We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Wilderness Luxury with a Touch of Adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Lonesome Hollow

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldiers Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Lonesome Hollow
Save Saved
You added Inn at Lonesome Hollow to your Saves list
15415 Vance Road, Soldiers Grove, WI 54655   |  
Hotel amenities
Cleveland, OH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful Wilderness Luxury with a Touch of Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Get away from it all with a super gourmet breakfast served by friendly hosts Pete and Nora surrounded by natural landscapes after stargazing in awesomely dark skies the night before. Hint: Don't skip the scones!

I stayed here twice. In late April was when I saw 4 shooting stars ... I'm talking huge ones. That alone made the entire trip worthwhile. If you're a birdwatcher, you'd also really appreciate being here during spring migration, especially if you're into warblers. This is where they hang out. You can observe all kinds of birds, including warblers, right on the property, in the woods lining the road up to the house.

In late June, sunny days and stormy nights made for some excellent landscape photography conditions in the Driftless region of Wisconsin. And Pete and Nora are great with helping plan the best places for you to go for outings to explore the area during the day, based on your personal interests.

All the little towns nearby are really cool to visit with friendly people and nice, down-home restaurants. The city of Viroqua is a haven for artists and a well-stocked food co-op if you're looking for specialty items. I was happy to see the food co-op had my favorite organic apple cider vinegar, since I had forgotten to bring a bottle on the springtime trip.

If I had the opportunity to return in the fall, I would ... Those autumn leaves are gonna be gorgeous!

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
75
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a beautiful site! We stayed in a suite away from the main house and it was incredibly serene and private. There wasn't a house to be seen from our location. I'm thinking about this B&B for our next family reunion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portage wi
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you're looking for a respite, you might want to put this one on your list. Lonesome Hollow has a nice choice of accommodations - from your own cabin w/ screened in porch and grill to the beautifully decorated and soothing bedrooms in the main house that is the B&B to the two bedroom suites at the end of the road that open to a gorgeous lush valley. Any of them will provide you with a welcoming feel and a good launching place to experience the rest of the Kickapoo Valley and Fruit Farm Hill. You'll be glad you made the time for this soothing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Nestled in the unexpected hills and valleys of SW Wisconsin Lonesome Hollow is a special place to visit. Pete and Nora have created a beautiful and quiet respite from busy urban and noisy lakefront life. We stayed in the Pine Haven room that is very spacious, comfortable, and immaculately clean. It has a large hot tub, gas fireplace, and a stereo CD player to help set an intimate or relaxing mood. In the morning the breakfast of berry french toast, strawberry soup, real maple syrup, and local fresh breakfast sausage was delightful. Coffee and tea are available all day, and there is a community area with a TV, better to be outside enjoying the view, and magazines and books to read.

One of the things we liked best were their commitment to being green, recycling, and keeping things eco-friendly even though Lonesome Hollow is a luxurious place to stay.

We will go back, and encourage you to take the backroads to find it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights in May, 2013 at The Inn at Lonesome Hollow. I loved this place the moment I stepped out of the car - in the dark - inhaled the sweet fragrance of the springtime valley and heard nothing but the sounds of frogs! Our room was spacious, immaculate, and beautifully decorated. Leaving a life of hectic stress behind, we instantly sank into a weekend of therapeutic peace. We met the next morning with a gasp, as the online pictures did not prepare us for the surprising beauty of the Hollow in the daylight! Our bed was comfortable, but even more so the Amish glider, and we enjoyed both the hot tub and fireplace during our stay. Pete and Nora were gracious hosts, giving us helpful suggestions about area activities, and serving the most sumptuous breakfasts! The kitchenette area provided for guests during the day was an unexpected bonus. Everything about The Inn speaks of the highest quality in accommodations (love those sheets!), offered in a setting of quiet country beauty. We are anxious to return and would enthusiastically recommend it to others - (as long as you're not trying to book at the same time we are!)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is by now unfair. Over these years we have returned to Lonesome Hollow, we have befriended the owners and they us. They know we want that ultra-Upper Homestead Suite over Columbus Day weekend. They know we're likely to make too much noise for our neighbors. But Pete and Nora also know there are hardly any faces we're happier to see all year than theirs. This has gotten way beyond the B&B business, and that's a testament to them, a host and hostess whose hearts are as lovely and welcoming as the land they share with guests of Lonesome Hollow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was the most beautiful, serene B&B we have ever stayed in. It's spacious, emaculately clean,sitting in a pictureous valley. The inn keepers Nora & Pete were amazing hosts. We had the pleasure of spending 2 nights. The breakfasts were served with great style. We hated to leave. I would highly reccomend this B & B.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room. They are all beautiful, peacful, with outstanding views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn at Lonesome Hollow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Lonesome Hollow

Address: 15415 Vance Road, Soldiers Grove, WI 54655
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Soldiers Grove
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Soldiers Grove
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is situated on 160 rural acres in Soldiers Grove, a sleepy village located on the Kickapoo River in southwest Wisconsin. The Inn is about a one hour south of La Crosse, Wisconsin and 35 minutes northeast of Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin. Located in the main inn are three deluxe bedrooms, each with private baths. The Homestead Suites features four guest rooms or can be rented as an entire facility. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Lonesome Hollow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.