We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Friday Night Dinner and Late Night Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guu's on Main

Guu's on Main
Main Street, Stevens Point, WI 54481
715-344-3200
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 98 Restaurants in Stevens Point
Cuisines: American, Bar, Family Fare
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Friday Night Dinner and Late Night Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

As a college student Guus was a common place to grab a bite with a date, grab 1.50 pbr pint, then live music after 9pm. Great times, great prices, and great memories.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Received a recommendation for this place from a co-worker. We had a great lunch, and would go back again to eat. We also found it a relaxing place to just stop in and have one of the many beers available on tap.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cute bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I loved the Fish Fry we had at Guu's. The batter was very light and tasty. Fish was flaky and fresh. Service was excellent. You can tell this is a popular place in the area because of all the people that where waiting in line to eat. I would highly recommend. Great menu. Try the Fried Green Beans. Even if you don't like Green Beans you would have no idea you sere eating a vegetable.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not an enjoyable experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Went here for a fish fry on a Friday, later afternoon. The bar was dark and very loud. There was a fairly long wait for service and food. My fish fry was wet on the bottom, so the breading kept sliding off, and the fish was very tough. Very bland in taste also.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best fish fry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Guu's has the best fish fry in Point (my opinion) and they also have a ton of COLD beer on tap. The recently started allowing outdoor seating in the summer. I wish the city would have thought about outdoor dining when they redid Main street. I think there is a lot of opportunity for outdoor seating/beer gardens if they'd close Main Street down.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guu's on Main also viewed

Stevens Point, WI
Stevens Point, WI
 
Stevens Point, WI
 

Been to Guu's on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guu's on Main, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.