We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Birchwood Lodge to your Saves list
Birchwood Lodge
10571 Highway 57, P.O. Box 646, Sister Bay, WI 54234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sister Bay
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had never been to Door County, WI before, so this was a very fun trip for us. We stayed in a Grand 1 Bedroom at the Birchwood Lodge in Sister Bay, WI. It was easy to find and the service at the front desk, and the cleaning staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room had a full kitchen, bathroom, living room, a separate bedroom, whirlpool and gas fireplace. It was very clean and we had everything that we needed for a 4 day stay. Our room was on the second floor, but do to the fact that the lodge is built into the side of a hill, our room was a walk-out with a little patio area. The pool and hot tub area was very nice. Even though we did not need it, everything at Birchwood Lodge seemed to be handicapped accessible. They offered wrapped muffins, bagels, pastries, yogurt, and packaged oatmeal for breakfast every morning. We loved it and would definitely stay there again when we visit Door County.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Hotel is clean and friendly. The location is great for getting to all local attractions. Would stay here again. We enjoyed the pool and liked the opportunity to use the grills for guests to use. The patio was nice to enjoy the crisp fall evening.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We requested a room near the elevator and were given room 213 which was perfect for us. It was next to the elevator and close to the pool area. The facility is built into a bank so the 2nd floor rooms on the front of the building have balcony's and the rooms on the back of the building have ground level patio's. Our balcony had a small amount of morning sun, but this time of year it would probably be nice to have a room on the other side so you could enjoy the afternoon sun. We had a premier suite. Our suite had one tv which was viewable from the bedroom or the living area, the tv is located above the fireplace and appears a little high for comfortable viewing. The kirchen area was very nice with a small refrigerator and microwave. It also had a full size coffee maker( coffee included) which was very nice. Our suite had a large bathroom with a large, wonderful shower.
They have a light continental breakfast which also was very nice, I don't believe too many lodging facilities in Door County offer this.
The only thing I disliked was that the lighting was not very bright.There are lamps in all of the area's and a light above the kitchen table but none of them seemed to give off much light.
They also have a laundry room which is a big plus if you are staying more than a day or two.
Some previous reviewers have stated it is within walking distance of Sister Bay which may be true but it was a bit further than we cared to walk.
I would highly recommend this lodge. The staff members were always friendly and helpful, which always makes a stay more enjoyable. Great facility and a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I were extremely pleased with our stay at Birchwood lodge. First, the property is clean and we'll maintained from top to bottom. All the extra touches like solid pine woodwork were not missed on us! The staff is super friendly and helpful, and very welcoming creating a very homey environment.

We rented the premier suite and we're very pleased with all the amenities and little extras from the king size bed, large jacuzzi tub in-room, gas fireplace and even a set of dishes in the small kitchenette! Truly felt like a home away from home. My only small criticism of the room is the tv is visible from the couch, bed, or jacuzzi, but is a bit small and too high up to be comfortable to watch.

The property amenities were very nice. We used the indoor pool, hot tub and sauna and enjoyed them all. We noticed they have gas grills available for use which is very nice. Also there are bikes you can use, and also plenty of games available. There is a family room available where you can watch tv or play games as a group. There is also a video arcade and tennis courts. In short lots to do on property if you want.

This was my first time here and I found the location great. You can easily walk to sister bay to eat or go to the shops or park. Beyond that it is very well situated to a number of the other towns. We spent a lot of time in fish creek which is only 10 minutes away but has lots to do including peninsula state park.

Overall a great lodge with plenty of amenities, friendly staff and great location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okauchee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have travelled to Door Co. many times but this was our first stay at the Birchwood Lodge in Sister Bay. My husband and I agree that this is the best place that we have stayed in Door Co. Our room was very clean and provided us with what we needed for our stay - small kitchenette, king size bed, and large balcony. We also were very happy with the fitness facility and indoor pool. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. My husband forgot his electric toothbrush after we left, and we received it in the mail the next day. Excellent customer service. We will recommend this place to friends and family.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor and the south side of the building which gave us nice afternoon sun. Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Second year in row staying here and booked for next year already. Close enough to all the cities stores and action. Friendly staff and personell. Clean rooms. Pool and hot tub clean and working properly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osijek, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

My time in Birchwood Lodge was absolutely perfect! I was with a couple of friends and the space was more than big enough for all of us and a lot (I really mean a lot) of baggage, Room was very clean and housekeeping service was at the top level. The front desk was incredible helpful and friendly, they helped us a lot to meet Door County better.
I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in Door County, this hotel is a true home away from home:)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Lodge

Address: 10571 Highway 57, P.O. Box 646, Sister Bay, WI 54234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"From the moment you walk in the Lobby" of Birchwood Lodge, you will find yourself in the world of Romance and Elegance. Our luxurious accommodations are suitable for both leisure and business travelers. The Lodge is within walking distance to the quaint village of Sister Bay, home to a waterfront village park and beach, a variety of shops and restaurants. No need to travel to Europe if you can experience Romance in the Heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Birchwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Sister Bay
Birchwood Sister Bay
Birchwood Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.