We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridgeport Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bridgeport Resort
50 W Larch, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Sturgeon Bay
cameron
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at Bridgeport and drove up the Green Bay side of Door Cty one day and went up the Lake Michigan side the next day. The last day we checked out Sturgeon Bay so the location is just great. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is clean and located in a great spot with a wonderful view. It is clean and well kept grounds.

Room Tip: We were in room 122 which had a balcony overlooking the garden and the water.. Right across from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    49
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
115
112
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My boyfriend and I stayed here on June 28th and 29th. Check in was quick and they let us get into our room early.

Our room was clean and nice, but having the bathroom sink area right across from the bed was a bit odd and the shower was so small that I had trouble trying to shave my legs. I believe it is only this way in the type of room we had. The bigger suites are different.

We used the outdoor pool and sat outside in the patio outside of the juice/coffee area.

We had a nice stay and this resort is very quiet at night which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Good Morning Vickier...

Thank you for writing a review of Bridgeport Resort. Your description tells me that you most likely stayed in a one bedroom Falcon during your recent stay! If you would like to step up in size on your next trip, consider giving the Badger or the Challenger a try!

I am glad to hear you had a peaceful night!
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is my first trip advisor review. I decided to write a review on The Bridgeport because I really poured over the reviews when I was trying to make a decision about where to stay with 3 little kids in Door County. I am very pleased we went with The Bridgeport. I am pretty picky and safety and cleanliness are really important to me and I thought this hotel was perfect for us.

The hotel is right on the bay and if you get a water view, which we did, you will have great views of the sunset. This is a nice clean place, but by no means fancy, the staff is friendly and helpful and the entire property is comfortable. We stayed in a two bedroom. First off, as one reviewer remarked the hallways are dark, but I think it just to keep things subdued in the hallways. The unit was very clean and very cozy. There was a full kitchen a master bedroom with a whirlpool tub and then a shower in an adjacent room, there was a king bed in the master and it had it's own little balcony. There was a air-conditioning unit in the master, but not in the second bedroom, which can definitely get a bit stuffy. More on that in a minute. The thing I liked about the master was it was pretty well insulated relative to sound. We would put the baby to bed in a pack and play before the two older ones and she would settle and sleep through another hour or so of family antics immediately outside the room. The rooms both darken very well. Now, the second bedroom had a queen bed and a bathroom with two doors, one to the living room and one to the bedroom. As I mentioned, the second bedroom did not have it's own air conditioning unit which could be an issue. The room did have a sliding glass door to a balcony shared with the living room, but there were not any more windows. We stayed in early July, and it was a series of cool nights, so we would keep the screen door open for a breeze until we went to bed. Then we would lock the sliding glass door and open the bedroom door to promote more circulation. There is also a ceiling fan which helps. This all worked out fine and really was not an issue for us at all. We were able to cook meals which is super convenient. There is a park and a beach just a 5-10 minute walk along the bay. We did not use the beach but the park was lovely, clean and safe. Both the outdoor and the indoor pools were wonderful. A little dated, but clean and well functioning. My kids loved the slide and splash area inside as well as the pools. There were barely any people swimming. I would definitely recommend this to friends and I would definitely go back. I hope this is helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear "3kidsisalot"...

Thank you for your well thought out review of Bridgeport Resort. Trip Advisor is a great way for guests to communicate their experience with people searching for a place to stay. We appreciate the time that you have taken to describe your stay at Bridgeport Resort.

"I am very pleased we went with The Bridgeport." We are also pleased you chose to give us a try! The Staff and Management of Bridgeport Resort look forward to your next stay in Door County!

Thank you,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoy staying at Bridgeport and keep coming back. The water views are wonderful, the rooms are so comfortable and the price can't be beat. We stayed here one time a few years ago and now keep coming back as often as we can. Thanks Bridgeport staff for all you do to make it so nice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you JLG700...

"Thanks Bridgeport staff for all you do to make it so nice." And Thank You! Your ongoing patronage is appreciated!

We look forward to seeing you again... as often as you are able!
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had low expectations for our accommodations in Door County. All if the properties looked dated and just mediocre. When we arrived, I was pleasantly surprised at our room. Albeit not super updated, the room was spacious (2 bedrooms 2 bath plus common living space). The pool was nice, both indoor and outdoor. And the location was spot on.

My only complaint is that the carpets could use some heavy scrubbing. I was with 3 kids and my mom and although I understand the floors will get dirty from people walking with shoes on, it seemed a bit too dirty. My mom and kids had socks on that got black within a short time of walking around the room. I chose to keep my shoes on, which I hate doing.

There is a door in the parlor area near the lobby that backs up to the bay. If you walk about a block down to the left, there is a small (really small) beach.

If we ever went back to DC, I would probably stay at Bridgeport again. I would also recommend it to anyone else going.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hello Yeonmi...

The Bridgeport Resort Staff and Management appreciate your time spent writing a review of your stay. It is good to hear that you were "pleasantly surprised", the location was "spot on" and you would "recommend it to anyone else going."

Please contact Guest Services during your future stays if you ever have concerns about your accommodations. The staff would be pleased to assist you.

Thank you,
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 days, ending June 29, 2014, and found the facility and staff excellent. Our rooms were a 2 bedroom suite, and was perfect for the 4 adult, 2 children group. Location was well suited for casual "walk arounds" to the near-by museum, boat rentals and charming downtown. Took a side "road trip" up the Bay side (Rt 42) and down the lake side, stopping by Egg Harbor, Fish Creek and several other charming towns and wineries. (Most wineries have continuous tastings...check them out.) A short walk down Dune Caves State park (Lake side) was worth the time.

Room Tip: Ask ahead of time if you want a view of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good Morning Terry...

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Bridgeport Resort! It is great to know you "found the facility and staff excellent."! Please let us know if there is ever anything we can do to enhance your visit.

Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

They did everything possible to make our stay memorable. We originally booked Sunday through Wednesday but found we could make Saturday as well. Although they were booked they put us on a wait list and called us two days later with a room. It was a different type so we had to move Sunday but they moved everything while we were enjoying lunch with friends. They even called me when it was ready. The resort was ideally located for us, the room was great, and the staff excellent. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerBp, General Manager at Bridgeport Resort, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you Steve...

I am elated that you were able to visit Bridgeport Resort and Door County! It is great to hear that your room change went smoothly. The Bridgeport Staff and Ownership look forward to your future visits!

Be Well...
Dave
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bridgeport Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridgeport Resort

Address: 50 W Larch, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bridgeport Waterfront Resort is located in the center of historic Sturgeon Bay with exceptional access to all of Door County, Wisconsin’s quaint shops, award winning restaurants, scenic parks and wide variety of attractions. Bridgeport offers spacious one, two and three bedroom suites – with each guestroom featuring a whirlpool, a fireplace and a complete kitchen……the lodging experience at the Bridgeport Waterfront Resort is complimented by an array of on-site recreational amenities including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pools (with a indoor splash park and play ground designed for the youngsters), a whirlpool, a sauna, a fitness center and complimentary high speed wireless internet. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bridgeport Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Bridgeport Resort Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridgeport Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bridgeport Resort to your Saves list