We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nordic Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nordic Lodge to your Saves list
Nordic Lodge
2721 Nordic Drive, Sister Bay, WI 54234   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sister Bay
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed at Nordic Lodge many times over the last few years. Our last stay was in September of 2011. We are going to be back in Door County next month and are trying to decide where to stay. Our last stay at Nordic was not as good as the ones before. The rooms we had were very clean as always but it was really hard to use the fridge, the door got stuck on the carpet so you had to push the fridge up in order to open the door. It would be nice to be up on a stand or something. Also it would be nice to have a small microwave in your room so you don't have to run down to the lobby, many times we had food left over after eating out and it would have been nice to warm it right there in the room. we have been staying in differant places the last few trips, we stay for 4 days 2 times a year. We have found many nice places with kitchenettes in the room and many with microwaves and fridges for the same price or less. All and all Nordic Lodge is still a very nice place to stay, I guess it depends on what you want in your room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We have stayed many places in Door County and chose this one based on ratings from Trip Advisor. It is VERY clean and convenient in that you never feel too far away from anything. I must say the "quiet" reviews are a fact, only if you are on the side away from the main road. And the quiet-side is actually directly on the parking lot, but it really is quiet. The continental breakfast is fresh, complete and tasty - certainly sufficient until you get moving for the day and ready to try the miles and miles of good restaurants!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway and on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordic825, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank You for your kind comments. We will hopefully see you in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This is a little bit out of "town", but it's convenient too. Plenty of parking when we were there. Rooms are tidy, homey and functional. Not a lot of outlets so if you are traveling with people who want to plug in laptops, phones, etc you may want to bring your own power strip. Mini fridge is handy.
Continental breakfast is fruit, yogurt, granola bars, and pastries, w/coffee and juice. Does the job of breaking the fast so you can go out later for a big ol breakfast at a restaurant and survive the wait in line. :-)
Beds were comfy, drapes kept the room dark, and the quiet atmosphere led to us sleeping later than we'd planned, but that was ok-it was vacation!
Pool and hot tub area are very clean and pleasant.
Individual balconies/patios are a nice touch-great for eating the continental breakfast or an afternoon beer between activities.
Large grassy lot next door made for great outdoor seating and really impressive stargazing, too-we could easily see the milky way and saw many shooting stars. Love that!
Office staff was friendly, too. They made suggestions of things to do in case we were lacking in ideas. We've stayed there before and on our drive we commented that we wondered if the engaging young man from our previous trip would be there again, and he was-a pleasant surprise. (boy, do I feel old saying that!!) Also ran into a guy who seemed like a maintenance guy and he was cheerful and welcoming as well. The maids we encountered seemed a bit young and chatty but they obviously do their job well, so they certainly are entitled to have fun at work!
If there is any one thing I find a bit odd is the bike rack that overlaps/shares the handicapped parking space. I am not sure it's the best place for the rack-but it's nice to have one (and a handicapped space).
Yep, we'll be back-Door County and the Nordic Lodge always leave us wanting more.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nordic825, Manager at Nordic Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2011
Thank You for all your wonderful comments. Glad to hear positive feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

From the registration process to check out, the Nordic Lodge was very professional and efficient. The lodge is located in a location where it does not pick up a lot of noise from the road. Room was very clean and quiet and we liked the park-like setting behind the lodge. Lodge staff was helpful in recommending places to eat and things to do.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We stayed here the weekend of July 15 and enjoyed the lodge very much. Loved the Balcony outside our room. Enjoyed enjoying the peace and quiet out in the lawn chairs, Also enjoyed sitting on the Sun Deck. We will be recommending Nordic Lodge and Luke was very nice showing us around the lodge Thanks Luke
The Hermans

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Very clean, charming place with extremely nice owners / managers. Located in a very quiet stretch of coastline on a hill overlooking the water, but convenient to everything. Actually it's quite romantic. The room was immaculate and the beds comfortable. Best of all was the price... very reasonable considering how nice the place is. I highly recommend this place and feel it's quite a find.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milawukee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

We were recently at the Nordic Lodge in Sister Bay and had a wonderful time. We stayed in the suite - very nice with complete kitchen, separate bedroom with king size bed and lovely living area complete with fireplace. The staff was quite helpful and friendly and the breakfast which includes fruit, juices, muffins, yogurt and coffees is better than most places. I would highly recommend the Nordic Lodge which is centrally located in Sister Bay and within a short drive to many of Door County's attractions.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nordic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nordic Lodge

Address: 2721 Nordic Drive, Sister Bay, WI 54234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nordic Lodge is located in a quiet wooded setting between Ephraim and Sister Bay in Door County, Wisconsin. Nordic presents an ambiance of peaceful isolated luxury, yet is right at the heart of Door County's shopping and recreation area. At Nordic Lodge, you are just a brief walk from the crystal clear waters of Pebble Beach and a short jaunt from Bay Ridge Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Nordic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nordic Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nordic Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.