We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Recommendation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Martin's Restaurant

John Martin's Restaurant
50 S.Third Avenue, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
+1 920-746-6666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 77 Restaurants in Sturgeon Bay
Price range: $5 - $24
Cuisines: American, Bistro, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in downtown Sturgeon Bay on Historic Third Avenue in beautiful Door County, Wisconsin. Choose to dine at the bar, at a bistro table along the sidewalk or relax on a cushioned chair in the cozy wood floor dining room. Large photos focusing on the history of Sturgeon Bay pepper the restaurant. The new chef has a strong bent on creativity and local sourcing. His philosophy for features is "Familiar enough to be comfortable but exotic enough to be exciting." The focus is on local and fresh (organic features, and appetizers, in season) is apparent, and when blended with the passion of the staff, it is becoming a foodie destination. We will work with any and all dietary restrictions or food allergies. Ask about "Chefs Choice" options. Call for reservations or a chef consultation for that special occasion.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is our first visit to Door Peninsula, and we decided to stop at the Door County Visitor and Convention Bureau on our way into Sturgeon Bay. A gentleman came in, conducted some business at the window, and as he was leaving, told us if we were looking for a good place to have dinner to try John Martin's. He then told us he knew the food was good because he was the owner! He assured us we would not be disappointed and mentioned that he had good reviews on Trip Advisor. Later that day, we decided to give John Martin's a try, and he was absolutely right, the food was delicious and we were not disappointed. The decor and ambiance are classy, yet warm and comfortable, and the staff very welcoming. The food was hot, served on hot plates, and the portions were ample (plenty without being too much) and reasonably priced. It was a good start to experiencing Door County, and we're glad we had that chance encounter. Thanks for the recommendation, John!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    41
    15
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had dinner here. The staff here is very friendly and are obviously proud of the place where they work. They give good food and wine recommendations. We absolutely loved the flatbread pizza! We ordered the fig prosciutto to share as an appetizer, yum! Our dinners were very nice, but that flatbread pizza was our favorite part of the meal! Everything on the dessert menu sounded amazing, I wish we had had room to try them all.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We hadn't read any reviews before going. We weren't sure what to it expect based on the outside of the building. Inside the decor was great and everything was extremely clean. We were there at about 3pm on a Thursday so it was not at all busy. We had great service and the food was delicious.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsabo1, Manager at John Martin's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We certainly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience at John Martin's. Please come back next time you are in our neck of the woods!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We felt like we were in a neighborhood restaurant and we were regular customers from the minute we walked in. Turned out our waitress had worked at a place 4 blocks form our home in Milwaukee! She was quick to make suggestions, the menu had delicious choices at various price points. Portions were reasonable, large but not overwhelmingly so. they have their own pastry chef, so save room for dessert!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsabo1, Manager at John Martin's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
We are so happy to hear you were made to feel comfortable and as if you were "regulars" at John Martin's. The experience our customer's have here is very important to us and we really try to provide excellent customer service to everyone that visits us. Also very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal. Chef TJ is amazing at what he does and it's always nice to get feedback. Please come and see us again the next time you visit Door County!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good service, nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband and I had dinner here. He had the Gnocchi with pesto sauce and he liked it. We both had chili, it was good, but I prefer my chili the usual way. I was told by our server that it's sweet and spicy, I thought it sounded interesting so I wanted to try it. It was a nice restaurant and the owner was pleasant. Our server was great, but the lady who was tending the bar took some time to make my drink when the place is near closing and we were the only ones there. Maybe she had more important things to do. Other than that, we had a pleasant experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bsabo1, Manager at John Martin's Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to review us! We are happy you had a positive experience here and really hope you will come back and see us again the next time you are in Door County! We also appreciate the feedback on the bartender delay. Please know that we pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service and there is NEVER anything more important to do here than to service our customers. We are grateful for the comment and know that it hasn't fallen on deaf ears. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Martin's Restaurant also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to John Martin's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Martin's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.