We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a dump!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Point Motel

Save Saved
You added Point Motel to your Saves list
Point Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Point Motel
209 Division Street, Stevens Point, WI 54481   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stevens Point
Stacyy01
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“This place is a dump!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The owners are vey difficult to communicate with, they speak very broken english. We had 8 rooms all together, toilet didn't work in one, ac didn't work in another, shower didn't work in another, plumbing was bad in another, beds we're hard, bedding was dirty and stained, they did not provide hair dryers , irons, or toiletries. they did not stock for the continental breakfast. You could hear people walking in the room above. I was waiting for someone to fall through the floor. The rooms were about $50. 00 each. I have stayed at nice hotels for $50.00 a night. I would not stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    1
    3
    4
    5
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

For the price you cant beat this place. Its clean, my room had a micro/fridge combo in the room. Bed was comfy. I stayed for 3 days the front desk was helpful in guiding me around Stevens Point. Point Motel has a great location. Its located near many new restaurants and attractions as well as the local university. (UWSP) Overall great stay.

Room Tip: I had a two double bed room. The room was HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Cons: Many items in the room were not maintained or functional-- security chain was broken, nightstand was screwed into wall and it was leaning so much I was afraid the lamp was going to slide off, screen door would not shut properly, & glass on screen door could not be moved to cover the screen (it was November and cold outside).
Pros: they do allow dogs (for extra $6), have a microwave, small frig, and coffee maker.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Much less esxpensive than chain hotels, room was clean, $48 for 2 people for a night. It is not fancy, the decor is old, but clean. Someone commented about the security chains being attached to the door frame, which is true, the safety chain was silly, but the doorklnob locks and there is a deadbolt. Its stevens point! Walking distance from toppers and a $7 cab ride from downtown.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I really wanted this to be a nice old style motel... but, it wasn't - could be but the owners are not investing money or time in the place. It is Indian run and the smell of curry will hit you the minute you step in the lobby. I almost left, but I had to see if the rooms were nice. yet, they were not great and the motel is kind of run down. Too bad. I would not recommend staying here unfortnately. PS: I left in an hour and didn't even request a refund.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peru
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Location is the best if you need to be close to the UWSP, all kind of restaurants and shops are nearby, just 2 to10 min walking. Rooms are well equiped and they are pretty clean, they are just a bit old and poorly maintained. Breakfast is orange juice(bottled), milk and flakes, white bread, light coffee, butter and jelly, you may need to ask owners to put more stuff if they run out of something. It is very important to make clear prices before you check in, otherwise owner may charge as much as he can. Before I arrived they told me it was $38 a night for a single room, for my dates (by email). When I arrived they charge $50 the 1st night, because I said I didnt know how long I was staying. Next day I told him I was staying 5 more days and he charged $40 a day, next days. Owner said $38 was past season rate, but then I heard he offered $39 a day to another guest. So it was really confusing and I felt they took advantage of me, because I didnt have the message with the offered price printed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasau, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

I went there a a couple of months ago. I chose the place because because it was close to where my conference was. And I really liked it. The service is good, the room was clean, and yeah, the cleaning maid is a really friendly woman - you'll enjoy talking to her. The bed was comfortable, I got a good night's sleep before my conference the next morning. All these for $39. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Motel

Address: 209 Division Street, Stevens Point, WI 54481
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Stevens Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Stevens Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;