We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food you actually want to eat and not just look at.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Stefano

Trattoria Stefano
522 S 8th St, Sheboygan, WI 53081-4404
920-452-8455
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 145 Restaurants in Sheboygan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Food you actually want to eat and not just look at.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I spent a couple of decades in south Philly, and this is as good and Authentic iltalian gets outside of Italy. I have never had a fish special that I did not love. Even a "boring" chicken dish is exceptional.

We also enjoy the seasoned staff, especially Reed and August. Chicago prices for Sheboygan economy makes it a special occasion place for most family.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    30
    12
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just there for dessert--were treated NOT SO SWEETLY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

My husband and I stopped in over a weekend for a sweet treat and a coffee--we did NOT have reservations. This we knew might be a problem, so we prefaced our request with--we just want dessert, and understand if there isn't room. They could have told us no--it would have been nicer. The host rolled his eyes, called someone else over to "take care of us" and mumbled under his breath as he left. We were told to sit at a small table and left alone--for 10 minutes. We finally asked someone and they ignored us and told the host they "don't know what we want but he should check" so we finally got dessert-it was average. and left. We have NOT been back. It was awful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A charge for a little extra parmigiana cheese?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Supposed to be one of the best in Sheboygan? Don't think so. Average at best. We bought 2+$125+ wine plus 8 meals and they wanted to charge an extra $5 for some parmigiana cheese, seriously.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

There is no better Italian eatery. Regardless of country or city you will find none better. I always go for dinner.


Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian Cuisine in a corner of Wisconsin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My son who is a resident of Sheboygan,WI is infatuated by their food & so am i after he
described to me first time (around 6 years back).Now ,I am at the same level of liking like
him.We visit him at least thrice a year & eat in this restaurant minimum once, every time.
Being there gives a feeling that I am back in Italy .Atmosphere & food are unchanged in all the
years I have been introduced to this place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Stefano also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Stefano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Stefano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.