We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Clean, Efficient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1100 Amber Ave, Stevens Point, WI 54481   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Stevens Point
Northfield, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, Efficient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My experience at this Holiday Inn Express matched my rather high expectations based on stays at other properties in the chain. My needs are fairly basic, a safe, clean, comfortable place to sleep and grab a decent breakfast in the morning. The Stevens Point property didn't disappoint. I particularly like that the heater/AC device, a typical wall mounted unit, had a setting that allowed the fan to run uninterrupted all night. I appreciate the soft white noise (not rattling). Potential visitors should know that this hotel is nowhere near Wisconsin Rapids, which is probably a 20 minute drive away, if not farther.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
It sounds like you stay at Holiday Inn Express often. It is nice to get a great review based on comparisons to other properties on multiple stays. We are glad you had a pleasant stay. We appreciate the kind comments and will continue to work towards providing quality service for you in the future. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    22
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
6
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in August, 2012. The hotel is fairly new, the rooms are clean, and the location is very good. The hotel sits back off the main highway (10), so the rooms are quiet. The breakfast bar is quite good, with a variety of hot & cold options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We appreciate the time you took to write a review on TripAdvisor. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Clean rooms are a high priority for our hotel. I’m glad you mentioned our location. We love being just down from the interstate but carefully situated off the main drag to give some privacy and provide a quieter setting. The large array of complimentary breakfast items attracts a lot of our guests. We look forward to you staying with us on future business trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I spent one night here as part of a weekend get away.
We found the hotel to be a good choice because
The hotel is clean and quite.
The staff is efficiant and friendly
The is a resturant with in walking distance
The free breakfest was typical H-Inn Express

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. It’s good to hear that our hotel and staff was to your liking. Our location is conveniently located to several restaurants, including the Amber Grill located in the Holiday Inn Hotel & Convention Center just across the street from the Express. Many guests stay with us for our complimentary breakfast which offers a wide selection of foods. We’re glad you enjoyed your “weekend get away” and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We travel a quite a bit and make 90% of our rooms selections based upon TripAdvisor reviews. This is one of only a couple of times where the TripAdvisor reviews we read did not match our personal experience - the good news is it was nothing egregious.

For us this hotel was just about as average as they come - nothing was terrible, but nothing was really exceptional either.

As others have mentioned, this hotel is just a few miles from UW Stevens Point (it sits back from the road just beyond the Fleet and Farm store).

The cleanliness was what made this place so "average" for us. For example, the tub/tile floor in the bathroom were in need a of a good cleaning, or maybe just a refurbishing. The bathroom was certainly was not a total "ick, get me out of here" situation, but we have seen much better in similar hotels.

They also may have some underlying cleaning issues as well. We were there three days and two nights (all weekdays), and during our very first ride in the elevator after check-in we noticed someone had carefully placed pennies in strategic locations throughout the elevator. Basically, there was a penny in every corner of the floor, on the carpet where the doors opened, on top of picture frames, on the ledges, in the cracks, etc. They were placed so specifically that we thought it was a prank or something. We were kidding around that maybe the ghost of Alan Funt was up to something, or maybe it was some type of college psychology experiment to see who would pick them up, etc.

After coming and going for a couple of days we noticed that one or two of the pennies were gone, but most remained exactly where they were (why would someone take one but not all we asked ourselves - has to be a prank). Finally we asked the staff what the pennies in the elevator were all about, and they admitted they had not seen them, but guessed it could be their cleaning manager placing them there to test if the crew was cleaning well. If so, kudos to the manager for thinking of this, but after three days I'd say you have your answer and it is time to get them out of there and address the situation.

We never really found out exactly why they were there, but at the very least one thing is for certain, whoever was in charge of cleaning the elevator was not getting the corners, cracks or ledges -- or they were in on the prank!

Again, this is not a hotel to go running away from, but to us it was rather average so we'll explore another one in the area next time. We may be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your story with us. We appreciate the honesty of your review. The “penny prank” will be looked into and hopefully an explanation will arise. We hope it is not “the ghost of Alan Funt”, ! Your review will help us address these cleaning issues and continue to improve our service. We have done extensive renovation, inside and outside, at the Holiday Inn Express and continue to replace and improve areas of our hotel. We have other services that we are proud to have available to our guests. Our complimentary breakfast is exceptional, offering “something for everyone” through a wide variety of breakfast items. We receive excellent reviews for our Simmons mattresses used in every room. Guests often take advantage of our fitness center, pool and free WI-FI. Every room offers additional amenities, such as LCD TV, Refrigerator and Microwave, you may not find as a standard at other hotels. We hope you might consider staying with us again in the future and look forward to an improved review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Holiday Inn Express and Suites met expectations. Stay was uneventful. Breakfast included. Rooms nice sized. Good location....just minutes to UWSP.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
We are happy to meet your expectations and an uneventful trip can be a “good thing.” Our staff and hotel makes every effort to make our guest’s stay comfortable, as it should be. Our breakfast offers a wide variety of items to choose from so that no one goes away hungry. We have been at this location for 8 years even before this area became fully commercially developed. The Holiday Inn Express and the newer Holiday Inn Hotel & Convention Center pair up to offer a hotel for any traveler’s needs. The Convention Center, located just across the street from the Express, is a full service hotel with an on-site restaurant and adventure pool. Hopefully the next time you stay with us we will exceed your expectations. We look forward to that time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have never have had a negative experience here at the Express. The staff is professional, knowledgeable and is friendly. The rooms are very nice, clean, and spacious. Often times, I am upgraded to a "suite" which includes a fridge, microwave and sink. There are a few restaurants within walking distance Amber Grill, Arby's, McD's, Applebees so you don't have to worry about driving anywhere. I have not used the pool so cannot comment on that. But if I travel to Point or Rapids, I would definitely stay here again. Great value for price paid. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
We are honored to be referred to as “GREAT place to call home for a night.” It’s nice to hear that you have had good experiences when staying with us. Traveling for work can be inconvenient and are glad that our staff has provided quality service during your visits. Next time you stay, I hope you can take a little time for yourself and enjoy our pool! We look forward to having you “home” again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I wanted to express our positive time we had at your Hotel & Suites.
The room and bathroom was really clean, the TV had a large number of channels, and we received a free drink at the Abby Grille. Hope to stay here again when we have the opportunity.

Best Regards,

Carrie & Paul Sorvari

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cara m, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Carrie & Paul,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s also great to hear that you are a Priority Club Member. This free program allows you to earn points for every stay. Then use them for a variety of rewards. The other nice thing is many hotels have welcoming gifts for members like our choice of either a BOGO free drink coupon or healthy snack. Whether you travel a little or a lot, these points never expire and continue to build up until you are ready to choose a reward. We would love to have you stay with us again. See you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids

Address: 1100 Amber Ave, Stevens Point, WI 54481
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Stevens Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Stevens Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Stevens Point. Enjoy our great amenities including great hot breakfast items, pool, whirlpool, new fitness center equipment and business center. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay will be relaxing and enjoyable. Our large suites offer microwaves and refrigerators. Located on Hwy 10, east of I-39/51. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids
Holiday Inn Stevens Point
Stevens Point Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Stevens Point-Wisconsin Rapids, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.