We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coming back next year.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   622 S Ashland Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Sturgeon Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Waupaca, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Coming back next year.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We use this hotel as our "base of operations" when we visit Door County. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. The hotel provides a free breakfast as part of the stay; cereal, fresh fruit, waffles, eggs(hard boiled and omelet), bagels,.... Local restaurants are within easy driving range. We plan to go back for our next trip to Door County.
In addition I love their pillows and need to call and ask where they got them. I want one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Jackie H,

Thanks so much for your kind words, we truly appreciate it. We are truly happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Best Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    50
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
49
74
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a chain hotel, very clean, friendly staff. After an 11 hour drive the hotel was easy to find, check-in was seamless, and the desk clerk was very helpful in directing us to a local restaurant. Breakfast was nice, with some hot items to compliment the typical continental fair. I would use this chain again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear scl305,

Thank you for taking time out to review our hotel. We appreciate your nice review and are very glad you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Very Sincerely,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We chose this hotel for several reasons: The good reviews, cheaper price compared to places with a beach view, and the hot breakfast. Everything was as advertised. The beds were comfortable, the room quiet, there was a decent indoor pool, and a breakfast with some hot items like eggs and sausage that changed daily. The staff were helpful, especially when our diabetic child needed some assistance. One one occasion we needed orange juice to treat a low in the evening and also at breakfast we asked to see the oatmeal box to get the carb count. We were never made to feel like a bother. Although I would like to try to stay closer to the glorious Peninsula State Park next time, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Door County on a budget, and anyone traveling with a diabetic. This place gives diabetics a better free option to the standard continental carb fest breakfast. And, it is very close to another state park and not that far to get to the tourist attractions. The only things that I could have wished for were a slightly warmer pool, and real cooked oatmeal instead of the dry packets. And our diabetic son wanted more fresh fruit options than apples and oranges. But those were small things that did not mar our stay. It was a good value.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear llvnazoo,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a thoughtful review. I am very glad your son's needs were met with expediency and hospitality. I am also pleased to hear the menu we offer does give the diet conscious a fair choice of non-carb options. It is great to get feedback we can use to continually improve and I will share this with the staff, they will be pleased.

Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next Door County adventure!

Most Sincerely,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Room was very clean and staff was very friendly. The room was quiet and spacious. Continental breakfast area was clean, well-stocked and had nice variety. Convenient location. Fair price for Door Co. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Online sites indicated no rooms, but when I called the hotel directly they were able to accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Applefam,

Thank you very much for your great review and for taking time to share. I am very happy you enjoyed your stay and will share your kind words with the staff as they are always interested to know how happy our guests were with their stay. Again, I really appreciate the review and look forward to having you back soon.

Sincerely,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were up in Sturgeon Bay for a family reunion, while some family rented a house, that was hot and smelly, we got to go to the hotel with air conditioning and a pool! It was very nice, clean and also had a great free breakfast. Would stay again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear muthcat,

I think you made a very wise decision and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing I truly appreciate the time you took. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Our stay at the Americinn in Sturgeon Bay was wonderful! The staff was very friendly and helpful when we asked for restaurants for dinner. It was nice and quiet and the breakfast was very good also! We would definitely return on our next trip back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Beverly K,

Thank you so much for the kind words and I am very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly hope to see you next time on your travels to Door County.

Very SIncerely,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This was my second time staying at the AmericInn and I was not disappointed either time. I just got back after a three day stay and couldn't be any happier with my choice!
The room was clean. The breakfast was great. There are so many places to eat in Door County, but this was a good start to the day. Love the sausage gravy! The lobby area is very inviting whether you're sitting down to eat breakfast, or have a cup of coffee, or just chat with friends in the sitting area by the fireplace.
We stayed in a two room fireplace suite. I couldn't tell you what the fireplace is like, but the air conditioner works very well in the bedroom and the ceiling fan, as well as the floor fan they provide, helped keep air moving in the sitting area.
The pull-out couch in the sitting area is as comfortable to sleep on as a pull-out couch can be (can't someone invent a cushion to put on the mattress so you don't feel that bar going across your back?) and there are doors that can be closed to separate the bedroom/bathroom area from the sitting area. This was great because my travel companion is an early riser (5 AM) and I enjoy sunlight in the morning when I wake up.
It was a great set-up for a three day stay. We both had our own areas to get some down time and watch our shows (tv in bedroom and one in the sitting area).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa W, General Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear JLK2012,

What a nice review, we are so appreciative of everything you mentioned. I am so happy your experience was exceptional. Thank you for taking time out to share about your experience. We truly look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Door County.

Best Regards,

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay

Address: 622 S Ashland Ave, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Sturgeon Bay welcomes you to Door County. We are conveniently located at the first intersection in Sturgeon Bay, Door County. Enjoy our free Hot, Enhanced Perk Breakfast Buffet every morning. Enjoy new 32" HD LCD televisions while relaxing in your quiet guest rooms or take a dip in our warm pool & spa. We are now partners with Anytime Fitness to meet the increased demand of our active guests. We look forward to welcoming you to the end of your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge And Suites Sturgeon Bay
Americinn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Americinn Hotel Sturgeon Bay
Americinn Sturgeon Bay
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Sturgeon Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.