We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Great Family Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood Lodge

Save Saved
You added Birchwood Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birchwood Lodge
10571 Highway 57, P.O. Box 646, Sister Bay, WI 54234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Sister Bay
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Very Great Family Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed her for 7 days and 6 nights in a Premier Room. Family of 3; Mom, Dad and Son (7).

A lot of the other recent reviews have given details about the resort so I'll try to fill in some blanks.

Pools: Indoor is very large for an indoor pool and more importantly it has a lot of windows. If you're here in the colder months, this is a nice benefit. Outdoor pool is located so it has constant sun. During our stay we had cooler summer weather at 70F temps but because of the location of the pool and the fact is is heated, we were very comfortable.

Location: Probably the best part. You can walk to Sister Bay for food, shopping or just bumming around. You can also walk to Piggly Wiggly which because Birchwood has a kitchenette and grills, makes it possible to have a "night in".

Property: Clean and friendly. Door County has some duds out there....this is NOT one of them.

We love this resort and we would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    10
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Husband and wife getaway and we were pleasantly surprised. We booked only a few days ahead during busy season. We got room 315, corner king suite. It was immaculate, furnished with everything you'd need. The room could be better with updated bedspread, curtains and sofa. This is a great room for a romantic getaway - HUGE walk-in shower in bathroom & double jacuzzi tub in room. One of the better aspects of this property is location! It's walking distance (a few blocks) to everything (shops, restaurants, grocery & gas station), but very quiet, as it is off the main drag. Definitely recommend!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is our 1st trip to Door County. We weren't really sure where to stay but we picked this place based on review and location. We were very pleased with our stay . The room was clean and modern. The pools were warm and not very crowded. We will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hales Corners, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We took a last minute trip to Door County. We did not have reservations anywhere. We tried a few places in Fish Creek, but there were no vacancies. I checked with Trip Adviser and it appeared that the Birchwood Lodge had rooms available. The first impression was by a phone call. I called to check on the availability and price. The person who answered was very nice. She offered to have us come and take a look at the room before reserving it, however due to so many places having no vacancies, we decided to just book the room. When we arrived she again was very nice and thorough.

Our room was on the second floor, however it was ground level in the back of the hotel so we did not have to use the stairs or elevator to bring our belongings into the room. The room was very nice. There was a couch, a table and chairs, a king size bed, a kitchenette with a sink, microwave, refrigerator, and all the dishes you would need. There was a two person jacuzzi tub with a lavender pack which had a nice scent, and a fireplace. The bathroom had double sinks and a large shower area. The tv was viewable from both the couch and the bed, although it was a bit high - and we couldn't get the closed captioning to work which was disappointing. There was a patio area with 2 chairs as well.

They have 2 pools, one indoor and one outdoor. In addition there was a whirlpool inside. They have gas grills and picnic tables available as well. And for those who are into tennis - they've got that as well!

On the second floor they also have a fitness room and a sitting area with a small library where you could choose a book to read.

In the morning they have a light breakfast consisting of prepackaged bagels, muffins, and cinnamon rolls. They also have packaged oatmeal, yogurt, apples, and applesauce. Nothing fancy, but it was sufficient.

Since we were there for only one night we were not able to take advantage of all they offer.

I have to say - it was one of the cleanest places I've stayed (the only reason I did not rate it excellent is there was a plop of shampoo or gel on the wall in the bathroom - I don't know how that could've been missed!)

One thing I would recommend - open up the end table drawer! They have a journal in there. It was fun to read all the entries from previous guests - and to add our own!

This was a very nice place with very nice staff - I'm so glad we found it! I'd recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Sister Bay!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The good: clean rooms and friendly helpful service. The pool areas were nice and they had gas grills for guests to use. The location is great, and you can walk to anything in town. Parking is easy and close to the rooms.

The bad: the hotel is a bit dated and the hot tub in the bedroom is just strange. It's like they ran out of room and decided a bathtub by the bed was a good idea. The carpets are out of the 1960's. The view isn't great. It's like you live in an apartment complex and get to see the road outside. No on site restaurant or bar, but a short walk to anything.

The ugly: nothing really ugly here. It's certainly not a 4 star resort, but overall was a decent experience.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I stayed here July 25 - 27th, 2014. We loved it. Staff were extremely nice and helpful. Room was very clean. We were on the second floor which really turns out to be ground level access once you pull around to the back parking lot. We were in one of the premier suite rooms which was perfect for the two of us. Very easy access to Sister Bay or to highway 42 or 57. We had a great weekend and the Birchwood Lodge was a highlight. We will certainly be back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was our second visit to Birchwood Lodge. The hotel is probably the cleanest we have ever stayed in! The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is within walking distance to downtown Sister Bay and close to shopping, restaurants and the lovely beachfront. The price is very reasonable. Always a good choice for our family!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Birchwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Lodge

Address: 10571 Highway 57, P.O. Box 646, Sister Bay, WI 54234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"From the moment you walk in the Lobby" of Birchwood Lodge, you will find yourself in the world of Romance and Elegance. Our luxurious accommodations are suitable for both leisure and business travelers. The Lodge is within walking distance to the quaint village of Sister Bay, home to a waterfront village park and beach, a variety of shops and restaurants. No need to travel to Europe if you can experience Romance in the Heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel and Expedia so you can book your Birchwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Sister Bay
Birchwood Sister Bay
Birchwood Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.