We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Justin Trails Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Justin Trails Resort to your Saves list
Justin Trails Resort
7452 Kathryn Avenue, Sparta, WI 54656   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Sparta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waupun, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My husband and I biked the Elroy-Sparta trails and stayed at this bed and breakfast. It was very quiet and quaint. If you want a rural Wisconsin experience this is the place to stay. We booked the Garden Suite and it was very comfortable. We requested our breakfast to be served in our enclosed porch. It was very delicious!!! Eggs, bacon, fresh strawberries, granola, yogurt and muffins. The grounds are well kept and they are always making improvements.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thank you for your generous comments! The Garden Suite porch with east exposure is a warm sunny place for a "garden" breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    11
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
22
39
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Justin Trails was a perfect spot for a weekend get away. Our time was filled with skiing, tubing and snow shoeing. I'm gluten free and that was no problem for Donna. I felt very cared for and didn't feel like I was a bother. Everything was clean and ready for us. We also really appreciated the selection of games, books and movies in the lodge. We highly recommend Justin Trails and the hospitality of Don and Donna!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Thanks for the sweet review. Caring for special diets is easy as we eat gluten and dairy free, but have muffins and scones baked with regular flour as well. Bacon served on the side is a hit with most guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Both Don & Donna made our stay most enjoyable! Accommadations were comfortable! Nice to have a choice of either log cabin or main house lodging! Rooms are clean and breakfasts tasty! Great retreat for families or couples! Wide range of activties for summer or winter months. Price is very reasonable! Been to B&B's before, & if you expect all the extras and modern luxuries then you would be spending $200-$250 a night. Loved the hot tubs for their roominess in the suites. Tastefully decorated! Would rate this B&B a 4.5 I like all the extras and my husband likes the outdoor experience.

Room Tip: I like the suites in the main house, but my husband would rather be in a log cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
I'm happy to know that you had a great time enjoying the outdoors and the lodging. Time spent outdoors is a great way to clear the head and see life in a new perspective! Don & I look forward to your return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband & I had fun weekend at Justin Trails recently. This was our first stay & found our room well decorated, comfortable sleep number bed, big bathroom, new TV & many other amenities to make our stay especially pleasant. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious with granola, eggs, thick cut bacon, & my favorite tea! We didn't eat again till dinner. Would definitely like to return!
Also got lots of excerise on snow shoes. Trails for skiing & tubing were great, too

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
Don & I appreciate your positive comments. We look forward to your return visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We just went snowshoeing at this resort and it was a blast! They offered snowshoeing, cross country skiing, and tubing. The trails were well maintained, prices were very reasonable, and the views were lovely. I will be bringing the kids back for tubing and try talking my husband into skiing! Loved it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
I will share your positive comments with my husband, Don Justin, who a 30 year veteran of trail grooming here at Justin Trails Resort. We look forward to your return visits. I provide ski lessons
for guests new to the sport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We had a wonderful one-night getaway to Justin Trails. We stayed in the Little House on the Prairie cabin. The owners were out-of-state, but we were greeted warmly by the woman keeping the inn during their absence. We found the cabin to be a good size for the two of us.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfast is very good. The selection of skiing and snowshoeing gear available for use by guests exceeded our expectations. The highlight of our time at the lodge was our snowshoe trek to "the rock". The trail was very well-marked, perfect level of difficulty, and offered spectacular views. The grounds are very well maintained; it was obvious to us that a great deal of time and energy is invested into this resort.

Our only regret is that we had to come back after one night. We look forward to returning during other seasons, and bringing our sons in upcoming winters.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna J, Owner at Justin Trails Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2015
It gives Don and me great pleasure to share our property with its great views with guests. This has been a labor of love to convert a dairy farm to a resort to allow us to continue to live on this beautiful third generation family property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A month ago, in December, we rented Justin's Trails for a WEDDING weekend. We rented the B&B rooms and cabins for the wedding party and immediate families. We also rented the beautiful nostalgic Barn and held the wedding and reception in it. We held the wedding in the upstairs loft. And the reception/dance in the heated lower level of the barn. With some decorating with lighting and 5 country chandeliers (from eventdecordirect.com) plus with the help from superb local venues (table/chair rental, caterer, florist - all delivered!... It turned out to be a beautiful spectacular wedding for 100-130 people. It was exactly what the couple wanted. And the owners of Justin's Trails Resort - were over-the-top accommodative-very nice people. What made it extra memorable was that it was a group effort. And it gave the 2 families a chance to decorate and get to know one another, the day before the wedding. And the nostalgic atmosphere of The Justin Trails Barn - offered a welcoming warm feeling - people had a great time together! Again, thank you - Donna, Don, and Dawn for all your help. It couldn't have gone better. Thank you!

Room Tip: Charming country farm - Bed & Breakfast in a beautiful renovated farm house plus log cabins larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sparta
7.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sparta Trail Lodge
5.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sparta
12.2 mi away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites West Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Cranberry Country Lodge
17.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - La Crosse
20.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Tomah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Justin Trails Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Justin Trails Resort

Address: 7452 Kathryn Avenue, Sparta, WI 54656
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sparta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Sparta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Destination wedding resort with Elegant Barn wedding venue seats 200 guests. Say I do with a destination wedding at Justin Trails Resort and create an experience that is uniquely yours by reserving the resort and spending the weekend with friends and family. Our unique lodging includes a cottage, 3 suites in our 1920 foursquare and 2 Scandinavian Full-Scribe log cabins. Each lodging option is unique. No two rooms are alike so each one has its own ambiance. Challenge yourself on either or both of the 18 basket disc golf courses on our 200 acres of Driftless Southwest Wisconsin hill and valley terrain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Justin Trails Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Justin Trails Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.