We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive attention to detail and warm hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sturgeon Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Orchid Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added The Orchid Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
3273 Mathey Road, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 23 Sturgeon Bay B&B and Inns
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Impressive attention to detail and warm hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed at the Orchid Inn last weekend at the end of a business trip. After many mediocre as well as uncomfortable experiences with B & B stays in my past, I had eschewed them in the past 10 years for the privacy afforded by hotels.

Luckily for us, the decision for us to stay at the Orchid Inn was made by someone else. Tammy, who owns the Inn with her husband, met us at the door and we felt at home at once. Our room was beautiful and we loved the fact that we didn't have to leave our room for breakfast. It was lovely to enjoy it in the privacy of our room next to a window overlooking their expansive gardens. While we enjoy being social, I have found that sometimes dining with strangers first thing in the morning is not always relaxing.

I really appreciated the gifts we received on arrival which included wine, chocolates and coffee as well as the beautifully appointed room and extremely comfortable bed.

We are both looking forward to returning when the gardens in bloom!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay at the Orchid Inn. We were very impressed with the luxurious accommodations. Very clean, wonderful linens and comfortable bed, delicious hot breakfast served to the room. We felt very pampered and will absolutely stay again! Hope to visit in the spring/summer next time as the grounds are at their best and flowers in bloom.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

My husband was on a business trip to Green Bay last September, and we decided to explore Door County. The Orchid Inn was the second B & B that we tried during the week we were there. It was wonderful. I am a neat freak, and to my surprise this was the cleanest place I had ever stayed. You can tell that Tammy, the owner, takes great pride in her home/business. Immediately upon entering, you feel like you are in luxury. We were greeted in our room with a beautiful arrangement of flowers, a bottle of wine, and a fruit, cheese and meat tray. This all added to the comfort of the room. The room was spacious and comfortable with an inviting decor and warm fireplace. We had a beautiful deck off our room that was private and surrounded by hugh maple trees. The gardens that surround the house are amazing. It is located on the property of her nursery, so the gardens are a work in progress. I hope to return someday to see how their gardens have grown. I say gardens because there are more than one. Although it was cool when we were there, you could not help but to roam the gardens. It made the experience peaceful and serene. The breakfast in the morning delivered to our room was delicious. It was hearty, well made, and at the right temperature. The orange juice was cold, and the french toast was hot. Tammy is a wonderful hostess, who is clearly a native to Wisconsin, and a inviting friendly person. The stay couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

This is a lovely B & B run by wonderful and friendly folks. They've not overlooked any details. The beds, the towels, the furniture are of the highest quality, nothing has been overlooked. The flower gardens surrounding the B & B are wonderful. The owners run a flower and landscape business on the same property. Their expertise shows. We will definitely be returning to this B & B. It's only 30 minutes from Ephraim, and just 5 minutes from the city of Sturgeon Bay, WI. It's located on a rural road. Good safe area for running or biking too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

The Orchid Inn B & B is brand new to Door County and we were lucky enough to be their first guests. When we walked in we were immediately greeted by the owner, Tammy, who made us feel right at home. The B & B has 3 rooms total and we had booked the 2nd largest. The owner showed us our room and to our suprise waiting for us was a huge bouquet of fresh flowers, a bottle of champange, and an anniversary card. When I made the reservation, the owner asked us if we were coming for a special occasion and I happened to mention we were celebrating our anniversary, but I wasn't expecting all that was waiting for us. We also received a gift basket of goodies as well. Our room was amazing - we had a 3 sided fireplace, large bathroom ,our own private deck, sitting area and the bedding was to die for. The owner also asked if we wanted to see the other 2 rooms which of course we did - they were very nice as well. I personally liked our room the best, but that's just my preference. We had to fill out a card letting them know what we would like for breakfast which was delivered at a specific time with a discreet knock on the door. The breakfast was fabulous! This was a full, delicious, hot breakfast, however, if you were looking for something light like granola, fruit, etc., this was an option as well. Overall, I would recommend this B & B and I know that we will return. I wish Tammy, Richard, and Amy the best of luck in their new venture.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orchid Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchid Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3273 Mathey Road, Sturgeon Bay, WI 54235
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sturgeon Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Sturgeon Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience acres of gardens, waterfalls and mother natures very own creations of woods and prairie lands.Indulge in a delightful breakfast served to your own private room. We are nestled away to create a paradise for you to relax and enjoy yet minutes away from historic downtown Sturgeon Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Orchid Inn Bed & Breakfast Sturgeon Bay, WI - Door County

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchid Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.