We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Discovery!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Green Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Green
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring Green Motel
Save
You added Spring Green Motel to your Saves list
Highway 14 East, E5296B Highway 14, Spring Green, WI 53588   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lucky Discovery!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here at the recommendation of a friend who always has his mother stay there. The rooms are large, the beds comfortable. We had a fridge and microwave which are very convenient - my wife has food allergies and we have to travel with a lot of our own supplies. The motel looks very nice from the road, but hidden from view is the best thing about the place: a beautiful gazebo, gardens and koi pond with a waterfall. There are tables and chairs under the arbor which are perfect for morning coffee, or any other meal. The place has been in the same family for years, they take great pride in it and are very friendly. Plus, the prices are very reasonable! We'll never stay anywhere else as long as they have a room for us.

Room Tip: We haven't stayed in the new section. The rooms in the back section might be a little more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    29
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredonia, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is a bargain place to stay - and it is really nice and clean and well kept up. The grounds are beautiful. There are flowers all over the place, and lots of outdoor tables to sit at. It was a great find.

Room Tip: Ask for a room farther away from the highway if noises bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were going to be in the Spring Green area for just one night to visit Taliesin, so we weren't too concerned about what accommodations we chose, but we couldn't have been more pleased with our choice. The room was large and newly renovated with a comfortable sitting area outside our door. The grounds are beautifully maintained with flowers everywhere, and with the owners and their children living on premises it had a real family feel. Even the very interesting chicken coop looked like a small house complete with window boxes of flowers. The complimentary breakfast was very basic, but so pleasant with an outdoor eating area, again surrounded by flowers. I would recommend this motel to anyone.

Room Tip: We liked the fact that our room faced the back side, away from the highway, not because there was an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

There aren't many motels in this area, and we were very happy to have selected Spring Green Motel. It was clean, affordable, and the area is set more like a neighborhood than a motel. It has a real personal family feel: the hanging plants are beautiful, there are several outdoor sitting areas, the owners are real and genuine, and they may even have eggs from their chickens for your breakfast. Give this little gem a try if you are in the area. We were impressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGMotel, Owner at Spring Green Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks so much for staying with us! Please come back and stay with us again. Every year we always are doing something new and updating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in the newest addition, in a room facing away from the highway. The rooms and grounds were absolutely spotless. There are beautiful flowers everywhere and two gazebos. The owners or their neighbors apparently keep chickens and I enjoyed hearing the rooster in the morning (it was not loud enough to wake us, with the AC running).
Amenities: Air conditioning functioned very well during our July visit (hot and humid). We liked that the refrigerator had a small freezer compartment. I was caught a little off guard when the only bathroom amenity was soap (no shampoo or lotion). Nice fluffy towels. I would have liked a couple of extra bed pillows (back problems).
Breakfast: Was just adequate. The young person at the desk when we checked out was unprepared to offer suggestions for a full breakfast nearby.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room facing the back, you will have to carry your bags around but you won't hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGMotel, Owner at Spring Green Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thanks For staying with us. Please come back again! So glad you enjoyed the new addition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'll usually stay at the best hotel I can afford when visiting a city. Where I live, motels are not in the best areas or well maintained. With Spring Green being so remote, it was really the only option, and the reviews & photos on tripadvisor convinced me it was worth a shot. So glad I went!

We stayed in the new building, which was quiet despite being right across from the highway. Because it was so new, the room was in perfect condition. The bed was comfortable and had the best pillows I've ever used, at home or traveling. Towels, rugs, and other accessories were Kohl's brands, the quality one would have at home, making the room more welcoming and comfortable. (I wonder if I could get those pillows at Kohls...)

We loved having the kitchenette with dining area as well as 2 leather chairs. Having a refrigerator and microwave in the room is helpful, and would be essential to a multi-night stay.

It was a beautiful summer night and there were plenty of outdoor seating areas for small or large groups. We sat in one of the screened gazebos to avoid mosquitoes but on a less buggy evening would have enjoyed the other areas just as much. I only wish there were a pool, but no real complaints.

The people on the phone and at the desk were very helpful as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGMotel, Owner at Spring Green Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and the nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were in the first group of guests to stay in their new building. The room was large and comfortable. The kitchenette had a sink, refrigerator and breakfast table with plenty of counter space. The bed was very comfortable! The outdoor seating areas were beautiful and we would have taken advantage of them if there hadn't been tornado warnings. The staff were extremely helpful too. The breakfast was served in a beautiful new room in our building. Fairly basic continental breakfast fair, but hot eggs, biscuits and gravy as well as hard boiled eggs stepped things up a bit for me. If we had stayed more than one night though I probably would have splurged for brunch at one of the many great breakfast places in Spring Green. All in all, it was a clean well kept place I would visit again. A great deal!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGMotel, Owner at Spring Green Motel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Green Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Green Motel

Address: Highway 14 East, E5296B Highway 14, Spring Green, WI 53588
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Green
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Spring Green Hotel Spring Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Green Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.