We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller, but AMAZING food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chop

Chop
10571 Country Walk Ln #13, Sister Bay, WI 54234
+1 920-854-2700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chop is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Sister Bay
Price range: $18 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: With an emphasis on classic American Steakhouse cuisine, Chop is Door County's First Choice for great steak and seafood. Located in the Garden level of the Country Walk Shops, Chop is a great place to eat, combining an intriguing atmosphere with excellent, high-quality food and service.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Smaller, but AMAZING food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband and I went to Door County for a weekend getaway on 11/16-11/18. We decided to try CHOP b/c I had seen a few good reviews for it. There were a couple of not so great reviews as well, but mostly they focused on that they felt “rushed” to eat and get out of there. Boy was I glad I didn’t listen to those! CHOP was AMAZING! I would highly recommend reservations. We had some for 7:30 and we sat down immediately. The place is a bit smaller, so I could see if they were packed, how it might feel rushed, but we didn’t feel that way at all. Our waiter was actually one of the owners, and he was very nice and friendly! He stopped to talk to us for a bit after our meal and ask how everything was and where we had heard about CHOP. I told him about the reviews, and he said that if you call for a reservation, and you know that you like to hang around longer and take your time eating, then just let them know that when you make the reservation and they will plan accordingly. He talked about how the people that eat at 5pm like to eat right away and get out, those that eat around 6:30, like to hang around, and sometimes when they have other reservations waiting it can feel a bit rushed. So if you want to hang around and enjoy your meal, they are very accommodating, just let them know! Down to the food:
I had the mushroom ravioli with a cream sauce and fresh Alaskan crab meat on top. This was the best mushroom ravioli I’ve ever had. At first I wasn’t sure how the crab meat would taste with it, but it was wonderful; very rich and smooth. It came with a side salad. My husband had the 12oz NY strip with mashed sour cream potatoes and a side salad. His steak was done perfectly (medium rare) and the potatoes were very creamy and flavorful. He got to choose a steak topping; he chose the house, butter with Worcestershire. The steak was so flavorful and juicy. I had a glass of wine and he had 2 beers and our total before tip was only $66! Definitely well worth it. I’ve had dinners that weren’t half as good as that for much more in downtown Milwaukee. The service was excellent and you can really tell they care about the restaurant, as it’s a family business. The grandma even makes the popovers they give you at the table! We didn’t have any dessert b/c we were too full from eating our entire meals! The atmosphere is modern but quaint. It is a bit small, really no area to wait inside. They do have seating outside, so in the summer that would be nice. There really isn’t a “bar” so to speak, it’s right in the front when you walk in with 4 stools, but I wouldn’t really come to a place like this to sit at a bar anyways. Overall, I can’t wait to go back to this place next year! This is a nice place for a romantic evening or celebrating something.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    48
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Racine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We've been to Door County many times throughout the years. Chop is by far the best experience we have ever had. It's a neat little restaurant with great food and service. I had a N.Y. strip and my wife had two six oz. lobster tails, we both enjoyed our meals immensely.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent all-around and we will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a dinner with four of us in this small and quiet restaurant on October 31, 2012. From the minute we arrived, the customer service was exceptional! Friendly staff and chefs! The food was incredible, and perfectly done for all of us. We will return to this great restaurant. Thank you for making it a memorable evening.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but rushed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We dined at 5:15 on their Surf and Turf night (it was on Monday in October). We all had salad to start - nice size salads (chopped and caesar). One of us ordered the lobster as the surf and the others ordered the bacon wrapped scallops. The bacon could have been cooked longer. The lobster was perfectly cooked. We all ordered the filet and they were delicious - tender and cooked to our specifications. We ordered the house red and white wines and they were excellent. The prices were very reasonable. When we arrived there was only one other table seated. Shortly after that the place was packed with people sitting and standing at the bar and some waiting for their reservations. (we could overhear that there was confusion with reservations). Then the service picked up and we felt rushed (two in our party had not yet finished their salads and the entrees were being served). This is a small space and it became quite loud at times. There were many people that were turned away at the door so make sure you have reservations! There are only about 4 seats at the bar which is really in the entrance way, so if people are standing at the bar waiting for their table, they end up blocking the ingress and egress. We will return next year. It really is one of the best restaurants and best values in Door Co.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Rushed Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

While in Door County, we decided to experience a new restaurant. We decided on Chop based on the menu and the Saturday night special. We were looking forward to a nice relaxed dinner. The food was very good and we had the best bottle of Reisling ever. The only problem was that we felt rushed through the whole dinner. We were in and out in 50 minutes. Not our idea of a relaxing dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chop also viewed

Sister Bay, Door County
Fish Creek, Door County
 
Sister Bay, Door County
Sister Bay, Door County
 

Been to Chop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.