We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for trail users” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   737 Avon Road, Sparta, WI 54656   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sparta
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for trail users”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We used this hotel as our starting & ending point for our bike ride segment along the Elroy-Sparta Trail & the trail Onalaska during a week long road-trip. We were allowed to leave our truck parked in the lot overnight while we rode the trail & stayed overnight at a B&B in Onalaska. Staff was super friendly & helpful, hotel met the expectations of a Country Inn & Suites but we thought the free breakfast was better than some of the other Country Inn & Suites that we've stayed at. We planned on staying only 1 night before our ride to get an early start & didn't plan on staying at the end of our 2 day ride but we were exhausted & didn't feel like driving 3 hours to our next destination. When I came to the front desk to see if there was a room available I was happy that we were able to use our Goldpoints to upgrade to the King/Jacuzzi suite at a discounted rate. We stayed midweek & enjoyed the quite hotel. We asked for the local favorite pizza place & were so pleased with the pizza suggestion that we've joked about coming back just for the hotel & pizza! (Angelini's is the pizza place.)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We are always happy to get feedback from guests who come to experience our local area and attractions. We are glad to hear hat you had a good time in Sparta and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    25
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
33
22
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homer Glen, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have had groups of 10-30 people stay here for annual trips to the Elroy-Sparta bike path. the people at the hotel have always been fantastic in all respects, and the hotel is perfectly located very close to both the Elroy-Sparta bike path and the Lacrosse-Sparta path. Breakfasts are perfect to get our group going quickly and efficiently, and we would not stay anyplace else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about or staff and hotel. We look forward to hosting your group again next summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Nice room and quiet for the four of us. Wished the air cond would just stay on all night -- the on and off was a bit disruptive for sleeping. Pool was big and hot tub nice. Breakfast room had room for plenty of guests. Nice variety of hot and continental items available. Staff was very helpful and choc chip cookie at check-in was a plus.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for your review and comments about your stay with us. We always have fresh cookies at the front desk and hope you will be back for more sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were just traveling and passing through and decided to stop since it was just off the freeway. Great pool area, good breakfast in the morning. Everything was clean. Rooms average size, nothing too huge. Staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Glad you were able to enjoy our pool and breakfast during your brief stay with us! We hope to see you in Sparta again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, WI
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We needed a place to stay for our bike trip in the am. This was very close by. We did not use the pool or evening bar. Rooms are smaller and thus the bathroom too but very adequate. We stayed in 102 which is at the furthest part of the building(which we preferred). Bed was comfortable room smelled a little musty but not really an issue. Check in and out was a breeze staff was very friendly and helpful. Hotel was over half full and was quiet. Hotel is older but upgrades and painting being done. Breakfast was very good eggs sausage fruit oatmeal juices coffee cereals breads and waffle maker this is a wonderful free breakfast. Wifi was great even that far away. Would stay again. Negatives I had two conditioners with no shampoo and plug ins are used so my curling iron can unplugged.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Especially your great comments about our delicious breakfast. We hope you will stay with us again next time you come to ride the bike trails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice hotel but the mattresses were to soft. Rooms were very small. Otherwise overall was good. Easy to find. Breakfast was pretty good.Beds seemed to be worn out in the center. desk staff was very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy O, Owner at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We will take them into consideration as we strive to make our rooms more comfortable for everyone. Please visit us again if your travels bring you back to the Sparta area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here for two night after using the Elroy-Sparta bike trail and discovering many of the Amish communities around the area. We found a quiet hotel with a great breakfast and excellent customer service! They had a roll-away bed already in room as requested upon check-in.

Upon check-in we were called and asked if the room was comfortable for our needs. I haven't experienced that in many four and five star hotels I've stayed in. I recently heard they were looking to a renovation in the near future which will make this place even better!

The room was a little tight for the five of us in the family with the roll-away bed in it and there was a beer bottle under one of the beds upon initial check-in but otherwise it was clean. The customer service from the check-in to breakfasts to check-out was exceptional. When in Sparta, look for the Country Inn and Suites.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy O, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time in Sparta and at our hotel. Please come see us again when you visit our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge
13.1 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
17.1 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 mi away
Settle Inn La Crosse
Settle Inn La Crosse
#4 of 17 in La Crosse
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
19.7 mi away
Old Towne Motel
Old Towne Motel
#1 of 1 in Westby
3.5 of 5 stars 6 reviews
22.5 mi away
Days Inn La Crosse Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta

Address: 737 Avon Road, Sparta, WI 54656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Sparta
Sparta Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.