We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but below average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spring Green Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Green
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spring Green Motel
Save
You added Spring Green Motel to your Saves list
Highway 14 East, E5296B Highway 14, Spring Green, WI 53588   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Spring Green
Milwaukee, Wisconsin usa
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Clean but below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Motel is clean and they have an adeqate cont. breakfast. Morning of check out desk satff was friendly. Breakfast staff was grumpy. Check in staff was grumpy. Windows in room didn't lock. Second door lock was non-working. For a single woman traveling I felt it was not safe. Room/bathroom was very dated and bed/pillows were just ok. Right on highway so noisy. Run wall unit for noise. They were sold out. So book very early and try to get in at another place first. Use this motel in a pinch. For my $100 night I feel it was less then an average choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    29
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
39
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

The adage “you get what you pay for” really applies to this dump. The air conditioner in our room didn’t cool. When I complained, the manager said “it takes a while.” She was right – it took an hour. When I complained that there was no hot water, she said with a straight face that I was wrong, I just have to let the water run for 15 minutes or so to get hot. She was right, but what a pain. The continental breakfast was served in a space the size of a closet and consisted mainly of lousy, store-bought donuts and muffins. A light bulb in our room didn’t work and the manager said she couldn’t figure out how to fix it. The only thing good was the $82 a day price per room. If all you care about is price and the problems I describe don’t bother you, then this rat trap is for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

If you're looking for a nice, clean spot to stay while taking in the Frank Lloyd Wright sights or the plays at American Players Theatre, this is a good choice. The rooms are simple with "Up North" cottage decor. The flower pots, hanging baskets, window boxes & gardens are amazing. Breakfast -- coffee, milk, cereal, bagels, muffins -- is included. Ask for a room at the back, if you think the noise from the county highway will keep you awake.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed here overnight on our way to The House on The Rock and it was a wonderful, relaxing place to stay. Very reasonable price and the staff was very friendly. Nice, clean room and free Internet, Cable TV and a free small breakfast, beautiful flowers and landscaping, just like home! We enjoyed it very much!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We had reservations for this motel during the Memorial Day Weekend and after one night we decided to stay for the rest of the week. The amount of work and detail that has gone into maintaining this place does not go unnoticed. From the rooms to the flowers to the landscaping- BEAUTIFUL! I would recommend this place to anyone that plans on visiting the Spring Green/River Valley Area. We have stayed at other hotels in the area previously but nothing is quite like the Spring Green Motel. One of the nicest small motels that we have ever seen. A full basketball court connected to a firepit with benches and free firewood, along with a sand volleyball court that the kids love to play in! The kids also enjoyed the tranquil pond and the rabbits and ducks located on the outer edge of the premise. There are three screened in gazebos (which my husband spends most of the evenings doing work on his laptop), plenty of swings, a pergola with hanging flower baskets with a table/chairs and a grilling area complete with gas and charcoal grills... we could not ask for more. It is very clean and quiet and the staff is very friendly. There is free popcorn in the office along with continental breakfast in the morning. I would choose this motel out of any place to stay in the Spring Green area 9 times out of 10!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

This was a very clean and friendly place. The location is great, close to the house on the rock, american players, and frank lloyd wright. We have stayed here multiple times. DUring the summer they have beautiful flowers and pond in the back. They are many places to relax outdoors including a firepit. We did see that they had a basketball court, volleyball sand, and large swingset, which seems like a good place for kids to stay. The rooms were very clean and the staff was very helpful with directions. They also had a good complimentary breakfast. I would definately recommend this place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

This is an older, family owned and operated motel. I found the owners to be very friendly and the room, though dated, was clean. The prices did seem to be a little high compared to similar accomodations, but I think that is because of its proximity to the Frank Lloyd Wright properties and the House on the Rock.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spring Green Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spring Green Motel

Address: Highway 14 East, E5296B Highway 14, Spring Green, WI 53588
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Spring Green
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Spring Green Hotel Spring Green

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spring Green Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.