.

Thank you,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Recently stayed one night here on July 15. We had to take a 1 bedroom unit as nothing smaller was available, but moving on...
At first glance, the resort has a beautiful setting right on Sturgeon Bay and walking distance to restaurants and the Steel Bridge. Inside, the front desk is nice, clean. The lobby area is quite pretty with a view of the water that is somewhat obstructed by trees. The décor is indeed a bit dated but kept in fine condition. Care has been taken here, and it shows. The staff was friendly at check-in but could probably be dressed more appropriately (IMO) as this is a resort and it was difficult to distinguish front desk staff/hotel staff from guests. Keep in mind that this is a RESORT. We stay at many resorts and feel the surroundings/staff should be representative of the price to stay. That being said, everyone was very polite.
Once we checked in we went up to see our room. There was a staircase in the lobby area, which is nice and homey, and right around the corner was an elevator. There are many options so that you are not walking far to stairs/elevators. Also, we passed the indoor gym, pool and game room on the way to the elevator. All very nice. And very clean.
We stayed on the 2nd floor and the entry to our room was directly across from a glass window overlooking the indoor pool/hot tub area. VERY quiet room.
Upon entering, it was simply beautiful. Décor was 90's-2000's depending on the finishes. But all kept in immaculate/tip top condition. We had a full kitchen, dining area, breakfast bar, fully furnished comfortable living room with a balcony and a fireplace (which we used as it was CHILLY). The balcony was a bit of a disappointment as the trees blocked much of the water view. But really nice for coffee/wine sipping. Speaking of wine, the staff very thoughtfully left a bottle of wine for us (special occasion) which we enjoyed. It was DC wine, so was nice to try something "local".
The bedroom was HUGE and had a whirlpool tub IN the room and it was big enough for 2. Did not have time to use it, but had we stayed more than 1 night, for sure! Bathroom was clean and nice. Shower was a walk-in. A bit dark for those of us who need to shave our legs! But really clean and plenty of towels. The entire condo was bathed in sunlight and we felt so at home we could live there.
There is no breakfast of any type here which is the main reason we have removed a star. It is quite pricey to stay here and a breakfast of some sort would have been nice. There is coffee all day, juice and milk, but no Continental breakfast (?). But we enjoyed the beverages. :)...Also, you can stroll right over the Steel Bridge to the Inn at Cedar Crossings for an amazing breakfast (we drove; it was chilly). We are up so early, as we are used to the east coast time zone, so again, with places not even open when we are awake, it would have been nice to come downstairs and have a croissant and coffee. BUT not the end of the world.
Overall, we loved it here for its comfort and warm décor. YES it could use updating, but no one should mistake this for meaning "shabby". This place is clean, well kept and in great condition. The condo we stayed in was warm, sunny and welcoming. IF we were going to stay a week, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Hello ShihTzuparents...

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Bridgeport Resort. Thank you for pointing out how clean and well taken care of the Resort is. The Staff and Management are glad you enjoyed your special occassion complimentary wine in your suite "all kept in immaculate/tip top condition."

Please let us know when you begin planning your weeks vacation so we can get you into one of our two bedroom suites before they fill up! Ask for an end unit Westchester for a beautiful unobstructed view of the water.

Be Well...

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridgeport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeport Resort

Address: 50 W Larch St, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgeport Waterfront Resort is located in the center of historic Sturgeon Bay with exceptional access to all of Door County, Wisconsin’s quaint shops, award winning restaurants, scenic parks and wide variety of attractions. Bridgeport offers spacious one, two and three bedroom suites – with each guestroom featuring a whirlpool, a fireplace and a complete kitchen……the lodging experience at the Bridgeport Waterfront Resort is complimented by an array of on-site recreational amenities including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pools (with a indoor splash park and play ground designed for the youngsters), a whirlpool, a sauna, a fitness center and complimentary high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridgeport Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Bridgeport Resort Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgeport Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.