We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maiden Rock Winery & Cidery

Maiden Rock Winery & Cidery
W12266 King Lane, Stockholm, WI 54769
715.448.3502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Stockholm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An award-winning cider orchard presenting a unique collection of premium hard ciders and wines, produced from fresh local fruit, flavored by Wisconsin.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cute place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

great wine and atmospheer off the beaten path we enjoyed the drive to and from. we plan to save the wine we bought for a special occassion

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great service, good cider, OK wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

As a non-beer drinker, I'm excited that craft cideries are starting to pop up around the region and knew I had to stop in and try this one. We visited the Maiden Rock Cidery while we were in the Lake Pepin area watching eagles. We were the only ones there, and the woman working at the tasting counter was great – friendly, attentive, and informative – and helped each of us choose a variety of beverages to try. Their Honeycrisp Hard Cider is a nice light cider that was favored by most of our group. I was more partial to the Scrumpy, which is closer to a British cider. They had a large number of wines available for tasting as well - some they made and others from wineries around Wisconsin. No one in our group was particularly impressed by any of the house made wines, but we did enjoy some of the fruit-flavored meads made by White Winter Winery and also liked the Syrah by Cedar Creek Winery. The shop area includes the cider, wines, and a small selection of wine-related gifts and gourmet foods. We bought a jar of Peach Amaretto Preserves just because it sounded good, and we certainly weren’t disappointed!
Note: a small friendly dog greeted us when we arrived. We enjoyed it, but beware if you aren't a dog person.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Finally a cidery...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

While on a short weekend road trip with my sister we stopped off in western WI near lake Pepin and went to the Cidery. I was excited because I am a BIG cider fan. The location is great beautiful and we weren't even there on a nice day. It was too windy to spend much time outside, but it seemed like the kind of place were you could take a walk in the orchard and look around. They carried not only their ciders but also other wines from small wineries in the WI area and it was nice to be able to try other things. I tried a number of wines and both of their ciders. The Honeycrisp Hard is very much like a lot of the ciders that are available at your local liquor store. The Scrumpy was different and I really enjoyed it. They have some items available by the bottle and they also had growlers available. There was a nice selection of jams, cheese, and other gift type items in the store.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Something different for wine lovers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is one of the wineries on the Great River Wine Trail. The drive up to the winery is quite scenic and peaceful as there is not much around. We were the only ones there so the service was good. The winery and cidery does not make many of their own wines but the ones they do have are really good, especially the honey crisp hard cider. They also have a variety of other samples you can taste from other wine makers, including mead. The tasting is complimentary and allows you to sample many wines or ciders. They also have a small shopping area where you can buy gifts, apple butter, chutney, and other items. Since it is early in the season there is not much to see, but this would definitely be a place to check out at harvest. I would go back to Maiden Rock Winery & Cidery to drink wine and pick apples in the orchard.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice even on a rainy day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Because of the rain we didn't do any of the outdoors stuff, but we had a nice time anyway. We did the tasting, it was only $5 & we got to try a lot of wines & ciders. We also got to sample just about any apple we wanted, including "heirloom" apples from way back when, and they had an apple chutney to sample that was AMAZING.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maiden Rock Winery & Cidery also viewed

 

Been to Maiden Rock Winery & Cidery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maiden Rock Winery & Cidery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.