We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“37th wedding anniversary dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sky Restaurant

Big Sky Restaurant
176 E. Main St., Stoughton, WI 53589
608-205-6278
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 35 Restaurants in Stoughton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Middleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“37th wedding anniversary dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I arrived a bit late for our reservation, due to an unexpected flash flood warning, but, Nancy (co-owner) was waiting for us with a smile and assurance that our being late was not a problem at all. We had wonderful meals. I actually had the crab cakes as my entree, which were delicious, and a side salad with crisp, fresh greens. My husband had the pork schnitzel, which was also delicious. We were given the choice of a dessert, compliments of the house since we were celebrating our anniversary! We chose the chocolate volcano cake, which was just the right finish to a wonderful dinner! Both owners spent time talking with us, and sharing some history about their choice to move to Stoughton. Lovely evening!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Elegance and sophistication in a charming small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We don't often get to Stoughton and so looked for a well reviewed place for lunch. We picked Big Sky based on previous reviews, and were blown away by the charm of this restaurant! Elegant but relaxed atmosphere, good wine list, and imaginative luncheon choices. The salmon sandwich was huge and perfectly cooked, topped with a bit of veggie relish. The salad was fresh and dressed with a home-made vinaigrette. They also have the most delicious (apparently house-made) potato chips! Two slices of melon completed the dish.

I wish we lived closer and could try dinner here. I'll bet it's fantastic!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoughton, wi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This was our first time at Big Sky. Since my wife is from the Big Sky country (Montana), this seemed like a good idea plus we saw the reviews.
The service was some of the best we have had. I have an onion allergy so the chef came out to talk to me about what they could do for me. After eating my salmon and noodles with a side of two shrimp and some very good vegetables, I suggested they add this to the menu! It is rare that I can find a salad dressing without onion or onion salt in it, but the vinegar and oil was fine. Most places I skip the salad if that is the only choice.
The place is small without a lot of seating so I recommend making reservations. Also, if going to the theater across the street it would be a good idea to make 5:15 reservations for a 7:00 show.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Crab cakes with avocado .........love!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Waiting with open arms for an upscale, big city style restaurant to arrive in Stoughton and with Big Sky and the wonderful owners/hosts we were not disappointed. I also want to rave about the scallops! Service is quite nice and the owners do their best to come out and great the diners when time permits. Often sourcing local ingredients combined with the small kitchen occasionally leads to the more popular entrees selling out. Menu changes to reflect the seasonal nature of the local produce.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Simply a great stop for a lunch in an interesting town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled into the Big Sky and were waited upon by the co-owner, Nancy. The food was delicious - both of us had the "Chop Chop" salad, a chicken, avocado, and bacon concoction that was outstanding. The chicken was locally sourced, perfectly prepared and moist - not dry like most salad ingredients one usually finds. This was a truly outstanding meal. While you are there, check out Stoughton - a friendly town with a Nordic history. Nancy directed us to the Opera House, which is a restored attraction of great prominence. The whole town is charming, and this was one great place to eat.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Sky Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Big Sky Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sky Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.