We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 Amber Avenue, Stevens Point, WI 54481   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 11 hotels in Stevens Point
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was a pretty nice hotel and the rooms were very reasonably priced. The rooms are huge. The electric fireplace in my room was a plus. The pool area is nice but catered towards kids more. However, there is a hot tub. The only drawback to this hotel is there is not a free continental breakfast. Breakfast goes a long way for me when it comes to choosing hotels to stay at. I give this hotel 4/5 stars only because of lack of continental breakfast. I hope their management will take this advice and provide this additional added value in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to hear you had time to experience different areas of the hotel. Sounds like you stayed in one of our larger suites and are glad you enjoyed this room. The pool area has a variety of ways for the whole family to enjoy. We are proud to be a “Full Service” hotel offering our guests the opportunity to enjoy the full experience of our on-site restaurant, Amber Grill. Many are also pleased to have the option of ordering room service. We are lucky to have our Holiday Inn Express right across the street which has the best complimentary breakfast. This provides travelers with the option of full service or limited service, which ever suits their needs more appropriately. We take all our comments and suggestions into consideration. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    29
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
26
7
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Four of us flew into Stevens Point to do Oshkosh, we stayed at Holiday Inn And it was good. Nice clean hotel with good rooms. As noted there is no free breakfast but lts of free coffee and you can get a muffin for $2. Lots of good places to eat nearby. Hotel also offers a shuttle from local airports.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
We’re glad you stayed with us during the Oshkosh Air Show. It’s especially nice to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are proud to have the restaurant available to help guests with their dining needs for breakfast, lunch & dinner. We hope you enjoyed the Air Show and look forward to having you stay with us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My wife and three kids stayed here and we loved the place. The place is very clean and extremely nice. I found it interesting that they did not serve a continental breakfast. I just assumed all lodging facilities did this and when I took my kids for breakfast, I was a bit shocked. The front desk did direct me to a very excellent place for breakfast and gave me vouchers so that my kids could eat for free. That was very nice. The entire bill for the three of us was only $9, so I am certainly not complaining. The rooms are very nice, very clean, and spacious. The grounds are very well manicured. The little water park was fun for my kids and they loved it. We will probably go back again, our only concern was the price but then we wanted everything and we got it!!!

Room Tip: We asked for a room close to the water park and that is not really possible because the water park i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay. It’s nice that you were able to see the whole hotel. As a full service hotel, we are grateful to have the Amber Grill available to our guests for their dinning needs. Although we do not offer a complimentary continental breakfast, we are happy to hear you took advantage of the “Kids Eat Free” for children 12 years & under. The water park is a favorite for families that stay with us. It has something for everyone. We would love to have you come back and stay with us. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This Holiday Inn was very professional about every detail that contributed to our wedding night. The staff was very friendly and dedicated to making our day unforgettable. The package we chose for our wedding was at a good rate, and it included a lot of nice elegant touches like a lit-up head table on risers. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious. The food was incredible - 5 star quality! It was so delicious. There were absolutely no problems or mishaps concerning our wedding night here...it was magical.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We take great pride in the large number of weddings we have supported at our hotel & convention center over the years. We put every effort into helping make that one special day perfect. We are especially glad to hear that your wedding day was “Magical.” It is nice to know we will always be part of your wonderful wedding memories. We would love to see you again the next time you’re in the area. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference. The hotel was attached to the conference center, with a nice restaurant/bar also attached. I've stayed in two other hotels in Stevens Point and must say that neither held a candle to the holiday inn.

Pros
Clean room
Very Comfortable bed
fridge and microwave in room
Quiet room for being on the first floor
Friendly staff
Good restaurant attached
Convenient to highway, shopping, restaurants
Workout room was clean, machines in good conditions

(Minor) Cons

Restaurant a bit pricy
Newer front desk staff had trouble with bill
Parking lot very full, parked far from front entrance

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
We’re happy you had the opportunity to stay with us during your convention. Thank you for the nice comment about our hotel vs. others in Stevens Point. Sounds like you may travel often. Your thorough review is useful as feedback to the quality services we are providing. Its second purpose is to alert us to areas that need some attention. Thank you for your patience with the “newer front desk staff.” The Desk Staff is the heart of any hotel. They need to know a lot of information and unfortunately it takes some time. We look forward to seeing you the next time you’re in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Incredible customer service, great friendly staff, eager to please.

