We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newer hotel and quite clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Amber Avenue, Stevens Point, WI 54481   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Stevens Point
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Newer hotel and quite clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great hotel. Fantastic hospitality and great prices. The clerk at the front desk was very nice and the beds were quite comfortable. I had breakfast at their restaurant adjacent to the convention center and that was good, but not great. However, they have nice outdoor seating with a fire pit!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. Hospitality starts & ends with our front desk staff and I am happy to hear they did a nice job. We are proud to have the Amber Grill as our on-site restaurant offering our guests breakfast, lunch, dinner, and room service. The gas fire pit, at the restaurant, was a recent addition and many have expressed their enjoyment from sitting on the patio with the fire. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    38
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
9
6
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed here with my family for a relaxing weekend away. I was very impressed with the hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly. The restaurant had delicious food. I had expected a nice place after reading the reviews, but I didn't think it would be this nice! I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

The one downside is that there's no free breakfast.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your “relaxing weekend away.” Wow, what nice things you have to say about your experience with us. We are very happy to hear things went so well. There are many areas in our hotel to experience and it sounds you enjoyed them all. I hope you had time to play in the activity pool area featuring a 3-story waterslide. Our restaurant, Amber Grill, is not only a guest favorite but also a local leading choice as well. As a full service hotel, our guests have the option of dining in the restaurant or ordering Room Service to get the same great food delivered right to their rooms. Thank you for recommending us and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a pretty nice hotel and the rooms were very reasonably priced. The rooms are huge. The electric fireplace in my room was a plus. The pool area is nice but catered towards kids more. However, there is a hot tub. The only drawback to this hotel is there is not a free continental breakfast. Breakfast goes a long way for me when it comes to choosing hotels to stay at. I give this hotel 4/5 stars only because of lack of continental breakfast. I hope their management will take this advice and provide this additional added value in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you had time to experience different areas of the hotel. Sounds like you stayed in one of our larger suites and are glad you enjoyed this room. The pool area has a variety of ways for the whole family to enjoy. We are proud to be a “Full Service” hotel offering our guests the opportunity to enjoy the full experience of our on-site restaurant, Amber Grill. Many are also pleased to have the option of ordering room service. We are lucky to have our Holiday Inn Express right across the street which has the best complimentary breakfast. This provides travelers with the option of full service or limited service, which ever suits their needs more appropriately. We take all our comments and suggestions into consideration. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Four of us flew into Stevens Point to do Oshkosh, we stayed at Holiday Inn And it was good. Nice clean hotel with good rooms. As noted there is no free breakfast but lts of free coffee and you can get a muffin for $2. Lots of good places to eat nearby. Hotel also offers a shuttle from local airports.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We’re glad you stayed with us during the Oshkosh Air Show. It’s especially nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are proud to have the restaurant available to help guests with their dining needs for breakfast, lunch & dinner. We hope you enjoyed the Air Show and look forward to having you stay with us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and three kids stayed here and we loved the place. The place is very clean and extremely nice. I found it interesting that they did not serve a continental breakfast. I just assumed all lodging facilities did this and when I took my kids for breakfast, I was a bit shocked. The front desk did direct me to a very excellent place for breakfast and gave me vouchers so that my kids could eat for free. That was very nice. The entire bill for the three of us was only $9, so I am certainly not complaining. The rooms are very nice, very clean, and spacious. The grounds are very well manicured. The little water park was fun for my kids and they loved it. We will probably go back again, our only concern was the price but then we wanted everything and we got it!!!

Room Tip: We asked for a room close to the water park and that is not really possible because the water park i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. It’s nice that you were able to see the whole hotel. As a full service hotel, we are grateful to have the Amber Grill available to our guests for their dinning needs. Although we do not offer a complimentary continental breakfast, we are happy to hear you took advantage of the “Kids Eat Free” for children 12 years & under. The water park is a favorite for families that stay with us. It has something for everyone. We would love to have you come back and stay with us. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This Holiday Inn was very professional about every detail that contributed to our wedding night. The staff was very friendly and dedicated to making our day unforgettable. The package we chose for our wedding was at a good rate, and it included a lot of nice elegant touches like a lit-up head table on risers. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The food was incredible - 5 star quality! It was so delicious. There were absolutely no problems or mishaps concerning our wedding night here...it was magical.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We take great pride in the large number of weddings we have supported at our hotel & convention center over the years. We put every effort into helping make that one special day perfect. We are especially glad to hear that your wedding day was “Magical.” It is nice to know we will always be part of your wonderful wedding memories. We would love to see you again the next time you’re in the area. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference. The hotel was attached to the conference center, with a nice restaurant/bar also attached. I've stayed in two other hotels in Stevens Point and must say that neither held a candle to the holiday inn.

Pros
Clean room
Very Comfortable bed
fridge and microwave in room
Quiet room for being on the first floor
Friendly staff
Good restaurant attached
Convenient to highway, shopping, restaurants
Workout room was clean, machines in good conditions

(Minor) Cons

Restaurant a bit pricy
Newer front desk staff had trouble with bill
Parking lot very full, parked far from front entrance

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We’re happy you had the opportunity to stay with us during your convention. Thank you for the nice comment about our hotel vs. others in Stevens Point. Sounds like you may travel often. Your thorough review is useful as feedback to the quality services we are providing. Its second purpose is to alert us to areas that need some attention. Thank you for your patience with the “newer front desk staff.” The Desk Staff is the heart of any hotel. They need to know a lot of information and unfortunately it takes some time. We look forward to seeing you the next time you’re in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center

Address: 1001 Amber Avenue, Stevens Point, WI 54481
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Stevens Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Stevens Point
#3 Business Hotel in Stevens Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wisconsin's newest full service convention center, and Travel Green designated hotel the Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, Stevens Point, WI. Located in central Wisconsin to serve all your convention/meeting needs. Holiday Inn & Convention Center Stevens Point features 149 spacious guestrooms and a variety of luxury suites is located directly off I-39 and Hwy. 51 at Hwy. 10E. Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point features 38,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, conference, expo, and banquet space. Our professional meeting planners provide full service food and beverage service to accommodate all breakfast, lunch, dinner, hors d'oeuvre, and refreshment break needs. Rudy's Red Eye Grill, our premier on-site restaurant and bar features excellent food, remarkable atmosphere, and live music Thursday-Saturday Guests can also enjoy the intimate lobby bar. The Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point boasts Splashpoint Indoor Water Area with a 3-story slide, water geysers, plunge pool, whirlpool, kiddie slide, and large game room. Call for limited slide hours and height restrictions. The Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point is within close proximity to UW Stevens Point, Sentry Insurance, Sentry World Golf, Lands End, Banta, Donaldson, Canadian National and Point Brewery with complimentary transportation within a 5-mile radius during customary business hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Hotel Stevens Point
Stevens Point Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.