We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return year after year, love this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchwood Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Birchwood Lodge to your Saves list
Birchwood Lodge
10571 Highway 57, P.O. Box 646, Sister Bay, WI 54234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Sister Bay
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Return year after year, love this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Love staying at the Birchwood Lodge. We always book the same suite, 315. It is a one bedroom suite with a full kitchen, outside porch, view of the bay, double fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and the most amazing wonderful shower ever! 3 shower heads, beautiful tile and just a wonderful place to relax. We book this suite at the Birchwood every time we visit Door County. Aside from the room, the place is very clean and the pools are very nice. Can't wait to return for our winter getaway.

Room Tip: Corner Suite 315 is our favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband, 13 year old son and I stayed at Birchwood Lodge last week. We travel to Door County many times a year. First time at Birchwood. We stayed in a Studio Suite, as all of their other rooms were booked. Our room was very clean. For being a small studio space, Birchwood desined the studios very creatively - didn't feel "cramped". We enjoyed being on the first floor, with easy access to the grass lawn to play Frisbee. Excercise room, whirlpool, indoor and outdoor pook were great. Convenient location. The front desk staff were SUPER friendly, accommodating and helpful. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We liked being on the first floor ("road-side") for easy access to the front lawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our family stayed at the farmhouse for a long weekend and had a wonderful time. The farmhouse is very comfortable. It accommodated the 10 of us very well. The furnishings are simple but nice. The bed we slept on was very hard and uncomfortable, but I think the other beds were more comfortable. The pools are very nice and the grounds are kept up very well. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota USA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed there again when we went to Sister Bay June 2, 2013. The bed room was very warm. Wished we had a fan. (They took it out). There was spider webs on the furniture on the balcony. My husband went down for the continental breakfast and came back up with bad creamer and mold on his bagel. The mattress needed to be replaced - we had back aches every morning! Never the less, we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CollakR, General Manager at Birchwood Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear madam,

I am sorry you were disapointed with your recent stay. All of our mattresses have been replaced to a softer type based on our guests requests a year ago. Each unit is individually owned at the Birchwood Lodge and owners decide on decorations and contents of their units. We would be happy to relocate you to the unit with ceiling fan if it has been requested. I would like to thank your husband for bringing into our attention the issue with the mold in prepacked bagels that were delivered to us. We were not aware of this because the items are individually wrapped. As soon as your husband informed us we have removed them from the breakfast line and have contacted our vendor. I am sorry for all the inconvenience you have encountered during your stay.

Roman Collak
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago 'burbs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stay here with a large group every summer--about 18 people. They are great about accommodating us and storing our expensive bicycles for us. The rooms are clean and spacious. I especially like the Jacuzzi tub and the balcony. It's quiet, comfortable, and the staff is friendly. Back for year five this summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Birchwood Lodge and it probably won't be the last. We stayed for one night during the winter when there's not much open in Sister Bay. But the lodge has a really nice indoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room to keep guests busy. The hotel is just around the corner from downtown Sister Bay, which is a very easy walk. Sister Bay Bowl is close, at the top of the hill, and they have a pretty nice menu.

Our room was one of the premiere suites, which has a nice double whirlpool, fireplace and kitchenette. As rooms go, this was very well appointed. It seems they have thought of everything. The kitchenette has a sink, fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, plenty of dishes, glasses, wine glasses and utensils. The bathroom has a nice double shower and its own heater.

The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly, even when we requested a special room. One of the staff members even called a restaurant for us to make sure they were open. They have pool towels available at the front desk and most anything else you can think of. We were very impressed with how clean the facilities were, especially our room.

Our room was on the 3rd floor, which seems to be a little quieter. The second floor has the pool on it and might be a little busier. Continental breakfast is light but when Al Johnson's is just down the street, why fill up at the hotel? Yogurt, fruit, coffee, packaged sweet rolls. Just fine by us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our family has stayed at the Birchwood Lodge every year for at least 6 years! We love the location (an easy walk into Sister Bay) and the owners. Accommodations are large, clean and offer a 'condo-type' feel. Love having a kitchenette, fireplace, and balcony. There is an indoor pool that's always inviting and clean. Very reasonably priced. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchwood Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Lodge

Address: 10571 Highway 57, P.O. Box 646, Sister Bay, WI 54234
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Sister Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sister Bay
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sister Bay
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"From the moment you walk in the Lobby" of Birchwood Lodge, you will find yourself in the world of Romance and Elegance. Our luxurious accommodations are suitable for both leisure and business travelers. The Lodge is within walking distance to the quaint village of Sister Bay, home to a waterfront village park and beach, a variety of shops and restaurants. No need to travel to Europe if you can experience Romance in the Heart of Door County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your Birchwood Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Hotel Sister Bay
Birchwood Sister Bay
Birchwood Lodge Sister Bay, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchwood Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.