Felt like a brand new property. Extremely clean. Common areas very nice. Stone countertops, but other finishes are minimal, builder's grade. I was super turned off by the cheap plastic trash cans in room. The room I had was a king with a bunkbed annex decorated by treehouse murals and its own flat screen TV. So cute!! Also had a microwave & fridge. Free internet, desk, I had no problem finding enough outlets.

No healthy snacks in vending or "gift shop". Bring your own.

The reviews of the restaurant were horrible, so I was really nervous, but wa very happy with all meals and the service. Good menue with a full range of choices.

Room Tip: If you have kids, you have to ask for the bunk beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the thorough evaluation of our hotel. Our hotel offers a wide variety of room types. Our Family Suite with the bunk beds is a popular room type for families with small children. It gives kids their own space and TV so everyone can enjoy their stay. The microwave & fridge are two great amenities to have when staying at a hotel. We are grateful you chose to dine at Amber Grill. Reviews can be slighted for different reasons and it’s a great idea to experience it first-hand to get your own impression. We are happy you liked it. We look forward to you staying with us on your next business trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center was very pleasant and with a lot great amenities, especially for a smaller venue, such as Stevens Point. Hotel was immaculate, rooms lobby, common areas all well taken care. Conference area very good for smaller to mid sized events. Food was pretty decent, but not eat much. Amber Grill was a great watering hole, good beer and mixed drinks, pleasant and inviting atmosphere. Did not eat at the restaurant part, but did look inviting. Hotel had nice spacious rooms, again immaculately clean. Nice large pool and spa area as well as gym too. Parking plentiful and free of charge. Free coffee, but no free breakfast. However, a number of nearby fast food or sit down options.

Room Tip: Rooms all seemed pretty good, elevators quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We appreciate your review of our convention center and hotel. We are flexible enough to offer smaller and larger meeting space based on group needs. We work diligently to provide a clean, organized, and comfortable atmosphere for each group and hotel guest. We are proud to have the Amber Grill available to us for both convention groups and hotel guests. It provides a high quality dining experience and supports our banquet needs. Our chefs have extensive experience and provide another level to the quality of our restaurant. The cleanliness of our hotel rooms is a huge compliment as our housekeeping staff maintains that high standard. The pool, spa, and gym offer an opportunity to have fun, relax, or work out during your visit. We would love to have you stay with us again and encourage you to try one of our many, chef prepared, meals. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Hotel Stevens Point
Holiday Inn Stevens Point Hotel
Holiday Inn Stevens Point
Stevens Point Holiday Inn
Address: 1001 Amber Avenue, Stevens Point, WI 54481
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Stevens Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stevens Point
#4 Family Hotel in Stevens Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wisconsin's newest full service convention center, and Travel Green designated hotel the Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, Stevens Point, WI. Located in central Wisconsin to serve all your convention/meeting needs. Holiday Inn & Convention Center Stevens Point features 149 spacious guestrooms and a variety of luxury suites is located directly off I-39 and Hwy. 51 at Hwy. 10E. Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point features 38,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, conference, expo, and banquet space. Our professional meeting planners provide full service food and beverage service to accommodate all breakfast, lunch, dinner, hors d'oeuvre, and refreshment break needs. Rudy's Red Eye Grill, our premier on-site restaurant and bar features excellent food, remarkable atmosphere, and live music Thursday-Saturday Guests can also enjoy the intimate lobby bar. The Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point boasts Splashpoint Indoor Water Area with a 3-story slide, water geysers, plunge pool, whirlpool, kiddie slide, and large game room. Call for limited slide hours and height restrictions. The Holiday Inn Convention Center Stevens Point is within close proximity to UW Stevens Point, Sentry Insurance, Sentry World Golf, Lands End, Banta, Donaldson, Canadian National and Point Brewery with complimentary transportation within a 5-mile radius during customary business hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Stevens Point Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.