We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Swedish Meatballs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik

Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik
10698 N Bay Shore Drive, Sister Bay, WI 54234
(920) 854-2626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 25 restaurants in Sister Bay
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Description: change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Love the Swedish Meatballs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went with friends on a beautiful Fri morning. Had to wait 30 min to be seated but that beat their estimation of 45. Everyone enjoyed their meal except my friend, who has the roast beef hash. Her complaint..mostly burnt. The waiter offered to bring another entree but she declined. He comped her meal. The rest of us had a common denominator and that was the Swedish meatballs. Very tasty and filling.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    235
    169
    72
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved the Swedish Pancakes! And, of course, the goats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were told by everyone to go to Al Johnson's to see the goats. After looking at their menu online I decided it would be a destination point for us during our trip. And, am glad I did. The goats were a lot of fun to watch and between them and the store helped make our wait time seem short. I LOVED the Swedish pancakes. The lingonberry sauce is terrific and I wish I had grabbed some to take home. My husband ordered the Swedish meatballs and was equally as impressed with them. Prices were pretty on par with any other casual restaurant. Was a great stop.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, wi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I go solely for the Swedish pancakes, and keep coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I don't care about the goats on the roof or the Swedish trinkets or the servers all wearing Swedish attire; I go solely for their Swedish pancakes with lingonberries and a good cup of coffee and I keep coming back year after year. It is super popular so be prepared to wait. It is so popular that they could easily charge more or add on another dining room to pack more people in. But they don't. They keep doing what they do well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“More than just goats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Good fried walleye, yum. Fries good too that come with the basket. They bring you a big basket of bread and crackers and the lingonberry jam (described as a cross between cranberries and currants) and all quite tasty. Warm atmosphere, extensive gift shop and culturally worth a browse. Reasonable prices. Friendly wait staff. Food came out fast. We very much enjoyed, would go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Unique place, good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stopped here while touring Door County for the fall colors. Although the décor (and music) hasn't changed for decades, they still have good food and friendly staff.

We arrived before 5:00 PM so we had no problem being seated in the main dining room with a good view. Waitperson was very nice (tried not to make any judgments by the tattoos on her arms), but she was very friendly, attentive and answered our questions about the menu. My wife ordered a salad while I opted for the tomato basil soup. Her salad was so-so, and my soup was lukewarm, but the bread, ligionberry (sp?) preserves and assortment of crackers to spread them on was very tasty. Wife ordered a filet steak while I had 2 pork chops. Main course was excellent, done to order and very good flavor. No room for dessert and the price was reasonable.

If you're a first timer to Door County, at least stop by and take in the view of the goats grazing on the sod roof of the restaurant. If you've eaten there before, it really hasn't changed in the last 30+ years.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 

Been to Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.