We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Usonian Inn LLC

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spring Green
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Usonian Inn LLC
Save
You added The Usonian Inn LLC to your Saves list
E 5116 US Hwy 14, P.O.Box 777, Spring Green, WI 53588   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Spring Green B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santa Barbara, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We wanted to participate in the 100th anniversary of Frank Lloyd Wrights work which is being held in Wisconson and so we went through all the TA reviews on places to stay near Spring Green Wisconson. Our first choice was not available so we took our second choice the Usonian. It is, as reported, an old roadside motel. It has had 3 or 4 owners since the original owner and the last two have made significant improvements. The current owners have done all that could be done to a 10 room property and probably have spent more than they will ever recover.
Yes the room had a musty smell when we checked in but after opening all the windows it seemed to clear up. All of the appliances worked and the many reminders were all helpful. I was amazed that WIFI was there and worked. Beds were comfortable and even though we were 50 to 100 feet from the road it was very quiet. As to dining the general store was great for breakfast (also WIFI available) and Arthurs restaurant was a real winner. Excellent food and fast friendly service. If it werent 2000 miles from my home I would become a regular.

Room Tip: Room 10 has two full sized beds and is a end unit with several window openings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    51
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
19
64
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here to experience Wright's Usonian design after reading these rave reviews. The room, though clean, was overwhelmingly musty-smelling. Only one narrow window was accessible. We had to open it even though a sign said, "Do not access this area!" It didn't help much. The bath was nicely remodeled, but the room's furnishings were Ikea -- nothing Wright-inspired except for a couple of lamps. The microwave didn't work, coffeemaker barely worked, and fridge was turned off when we arrived hoping to chill a bottle of wine.

Room Tip: Ask if windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

My gal friends and I stayed and fell in love with the Usonian. I had stayed there many years ago before the restoration and the improvements are outstanding and true to the mission style. even the closet hooks are design perfect. the newly done bathrooms are luxurious and every detail thru out the room is spot on to the period of the building. Very comfortable and welcoming atmosphere. a real find. I can't wait to stay again.

Room Tip: call ahead. all rooms equally nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed overnight. Interesting motel, Frank Llyod Wright style but no breakfast facilities anywhere or nearby. Hotel has coffeemaker and fridge, Mattress on bed was uncomfortable but motel is spotlessly clean. Noticed the place is for sale. Lots of notices around by the owner directing guests as to what is NOT allowed made one feel one was staying in Germany seventy years ago. Hardly welcoming. Spring Green is a lovely area. We enjoyed the estate tour of Taliersin very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The room was clean, well-kept and littered with signs about a)preserving the historic property and b)keeping with the motel's green policies. While I wasn't crazy about the inspirational poem, that's me - I get cranky at religious messages in places where I pay for privacy.

Wireless was wonky as we were in the room farthest from the signal, and Spring Green area is NOT wired. This is not a place to hole up and work - you will vacation, or you will be frustrated.

The wine shop consists of Romanian wine selections; middling stuff, good for hanging out and watching the considerable options on the satellite TV.

Service was excellent, the room was cleaned daily, and while there were no rooms during our stay, we enjoyed a quiet time with no intrusions. The carpet texture felt a bit strange to me, as did the bed coverlet, but given the price and the service, these are minor concerns.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This motel contains so many of the architectual details influenced by Frank Lloyd Wright. Staying a The Usonisan Inn made the entire experience a total pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here on our way to Minneapolis from Chicago as we had planned a stop to see Frank Lloyds Wright's home. It is an old fashioned motel but has been upgraded to make it very comfortable- the bathroom was modern with a great shower head ,stylish sink and nice towels. The flat screen TV was great with HD TV and lots of channels. There is a mini fridge and microwave in each room.The front desk was very nice - we arrived late after the office was closed and our room was open and ready for us.Tihey have a coffee machine with lattes,cappuccinos,etc available as well as chilled wine and beer. We had a wonderful breakfast at The Country Store- 5 minutes away. the frank Llyod Wright tour is just a few miles away and was well worth the trip. Would definitely stay here again-very convient and pleasant place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Usonian Inn LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Usonian Inn LLC

Address: E 5116 US Hwy 14, P.O.Box 777, Spring Green, WI 53588
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Spring Green
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Spring Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now listed on the Nationaland State Register of Historic Places; Taliesin inspired inn, designed by one of Frank Lloyd Wright apprentice. Resting where for 62 years people found relaxing times; build memories at a jewel that never gets old. Travel Green Wisconsin certified property; offers every modern amenity and some, Free WI-FI, online reservations. Gourmet coffee, refreshments, gifts, wine and beer for sale in the lobby. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Usonian Inn LLC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.