We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chop

Chop
10571 Country Walk Ln #13, Sister Bay, WI 54234
+1 920-854-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chop is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Price range: $18 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: With an emphasis on classic American Steakhouse cuisine, Chop is Door County's First Choice for great steak and seafood. Located in the Garden level of the Country Walk Shops, Chop is a great place to eat, combining an intriguing atmosphere with excellent, high-quality food and service.
Prior Lake, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Popovers, yummy salad, wonderful salmon and filet mignon. One of the highlights of our trip, we will go back!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    48
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Iron Mountain, Michigan
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We made reservations for a special evening and were not disappointed. The food is outstanding but we were even more impressed with the service. Reservations are really needed as it is a small place, but 4 people arrived without them and the manager was able to accommodate them. He stated that the next reservation was in one hour and he could provide them with a table and service "that would not seem rushed" but would be ready for the later reservation. Wow. That was impressive.
Our food was great and though I ordered the 2 lamb chop dinner, I received 3 because "they were small". We will sing the praises of Chop from here on out. Keep up the good work!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinsdale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“What are people raving about?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My spouse and I dined at an early dinner hour because of a later engagement. The room is very small...which makes it all the more irritating for countless staffers going back and forth, collecting bar glasses, ice,bottles of wine etc...back and forth in your vision. If you are going to open for dinner,have your front bar set, up with all necessary items so that diners aren't constantly seeing traffic back and forth. You will have enough movement with wait service on diners. It does NOT make for a relaxing dining experience and you ARE attempting to make this a more upscale dining experience, aren't you? The meal was rushed and poorly paced as if the servers were told to load em up and ship them out...most annoying and somewhat insulting. All this can be fixed. The meal,however, was mediocre...the sort of food that a competent home cook could produce for Sunday dinner. The lamb chops, though small, were cooked correctly. The soup, although nicely flavored was lukewarm, salad was ordinary, potatoes were fine. But exceptional, creative,worthy of rave reviews...hardly. As Door County flourishes in an ever better economy, at this price point,patrons expect better.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor...great recommendation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We arrived at Sister Bay and immediately looked up TripAdvisor for a restaurant recommendation. the Chop was rated #1. It was an excellent choice. The food and drinks were excellent and Elli, our server, gave full descriptions of the specials, available wines and other choices. Elli was very engaging and represented the restaurant very well. While advertised as a steak house, its fish specials were superb. As this restaurant has limited seating, it would be best to call for a reservation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wittenberg, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't want to share”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We ate here for the first time and I hesitate to share because there are not many seats and .they may be full when I want to go back if I tell people about it. The steak was excellent but a little overcooked. They did offer to replace it but we thought the flavor was good enough to make up for being overdone. Next time we will order rare + because medium/pink didn't do it. Good salad and dessert also.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chop also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Chop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.