We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Cave Point County Park is Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cave Point County Park

Cave Point County Park
5360 Schauer Rd, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: Kayaking
Attraction details
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
696 reviews
459 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 669 helpful votes
“Wow! Cave Point County Park is Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

One of our favorite parks in Door County is a park that one of the locals told us to visit. It is located just north of Whitefish Dunes State Park. The walkway along limestone cliffs is very enjoyable on a sunny day -- so many great photo opportunities! When planning your day to Whitefish Dunes and Cana Island Lighthouse, be sure to allow an hour or two for Cave Point County Park.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    28
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

It was beautiful to watch the waves crashing on the rocks! Got some great pics! The lake effect snow was pretty while walking the shoreline. My husband and I were glad we stopped even if it was freezing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great way to see the lake. The waves were very large the day we were there and it was a fun sight to see them crashing on the rocks. We hikes down the path into the state park. Trails are a little rough so watch your step. You will not regret stopping here I know that for sure. They are also dog friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The lady at the visitor's center recommended that we check this place out. We are glad we came. It is a very interesting place to visit especially for the rock formations. We visited the rocky beach area which was full of rocks where people piled them up. Nice thing about this park, it is free. Would recommend checking it out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent exploring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is good exploring during the summer. Children should be watched closely as there are several deep drops, or high cliffs. On the flat level, kids would have fun exploring rocks. I believe these rocks were exposed because of the drought or low water table. We visited on a 30-degree day, so very chilly...but this would be a great place during warm weather.

I imagine this would be an excellent place to kayak (I don't kayak) since there are sea caves.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave Point County Park also viewed

 
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 

Been to Cave Point County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cave Point County Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.