We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Justin Trails was wonderful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Justin Trails Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sparta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Justin Trails Resort
Save
You added Justin Trails Resort to your Saves list
7452 Kathryn Avenue, Sparta, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Sparta B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Justin Trails was wonderful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Fabulous experience, Donna & Don were such nice people - 6 of us stayed in the little chicken coop cabin - perfect! Like a hostel but better. They had a pig roast and it was so fun. A-1 breakfast & even wood for their guests to make a bonfire. Home made granola and the best bacon in Wisconsin. Wonderfully dog-friendly! And such a friendly helpful staff - even made a few new friends. We will definitely go back - this resort is on 200 acres I believe and is only about 6 miles from the Elroy - Sparta trail. Next time we will check out the frisbee golf or possibly cross country skiing. We really enjoyed ourselves, thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    10
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
12
34
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is our second stay at the B&B and we were again pleased! Both Don & Donna are gracious hosts willing to make your stay a memorable one! Nice to have hosts that are there when you need them and always willing to give you your space. The breakfasts are tasty and always send you away well fed! What makes this B&B is the ammount of outside activities, the trails, and the country setting. The men in my family enjoy the outdoors, and while they hiked and biked I spent time relaxing in the fresh country air! ( Bad Knee ) We all rented canoes and kayaks and spent an afternoon floating down the Kickapoo. I would rate this Inn a 5 star rating for the wonderful hosts, breakfasts, choice of cabins or rooms in the main house, and clean rooms. We've had the pleasure of staying at many other B&B's and if you want all the extras then you would be paying $300.00 per night. Again very pleased!

Room Tip: My adult boys stayed in the cottage and were happy with their rooms and kitchenette services. Even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

The land at Justin Trails is just beautiful, better than we anticipated, better than the pictures. walking the disc golf trail was quite a workout. The wedding we attended was perfection on the train and in the barn. The breakfast was above and beyond - local fresh fruit, lots of bacon, homemade muffins, french toast, quiche, and excellent coffee. Don and Donn were as nice as can be. That being said, I was really let down by the the accommodations. its pretty expensive for the area at $175 a night. I expected more for the money. We stayed in the Lorna Suite. It was a very odd lay out, if pretty well appointed. There was no wi-fi in the room - any of the rooms - and air conditioning did not flow through the room that well. The televisions was odd and difficult to use with about 6 remote controls. We were only there for two nights and advised that we did not need a room cleaning, but wanted fresh towels. the towels that never came.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waupun, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband and I biked the Elroy-Sparta trails and stayed at this bed and breakfast. It was very quiet and quaint. If you want a rural Wisconsin experience this is the place to stay. We booked the Garden Suite and it was very comfortable. We requested our breakfast to be served in our enclosed porch. It was very delicious!!! Eggs, bacon, fresh strawberries, granola, yogurt and muffins. The grounds are well kept and they are always making improvements.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Justin Trails was a perfect spot for a weekend get away. Our time was filled with skiing, tubing and snow shoeing. I'm gluten free and that was no problem for Donna. I felt very cared for and didn't feel like I was a bother. Everything was clean and ready for us. We also really appreciated the selection of games, books and movies in the lodge. We highly recommend Justin Trails and the hospitality of Don and Donna!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Both Don & Donna made our stay most enjoyable! Accommadations were comfortable! Nice to have a choice of either log cabin or main house lodging! Rooms are clean and breakfasts tasty! Great retreat for families or couples! Wide range of activties for summer or winter months. Price is very reasonable! Been to B&B's before, & if you expect all the extras and modern luxuries then you would be spending $200-$250 a night. Loved the hot tubs for their roominess in the suites. Tastefully decorated! Would rate this B&B a 4.5 I like all the extras and my husband likes the outdoor experience.

Room Tip: I like the suites in the main house, but my husband would rather be in a log cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband & I had fun weekend at Justin Trails recently. This was our first stay & found our room well decorated, comfortable sleep number bed, big bathroom, new TV & many other amenities to make our stay especially pleasant. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious with granola, eggs, thick cut bacon, & my favorite tea! We didn't eat again till dinner. Would definitely like to return!
Also got lots of excerise on snow shoes. Trails for skiing & tubing were great, too

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Justin Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Justin Trails Resort

Address: 7452 Kathryn Avenue, Sparta, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us for sledding, snow tubing, snowshoeing, skijoring, cross-country and skate skiing on our 200 acres of Driftless terrain. Our unique lodging includes a cottage, 3 suites in our 1920 farmhouse and 2 Scandinavian Full-Scribe log cabins. Each lodging option is unique. No two rooms are alike so each one has its own ambiance. Say I do with a destination wedding at Justin Trails Resort and create an experience that is uniquely yours by reserving the resort and spending the weekend with friends and family. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Justin Trails Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.