We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and peaceful setting with one of the best views in the area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Country House Resort to your Saves list
Country House Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2468 Sunnyside Road, Sister Bay, WI 54234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Best Rate Guarantee
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Sister Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
“Relaxing and peaceful setting with one of the best views in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

This is our third visit here. The others were more "in season". The service has always been very good, the staff friendly and accommodating without being intrusive, The view of the bay is great and the area is mostly wooded around the grounds which are quite beautiful. The feeling one gets when one drives onto the grounds is that of getting away from the hustle and bustle of the area, even though the "action" is only a couple blocks away.

The standard amenities are present including free wi-fi in the rooms and computer/ printer in the lobby. They furnish a basic breakfast free of charge although there is no restaurant on the grounds. The rooms are fairly basic, but comfortable. There are suites available that we haven't yet stayed in and can't speak to, The rooms we have stayed in have in- room DVD players and a small refrigerator as well as cable TV. The price is consistent with other places in the area although we haven't found another place where the view is as good.

If you are looking for a place with a lot of activities and on site entertainment, this isn't the place for you. All of that is available within a few blocks of the Country House. The main charm of the Country House lies in its peaceful, tranquil surroundings where you can go for walks, enjoy the view, or just relax by the pool. If you want something more exciting, it is just a few blocks away.

We highly recommend it and plan to continue to come.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    66
    26
    8
    4
See reviews for
23
173
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

Postive: Incrediable location, tremendous view, secluded, great breakfest, private and romantic....Only negative : Out dated TVs but appreciated the DVD/VHS option

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

This was a wonderful place to stay. We enjoyed everything. Nice rooms Great Breakfast.. Great outdoor activities on the Bay.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago il
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Enjoyed our stay, staff is friendly and polite, check in is easy, rooms are clean and comfy, grounds are well maintained, great continental european breakfast included, coffee served all day and freshly baked cookies in the afternoon. Nice path to the bay below, with a pier and seating for fishing or watching a great sunset, great location to everthing, staff very helpful with suggestions, for dinners and activities around, would not hesitate to return, was here 16 years ago, and everything is really kept up and not run down as some other places.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

This was our second stay at the Country House Resort and our last. We requested to check out a day early because of a problem with our house and water damage. They offered us a gift certificate for the remaining day which I told them would not work for us because we lived 350 miles away during part of the year and in Florida the other part and did not think we would be able to use the gift certificate before it expired. We were truly upset and had hoped for more understanding on their part.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

I totally enjoy the beautiful view. This is also a quite place to stay even on one of the busiest days in Door Co.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

My husband and I have stayed at the Country House Resort many times over the Memorial Day holiday. It's always a pleasure to stay there. The pool, hot tub and patio area are inviting. The flowers, fountains and the grounds are well maintained and add to the peacefulness of our stay. There's a tennis court on the grounds as well. My husband looks forward to breakfast--particularly the biscuits& gravy. It's a great location for visiting the rest of Door County!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Resort

Address: 2468 Sunnyside Road, Sister Bay, WI 54234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sister Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Country House Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award winner - Enjoy a quiet, relaxing getaway at an elegant, adult, wooded waterfront retreat. Close to everything, yet away from it all. 46 rooms and suites, most with private balcony overlooking the rolling bluff, bay, fountains and gardens. Many with 2-person whirlpool, 2-person body spray shower and fireplace. Complimentary bikes, rowboats, tennis and an in-season European style buffet breakfast. Amenities include heated outdoor pool, whirlpool, sun deck, fishing dock and shoreline nature trail. Dogs accommodated is designated "dog friendly" rooms & suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Country House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country House Hotel Sister Bay
Country Hotel Sister Bay
Country House Resort Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.