We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swedish Pancakes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik

Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik
10698 N Bay Shore Drive, Sister Bay, WI 54234
(920) 854-2626
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 26 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Description: change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit
Gurnee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Swedish Pancakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Have been to All Johnson's many times, and we're never disappointed. We had breakfast and as always the pancakes were excellent. This time we added bacon to our order and it was crispy, just the way we like it. Oh yes, the goats were on the roof. In fact we just call the restaurant, Goats on The Roof.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    229
    88
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Everyone in our party of 5 had something different. The cream of broccoli soup was delicious as was the fish and chips. The scandinavian bread plate w/lingonberry jam was eaten w/gusto. Jam was very good. They have a gift shop that is fun to browse, but prices were way too high there. Lunch averaged about $20 per couple w/o drinks.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“SUPER fast service- great breakfasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Every time we go, we can't believe how fast the food comes after you order. Great food, great coffee, great service. You can't go wrong. Love the lingonberries they serve along w/breakfast toast.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely evening at Al Johnson's. The Swedish meatball dinner was great, the service was superb. Beautiful gift shop to enjoy after you dine. And, as others have mentioned, you won't want to miss the goats on the roof.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful everything! Nice employees, outstanding family, delicious food! Really cute stuff in the gift shop too. Ate here everyday while we were on vacation. Gotta try the Swedish pancakes, they serve breakfast all day.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 
Fish Creek, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Johnson's Swedish Restaurant & Butik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.