We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Door County Trolley

Door County Trolley
Sturgeon Bay, WI
920.868.1100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Activities in Sturgeon Bay
Attraction details
Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Have been on almost all trolley tours! Good prices! Recommend the lighthouse tour, it's the best! Great employees! It's a really great experience!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    30
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great tour!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We took the winter tour, which was mostly a winery tour. Our kids were with us, but they made it fun for them too!!! AJ was a great guide, with great stories. My kids had so much fun and were made to feel so special while Mom and Dad got to try some wine. Thanks for a great day!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was our 4th tour with Door County Trolley, but our first time on their Winter Wonderland Tour. I can't recommend it enough. It was a perfect way to spend the day in wintery Wisconsin.

We visited 3 wineries - Door Peninsula, Orchard Country, and Harbor Ridge. Plenty of time to do tastings and shop at all three.

Lunch was at the English Inn and it was very good. No one in our party of 7 had a complaint and there were 3 different selections to choose from. The cherry pie at the end was delicious.

You also have about 30 to 45 minutes to shop in fish creek. This is just the right amount of time to spend in the little downtown area shopping this time of year, since there are probably less than a dozen shops open in the winter.

The highlight of the tour though was definitely the sleigh ride. If there is snow on the ground, you don't want to miss this. It was beautiful, and there blankets on the sleigh to help keep you warm.

Definitely recommend this trip for couples or adult groups. You won't be disappointed.

Side note, it is winter in Wisconsin, the trolley is heated, but the sleigh is not, and neither is fish creek, so long underwear or cuddle duds are definitely recommended to enhance your experience! Also, there are no bathrooms on the trolley and it is a long tour, but you stop somewhere at least every half an hour, so plenty of opportunities to use a restroom if need be. This was a concern for my parents who were with us and are a bit older.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Darryl was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My mom and I went on the wine tour. The tour was very informative, and we got to sample lots of excellent wines.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great way to celeprate halloween!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We did the Haunted Bar Trolley tour last week. Had a great time! There was a large mixture of age groups. Most people were dressed in costume. The driver was entertaining and kept the tour enjoyable. The bars were all fun but one was a little creepy. I would love to go back and do some of the other tours offered by the company.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Door County Trolley also viewed

Sturgeon Bay, Door County
Sturgeon Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Door County Trolley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Door County Trolley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.