We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Open Hearth Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Open Hearth Lodge to your Saves list
Open Hearth Lodge
2669 S. Bay Shore Drive (Hwy. 42), Sister Bay, WI 54234   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Sister Bay
Corydon, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is a quiet town and the Open Heath is very friendly, clean and attractive. The room was big and had plenty of storage space. Hosts were friendly and helpful. One complaint--a family member called from California and asked to ring our room. We were not in and no one took a message to let us know. The desk is not usually manned and you need to ring a bell to get someone. We were glad there was not an emergency! Beds were good and the continental breakfast was filling and good. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    24
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
31
24
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Open Hearth Lodge for 2 nights with our son, daughter-in-law, 2 month old grandchild and a dog. The rooms are large and IMMACULATE. The location is good, lovely grounds, nice continental breakfast, pool, whirlpool and friendly staff. We plan to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My sister and I went on a girl's weekend to see some lighthouses. We made no reservations. It was around 8:30P when we decided to stop for the evening. This location was advertised in a book we picked up. It appears they have recently remodeled. The room was nicely decorated with a lodge feel and the room was large. It has a huge backyard with a swing if you are traveling with children. It has an indoor pool and hot tub. Over all this was a very comfortable and pleasant hotel to stay at and I would stay here again. They do have a free breakfast but not until 7:30A and we had to leave prior to that to catch the Washington Island Ferry. The owner did give me an english muffin and they had coffee in the rooms. This is a good location if you are planning on taking the early ferry to Washington Island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This place has everything going well for it. Big rooms, a pool, and even a backyard with a firepit and patio. The price was right and we enjoyed our stay very much.

The only reason I ranked it down 1 point is because we kept getting gruff unfriendly service from the woman who worked the desk. Everything seemed like an inconvenience to her.

And breakfast is a little miniscule, so plan on either stocking up or eating out.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sister Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Love this place and can't wait to come back and stay again! It has a perfect location in Sister Bay located just a minute or two right down the road, so you don't have to deal with the big city! Looks alot nicer than what the pictures describe it as. Nice pool (that's not cold) and a very nice whirlpool in an indoor gazebo type buliding. The lobby offers board games and a fire place for the cold winters. They also offer a great selection of menus from surronding restaurants. The rooms themselves are nice and cozy with comfy beds. We had no problems what so ever with our room! Check-in and check-out were really easy, no hassles! The outside of the place is amazing! Great for a big family because they have a huge backyard and a nice little playground for the kids. Theres also a nice fire pit and a grill for everyone to use. We also discovered a short walk way they made through the brush in the way back of the yard. Nice little nature walk :) Definelty reccomend this place to anyone on a budget with great amenities!

Room Tip: If you want the basic room, just take the lodge room with two beds. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed here in Spring 2012 and it was great. It was a little before tourist season started so not everything was open, but the staff at Open Hearth Lodge knew what was open and suggested amazing places to eat.

Room Tip: 2nd floor at the top of the stairs was great. It's a king whirlpool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed at the Open Hearth for several days the week after Christmas. We picked this location because it was central (close to Penisula State Park, downtown Fish Creek, Sister Bay, etc) and the indoor swimming pool. The hotel is very "Door County" meaning North Woods decor, wonderful friendly staff, flavored coffees available, and tasty baked goods in the morning. We stayed in their suite (only $109/night being off season) which was outstanding. It had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a nice sitting area with couch and recliner, electric fireplace, three TVs, one DVD player in the sitting area, wireless throughout, kitchenette/small table with full refrigerator, sink, plates/silverware, coffee maker, hot plate (with a saucepan & skillet), and microwave. One of the bathrooms had a two person whirlpool tub. I did see one of the king rooms (which were going for $69/night) and it looked very nice also...bed, refrig, microwave (I think) and a comfy couch. The grounds were beautiful, the indoor pool/ whirlpool was a nice touch being that it was cold outside, and nice little walking trail. I saw a swingset in the back and lots of room if the kids needed to run. We would definitely come back again!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Open Hearth Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Hearth Lodge

Address: 2669 S. Bay Shore Drive (Hwy. 42), Sister Bay, WI 54234
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge is in a meadow on 6+acres at the Welcome to Sister Bay sign. Clean, friendly, well appointed, we offer fine accommodations at a reasonable cost, year round... Located minutes from beaches, state parks, biking, hiking, golf as well as the art, music and theater of Door County. Visit orchards, farm markets, wineries, or hang out at the pool or near the fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Open Hearth Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Hearth Hotel Sister Bay
Open Hearth Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open Hearth Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.