We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rural Bed and Breakfast near Sparta, Wisconsin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Justin Trails Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sparta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Justin Trails Resort
Save
You added Justin Trails Resort to your Saves list
7452 Kathryn Avenue, Sparta, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Sparta B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rural Bed and Breakfast near Sparta, Wisconsin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Justin Trails is more than a rural bed and breakfast; it is an environment! A former dairy farm seamlessly adapted for multi use hospitality, it offers a variety of accommodations and outdoor activities for the entire family. We stayed in The Granary, a converted farm outbuilding with a whirlpool, gas fireplace and compact kitchenette, very cozy and comfortable. The country breakfast was all one could expect; the home made-granola with yogurt and fresh fruit is as good--and healthy--a breakfast as one could find anywhere. And for outdoor recreation, there is a challenging disk golf course, groomed trails over rolling fields and hills for hiking and in winter, cross-county skiing. And for the kids there are llamas and a goat to meet, dogs to walk and cats to pet as well as playground equipment and a tree house. The area is famous for spring creek trout fishing and some of the best streams are less than a half-hour's drive away, making Justin Trails ideal for fishermen combining fishing with family fun--there's plenty for mother and the kids to do on the farm while father is off fishing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return as soon and as often as possible.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    11
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
35
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

We had a few requirements for our New Year's Weekend get-a-way: a.) pets welcome b.) it had to be a cozy log cabin and c.) a B and B. Justin Trails met and, in most cases, exceeded our expectations. Not only did we stay in the coolest cabin (The Paul Bunyan) we enjoyed acres of hiking, animals and lovingly prepared breakfasts - huge shout out to their house granola. The innkeepers clearly adore their property and it shows in how they treat the guests. Highly recommend to all.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Tips/Secrets — The log cabins are preferable and bring hiking boots
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2005

Our family just returned from our second stay at Justin Trails and we loved it just as much on our second visit! The relaxed elegance of the property provided a perfect spot to unwind. On both visits we stayed in the Paul Bunyon Cabin which is an amazing, two story geninune log cabin. The beds were very comfortable and the furnishings were beautiful. Justin Trails sits on a picturesque former farm complete with rolling hills and forest. The Inn keepers, Don and Donna, create a warm and inviting atmosphere. The gourmet breakfast each morning was fantsatic.

Justin Trails is a truly great Inn! We expect to return many times in the future.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Riverside, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2005

We have just returned from the most relaxing weekend we have had in a long time. Justin Trails Country Inn was just simply a delight. From the moment you arrive you are greeted with such warmth you feel right at home. The accomodations are charming, comfortable, and most importantly very clean. You are surrounded by beautiful gardens and every view is magical. Winding through all the enchanting gardens are brick or stone pathways and around every turn there is something new and wonderful to appreciate.
We stayed in the Paul Bunyan log cabin which had 2 floors. On the first floor we had a livingroom area with fireplace. Included was cable television with more channels than we have at home!! This first floor also included a handicapped accessible bathroom, a dining area and kitchen area. Upstairs there was a king bed, loft area with a overlook to the downstairs, another bathroom, and best of all a 2 person whirlpool bath. This log cabin had front and back porches with seating and a second floor balcony with breath taking views of the hilly countryside.
In the evening guests could gather around a fire in a seating area surrounded by more beautiful gardens and massive old trees. The silence of the evening was a new experience and unlike near the city you could see more stars than you have ever seen before.
The breakfasts were delicious and Don and Donna make the meal a WONDERFUL experience with their warmth.
For all of these reasons and the fact that we were allowed to bring our dog, we are certainly looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2005

What a wonderful weekend my husband and I had.

A great B&B and the host and hostess could not have been nicer. A wonderful breakfast was served to give us the fuel needed for biking and hiking.

Our room was clean and very nice, everything we needed was included. The bed was great and we slept like babies.

Everything the web said about Justin Trails was true. We could not have picked a better place to get away and relax and just have fun.

We will go back again and will tell our friends about it as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Justin Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Justin Trails Resort

Address: 7452 Kathryn Avenue, Sparta, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for sledding, snow tubing, snowshoeing, skijoring, cross-country and skate skiing on our 200 acres of Driftless terrain. Our unique lodging includes a cottage, 3 suites in our 1920 farmhouse and 2 Scandinavian Full-Scribe log cabins. Each lodging option is unique. No two rooms are alike so each one has its own ambiance. Say I do with a destination wedding at Justin Trails Resort and create an experience that is uniquely yours by reserving the resort and spending the weekend with friends and family. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Justin Trails Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.