We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You couldn't do better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sister Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Church Hill Inn
425 Gateway Drive, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9450   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Sister Bay B&B and Inns
Denison, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“You couldn't do better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I just got back from 3 nights at the Church Hill Inn and can't wait to recommend it to anyone who is going to Sister Bay, WI. We had our annual "old soldiers" reunion there and NOBODY had any complaints at all. The staff was marvelous, the rooms impeccable, the location perfect and the free breakfast was both varied and very tasty. It is among the most comfortable and friendly hotels I've ever stayed at and I've stayed in a lot of them.

The hotel is close to everything in Sister Bay and has a group of small shops and a grocery store right out the back door, including a pie shop with a cream cake which is to die for. There's sitting benches on all the veranda's, a gazebo in the back and a spacious front porch. And, the honor bar is right inside. The whole place is decorated in an English motif which fits perfectly with the owner, Mike, who is British and the hardest working hotelier I've ever known. Got a problem? See Mike and it's done.

If you're planning a trip to Door County, WI, put the Church Hill on your list.

No, I'm not paid to say this and didn't get any kind of "break" on the room prices, which were quite reasonable. I just loved the place and so did all my friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    11
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

This was one of the best places I have ever stayed. Each room is uniquely decorated. I couldn't decide if I wanted to enjoy the room or one of many sitting areas. Everything was so comfortable and clean. Breakfast was wonderful. I had a morning that I had to leave early and Mike (the owner) put muffins and fruit in the room fridge to take with me. How great was that!!!! The whole inn is a gem!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful weekend getaway at the Church Hill Inn in Sister Bay. This is our second stay and while the first stay was great, they added a massage room downstairs. We tried one of the packages and both got a massage, it was truly heaven. The Spa as they called it still was being refined (some trim and paint still needed) but the owner assured us it would be done in a week or two. A great addition to an already great Inn.

Room Tip: The website is pretty good at describing the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011 via mobile

We have stayed at Church Hill for the last few years and will continue to come back. Rooms are attractively decorated and clean. The sitting areas are relaxing with a fireplace, comfortable chairs and classical music. Breakfasts are delicious with homemade bakery and breakfast buffet entrees that vary from day to day. Charming eating area as well. Wendy and Mike are great hosts. Heidi at the front desk is a favorite too.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Maybe it was the charm of our 1st trip to Door County, but we loved our stay at Church Hill Inn. It was a last minute getaway and we called the inn hoping for a cancelation. We were offered a room off the dining room, and kudos to the innkeeper, he provided full disclosure on this room. Two rooms are located with entrances thru the breakfast area, I was worried about noise- there was none. But it was weird to walk out into the dining room....of course, the only meal served is breakfast between 8-10am. Otherwise, this expanded B&B was a delight. Cozy, yet substantial enough to have a pool, sauna/spa, several sitti g areas and....the honor bar, Yup, snack, cold beer and wine, cold sodas on demand. Simply fill out a slip with what you took, you'll be charged quite paltry fees. Did I save breakfast for last? We'll, if you don't expect a gourmet meal, you'll be quite satisfied. All in all a lovely place to stay, at a very fair rate. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howards Grove, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is the 3rd time we have stayed @ Church Hill Inn. The owners are friendly & will go out of their way to greet you & make you feel @ home. The rooms are spotless & interesting. One was very British-looking with teacups & saucers, another with a Winston Churchill theme, & yet another looking like you stepped into an English garden. Very nice amenities & the continental breakfast is the best my husband & I ever had...bar none. The menu varies @ times but there is always a homemade strudel or coffee cake. The breakfast room is so very unique & charming. Kudos to the owners! Keep it up-we will be back every year. Our guests on this trip were very impressed. They said they have never stayed in a hotel as nice. They also loved the "honor bar".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed 2 nights midweek. The inn and grounds are showing some wear but with a little renovating, this inn could be not just nice, but magnificent. The room was clean, roomy and nicely decorated. The rooms are all themed. We stayed in the Cricket Room. The beds and linens were luxurious and toiletries high end. The breakfast was good and ample except I would like to have seen some fresh fruit besides orange and grapefruit wedges. There is ample room for relaxing in the many common areas.
Location is great - can walk to Sister Bay shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms are themed and all are not shown online. May want to ask to see the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Church Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Hill Inn

Address: 425 Gateway Drive, Sister Bay, WI 54234-9450
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Sister Bay
Also Known As:
Church Hill Hotel Sister Bay
Church Hill Inn Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Hill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Church Hill Inn to your Saves list