We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Terrace Cafe

Riverview Terrace Cafe
5607 Cty. Rd. C, Spring Green, WI 53588
(877) 588-7900 ext. 232
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Spring Green
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Townsville
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Lunch with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We dined in the most gorgeous restaurant which was part of the Visitors' Centre designed by the famous architect Frank Lloyd Wright. The soaring timber lined beams created an amazing dining atmosphere. Outside you had beautiful views of the Wisconsin River. We had a delicious lunch. I ate Veggie Benedict and my husband enjoyed an omelette with roasted potatoes. It was a meal to remember.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    21
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville
2 reviews
“WORST FOOD AND SERVICE EVER!! Avoid Prime Rib”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We went to Riverview Terrace after a day of hunting and we're very hungry. Our group of 4 ordered 4 prime rib dinners medium rare. We ordered our drinks and waited for a long time. We waited and waited while other waitress's kept bumping into my chair. Finally the drinks came 15minutes later. We drank our drinks and ordered another-this time a little quicker. The waitress then told us salad bar was included in our meal. we were upset she didn't tell us before. Our group went to get salads as our food was delivered to table. Crowded table full of food. The prime rib was bloody and RAW! The seasoning was terrible but seriously-it was raw! We had it taken back and re cooked. It was awful. Bad food Bad service I will tell everybody. seriously: the worst prime rib I ever ate.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best experience in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This restaurant serves excellent food in a beautiful setting. The staff are terrific, the wine list is not quite, er, comprehensive but you will not be drinking anything awful. Prices are very good, and the desserts are great. Consistent over several years, and hopefully will continue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Service excellent and food good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We frequently go to American Players Theater and the Riverview Terrace Cafe is often our restaurant of choice. The staff provides attentive, friendly service. The food is very good. We were a group of six recently and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. The salads were fresh and the fish done to perfection. The vegetarian entree was very good according to my brother-in-law. There is a lovely view of the Wisconsin River but not a lot of ambiance beyond that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Lovely respite after FLW Tour of Taliesen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My family and I ate here following our four hour indepth tour of Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesen home. The restaurant is part of the visitor's center and is a lovely FLW-styled building. The gift shop is at one end of the building and the restaurant at the other end. On a Saturday lunch time we were recommended to make reservations and we were glad we did. It was very busy. My Mum and hubby had the eggs benedict which they proclaimed to be delicious and nice and hot. I had the salad with field greens, local goat cheese, almonds etc., which was topped with a delicious white balsamic vinagrette and accompanied by crusty fresh bread and it was lovely. I washed it down with a glass of local Wisconsin Pinot Grigio that was fruitier than normal PG's, so a bit too fruity for my taste but still pleasant and a good price. My Mum had the Malbec and it was good. She finished the meal off with the Key Lime Pie which was huge; more like a key lime cheesecake; slightly tart but with a nice cream top, it was quite different in texture to the key lime pies we are used to in Florida but was delicious. Hot fresh coffee finished off the meal and the total was about $$60.00 for the three of us. The view of the Wisconsin river was lovely, it was a super sunny day and after the meal we drove across the bridge towards downtown Spring Green and stopped at a little park/boat ramp to take photos looking back across to the restaurant and the hills. Lovely stop. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverview Terrace Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Riverview Terrace Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Terrace Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.