We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Shakespeare and you like outdoor theatre - this is great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Players Theatre

American Players Theatre
5950 Golf Course Road, Spring Green, WI 53588
608-588-2361
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: American Players Theatre is a professional, classical theater located just outside Spring Green, Wisconsin. Situated on 110 acres of hilly woods and meadows, APT boasts two theater spaces, an 1148-seat outdoor amphitheater and the 200-seat indoor Touchstone Theatre. From June through October, APT produces eight plays in rotating repertory – five Up the Hill and three in the Touchstone Theatre.Central to APT’s mission is a commitment to making these great works accessible to as wide and varied an audience as possible as well as educating younger generations in the joys of these classic plays.With annual attendance of over 100,000 and an annual budget in excess of $5 million, APT ranks as the country’s second largest outdoor theater devoted to the classics.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“If you like Shakespeare and you like outdoor theatre - this is great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It's only about 45 minutes from Madison - you can check their website for their summer schedule - it's a wine and cheese kinda night - good players in the group. Good summer night fun.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    20
    1
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Everyone should experience this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Nothing like a great shakespeare play in the evening.What a great place for a picnic! They supply the grills, bug spray and ambience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We attend American Plaer tTheater every year...and have never been disappointed. What a gift to this state. What a joy to be shared.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Experience Shakespeare in the Raw”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was lucky enough to live close to Spring Green while growing up. My first experience at APT was in high school and has been an annual treat since. My husband and I have made the trek to the theatre in the woods for eight years running. Make it a night you won't forget by packing your favorite picnic and bottle of wine for dining before the show on their grounds. Head up the hill for a performance you will never forget! A must!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved the venue and the show!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

After seeing my first play at APT, I told my fella that I wanted to make an annual tradition of coming here. There is something very romantic about seeing Shakespeare in the woods on the side of a hill and being able to see the stars above when the lights go out. I was glad I happened to have an extra blanket in the trunk of my car; it got a bit chilly in mid-September. But it was fun to get cozy under a blanket and watch some great acting in an outdoor venue. Really loved this experience and can't wait to go back next year!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Players Theatre also viewed

 

Been to American Players Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Players Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.