We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't compare...just enjoy!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roth House Bed and Breakfast

The Roth House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Soldiers Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Roth House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Roth House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
102 Pine Street, Soldiers Grove, WI 54655   |  
Hotel amenities
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Don't compare...just enjoy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Everything is relative. We often (yearly) travel to this section of Wisconsin, from Iowa, for the beautiful countryside. We have stayed at several places over the years and I can say the choices are very limited. I have only stayed at one other B&B (MI) and it was far nicer for the money. So I'm not a huge fan of the B&B world ...paying to stay in a museum/ antique shop...but the motels in this section of the country remind of the Bates Motel in Psycho...so B&B's are a good option.
Cons:
Most Best Westerns are far more comfortable for the money. Taking showers standing in an old bathtub with a curtain was quaint but not comfortable. No mirror over the sink (just a nice window)...the mirror was at my back while I was shaving...quaint...but?. No TV, WiFi, frig, microwave...or any motel "stuff". Just stuff from another time.
Pros:
No motel "stuff". Charming setting. Unbelievably accommodating hosts in Holly and Carol. They really went out of their way to make you feel at home. They provided wood for a backyard fire pit and s'mores (cut your own roasting stick from their willow tree)....and even delivered wings at the request of one of our friends...WOW. We had a small group (5 couples) and really enjoyed sitting around the fire visiting
Two of the couples stayed up the road (seemed like a half a mile...ish) at the sister Inn called the Old Oak Inn. We ate some outstanding breakfast meals there that were included in the price. We also had a good dinner there and they have a full bar. Our friends, that stayed there, shared the bathrooms. The Roth House gives you your own bathroom.
Bottom line:
We will probably go back for the great hosts and food...and limited options in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
10
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Garrettsville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our stay at the inn was very relaxing and the breakfasts were awesome. It was located close to Viroqua where my daughter and grandson live. Our room was very clean and cozy. My daughter told me about this B&B and I am glad she did. Enjoyed sitting on the big porch in the morning and watching the birds.

Room Tip: the only drawback is no cell service in this area. Internet was slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our stay at the Roth House was one we won't soon forget. From the moment we walked in the front door we felt welcomed and at home. We stayed in the Agnes Moorehead suite and enjoyed cuddling on the sofa in front of the fireplace. After a good night sleep I woke up hungry and ready for breakfast. Hollis & Carol Roth served a scrumptious breakfast of stuffed french toast and sausage. Delicious food and awesome Innkeepers make a delightful pairing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Would definitely recommend The Roth House! Carol, Hollis, and Holly were perfect hosts! The breakfasts were unbelievably good. Carol's stuffed French toast was to die for! The Atley Peterson suite had such a cozy feel to it, the tub was super relaxing! The ambiance in the house was quiet and peaceful, and the wine and cheese at night was awesome!! Close to hikes and good sightseeing. We've been to many B&B's and this is on the top of our list as favorite!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here with a colleague in February - one word - FANTASTIC. The bed in the Atley Peterson suite was beyond comfortable and the bathtub was top of the line. Carol and Hollis are two of my favorite people ever and great cooks to boot. I will definitely bring my hubby here for a weekend get-a-way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were looking for a nice quiet place to relax and happened upon The Roth House online. It looked great from the website so I booked 2 nights. When we got there we found it was exactly what we were looking for. Carol and Hollis are warm and welcoming hosts. Our stay exceeded all expectations. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorhead, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We had a splendid time at the B&B, and visiting with the owners, Carol and Hollis, was especially nice. The queen size bed in the Agnes Moorehead suite is quite comfortable and we slept very well. It's a very quiet, restful place to stay. The rooms are charming and filled with antiques. The planned addition of a writing desk in the suite will be a nice benefit for those with laptops.

The rooms and bathroom are very clean and freshened daily. That was nice.

The breakfasts were served individually, and were very tasty. The owners like to cook, and ARE good cooks; a happy combination. The baked eggs were delicious, and the fruit soup was maybe the most refreshing thing I've had for breakfast in ages. Each morning began with a full breakfast, and each evening included wine and cheese.

We enjoyed our stay there and will consider lodging there again the next time we're in that area. For the uniquness of the place, the breakfasts, the comfortable rest, and the cozy, relaxed atmosphere, it is well worth the reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Go for the suite - the second, smaller room is quite a handy addition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roth House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roth House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 102 Pine Street, Soldiers Grove, WI 54655
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Soldiers Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Soldiers Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roth House Bed and Breakfast provides a unique stay in a grand victorian. Innkeepers are waiting to make your stay a memorable one. Enjoy all the charm of times gone by with all the modern conveniences of today. Located in the driftless area of the state that provides many opportunities for biking, hiking, canoeing, bird watching, exploring, antiqueing....or a great escape to just enjoy the peace and quiet. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roth House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.