We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Middle of nowhere gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The House on the Rock Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Green
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The House on the Rock Resort
Save
You added The House on the Rock Resort to your Saves list
400 Springs Drive, Spring Green, WI 53588   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Spring Green
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Middle of nowhere gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011 via mobile

Came for plays at American Theater plays and was pleasantly suprised with this gem of a resort. Clean and appropriately furnished for the locale and surrounding attractions (Frank Loyd Wright) stuff.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    44
    17
    19
    6
See reviews for
27
55
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the House on the Rock Resort to visit the area and see performances at the American Players Theatre. It was our first stay here. We thought it was wonderful. The setting is gorgeous! The view from our room over the golf course and into the surrounding hills was wonderful. The resort could be called “dated”, but in a good way. The buildings definitely fit into the environment reflecting the Prairie style architecture synonymous with Frank Lloyd Wright whose Taliesin is nearby. The rooms were clean, well appointed and spacious (at least the suite we had). Parking was near the rooms. The indoor pool and workout rooms looked nice, although we did not use them. The in-hotel restaurants (two) were adequate, but not special.

I thought the cost of the room was reasonable. We got the room as part of an APT theatre package.

My biggest complaint with the resort was that they were obviously understaffed. The staff was friendly and attentive; there were just not enough of them. For example, in the bar/restaurant one woman was expected to tend a bar with 6-7 patrons, wait on 3-4 tables AND cook. They need to hire more people.

Overall the stay was very nice and we plan on staying hear again when we visit the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

After reading the reviews, I was not sure what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed a great two night stay. The grounds are beautiful and a golfer's delight. The small outdoor pool was fun and there is also a small spa service available. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with great views of the golf course and a small patio. The restaurant was good (don't bother trying to find a good place to eat anywhere else in the small town!). We met friends for a two day visit and enjoyed a comfortable and fun time at this little resort. There are a few interesting "attractions" in close proximity with very pretty walking paths and scenery. We would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

my boyfriend and i enjoyed our stay at the Resort very much, The room which was on the very top floor and furthest from everything was clean and spacious,nice size refridgerator, the swimming pools, whirlpool,sauna,etc. were fantastic ! We didn't go to the resturants,or golf,we brought our own food, and sitting out on the balcony with a glass of wine looking at the full moon and the quiet peacefullness, was like being in heaven.We went to the "House on the Rock " the next day the people at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Top floor and at the very end of the building,away from everything,We loved it ! but other people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011 via mobile

We stayed over forth of july weekend. The sunday night to be exact. We had played golf before and loved the course but always thought the hotel would be a great thing to try. And it was great. The rooms are terrific. Very clean and comfortable and the bathrooms are great. We had our three kids(15,12,9) and they brought in a rollaway for our 15 year old daughter. The three kids had one room and we had much needed alone timein our own room. We ate dinner in the restaurant . I had the walleye and loved it. My son had a ny strip which was as good a piece of meat as one could order. Wife had the lamb which was great too. Daughter had salad and soup which she enjoyed. Other son has a hamburger. Everything was perfect. Great service and a wonderful charm that we all appreciated(after 3 days in the dells).my son and I golfed next day and the rest of the family played tennis volleyball and used both indoor and outdoor pools. I know there are some bad reviews here and trust me we almost canceled our reservation but we decided we would make our own fate. We were so glad we did...we will return later this summer.. we have taken our kids to australia, the greek islands santorini milos folegandros the caribbean and domestic all over and stayed in some real bad resorts but this is far from it...try it for yourself before anyone here convinces you either way.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

It’s unfortunate some folks had some bad luck here, but our experience at HOTR Resort was GOOD. Our room was perfectly kept and clean. The patio had leaves and stuff on it, but it’s outside, so that’s expected in my book. Every room looks out on to the golf course and beyond that is forest. The scenery in this part of the state is awesome. Saw lots of wildlife and critters. This is a great area for a hike or bike ride. Golf course is in great shape. Our experience with hotel staff was pleasant—the check-in lady had so much to say about the resort and our stay. There isn’t much to do in town, and the dining is slim pickins’. Rookies has some good bar food. Wishing Heiny’s Dining & Spirits would have been open (closed for the holiday). Went to House on the Rock and Taliesin, and this was a good place to come back to and relax after a busy day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Spectacular view of the golf course from our room (BR, LR and small kitchen), wonderful pool and outstanding service. The House on the Rock attraction is really outstanding. Close to Taliesen and not far from the International Crane Foundation. Great getaway.

Room Tip: Golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The House on the Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on the Rock Resort

Address: 400 Springs Drive, Spring Green, WI 53588
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Spring Green
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
The House On The Rock Hotel Spring Green
Hotel On The Rock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House on the Rock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.