We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family resort on Lake Michigan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Harbor Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Harbor Resort to your Saves list
Blue Harbor Resort
725 Blue Harbor Drive, Sheboygan, WI 53081   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect family resort on Lake Michigan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in the early evening and quickly went downstairs to have s'mores by the bonfire (50 cents). The next morning we went to the water park for a couple of hours with our two kids - 5 and 2. We all had a great time. We stayed in an aquarium bunk room which the kids loved both because of the bunk beds and the theme. The room is big and comfortable with a very cozy queen for us. We wished we had an extra day here and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHarborManager, General Manager at Blue Harbor Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We're really glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    153
    49
    42
    12
See reviews for
300
57
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Festus, MO
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just returned from a 4-day vacation at this resort. Here are the pros and cons.

Pros:
Lakefront with nice beach
Nice Villas
Within walking distance to restaurants, ice cream, & miniature golf

Cons:
Parking - not enough. Had to fight for a close parking space everytime we left. Should have assigned or parking stickers. Too many non-guests used parking lot to use resort's beach.
A/C in villa is so loud you cannot hear the TV.
Every TV channel is wrong on guide and on TV. TV would say TWC but be USA instead.
Breakfast buffet is a rip-off. It is NOT included in your price. For $12.99, you get everything you would get at La Quinta, except for a cook who will prepare an omelet for you. Big deal. The eggs had a weird plastic taste, the gravy looked like cream of mushroom soup and had anise in it, and the sausage didn't looked cooked all the way. Drive to Perkins and get better food for $7-$8.
Second night, a family with 9 children was upstairs in the villa we were in. As soon as they got there, someone started continuously jumping up and down on the floor. Our light fictures were shaking. It was raining this day, so we were stuck inside with this commotion all day long. I called the front desk and they acted like that's part of the deal when you stay in a $250 a night villa. That family lefted the next day and we got even worse upstairs neighbors. They unloaded all their beach & BBQ supplies in front of our door. We had to step over their things to get out. I was moving it, and they came out and said, "oh, is that in your way?" We said yes and they turned around and went to the beach. When we returned later that day, we noticed our table from OUR deck was missing. Our neighbors had taken it down to the beach to BBQ. I talked to the front desk and told them to get us another table since we sat outside at night. At midnight that night, it was still not there. Moral of the story is if you want a nice quiet vacation, don't stay in a villa.
Beds and pillows are rock hard. I was sore every morning I was there.
Also, there is a notice on the wall inside stating do not put trashbags outside due to health regulations. First night, someone sat a bag full of dirty diapers in front of our building. We called and housekeeping was there immediately to get it. The last night we were there, our nightmare upstairs neighbors sat 2-3 bags of trash on their deck, in the morning about 100 seagulls had the trash strung all over the place! What is wrong with people? If you can't act right in public, stay home!
Also, on the weekends, it is party central. I guess because the villas are so expensive, the more people they get to split the cost the better? But they come in droves and must bring every car they own. If you leave, you will have to find a parking spot a half a mile to a mile away. Seriously. People, including older adults, are yelling, drinking, fighting until after midnight. It seemed really weird to me that a nice resort like this allowed this kind of behavior.

So, even though we had our problems, we problably will go back. Next time, we will stay in the hotel part since it was just the two of us and we really didn't need a villa that big. We will also not eat at the buffet and go elsewhere. This part of Wisconsin is very pretty and clean, just wish the trashy people would stay at a different hotel.

Room Tip: If you are not going with a large group, I would get a Lakeview room in the hotel. The price is only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHarborManager, General Manager at Blue Harbor Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I'm sorry you didn't have better neighbors and we should have reacted quicker to make your stay more enjoyable. Maintenance is checking all the AC units in the villas. Thanks for giving us another chance. Please email me at info@blueharborresort.com when you are ready to make your reservation to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We just returned from a three night stay. Overall, the resort is very nice. However, after hearing all the hype about renovated rooms, I was a little disappointed. The room was spacious and clean, however the fixtures, carpet, wallpaper and shower grout seemed dated. The only updates in our room seemed to be the flat screen tvs and the hairdryer. The kids enjoyed the bunk beds and having their own tv in the boathouse suite. The water park was nice and very clean although definitely smaller than the typical Dells waterpark. My children are 8 and 10 and it was enough to occupy them for a few hours each day. There are two larger raft slides, two body slides, the typical huge bucket that dumps every 15 minutes, leaping lilly pads, basketball area, multilevel water play structure and two areas for toddlers. This resort has a perfect location. It is right on Lake Michigan and has one small beach (you have to navigate down large rocks) and a bigger beach just a short walk down a path. They also have an outdoor pool that adds to the resort feel of this property. A new (and challenging) putting green and Bocce court are nice features also. The lake view is very nice and now that I have seen the property, I will definitely go with a lake view next time. We dined at the Beacon and it was a convenient choice for a decent breakfast. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and will plan to be back.

Room Tip: Lake view would be worth it. Try to get a room on the top floor to avoid hearing guests above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHarborManager, General Manager at Blue Harbor Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments! We did replace all the bedding in our rooms along with linen and terry. We are discussing a schedule for carpet replacement. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Last time we stayed one night in a hotel room. This time we stayed 3 nights in a 4-bedroom Condo. Room 713 offered a good view of the lake even tho we weren't charged the lakefront price. It was clean. It was spacious. We had 13 people and didn't run over each other. The walk to the public beach was very close. The decor could use a little updating and somethings replaced; however, for a big condo, well used, it's very clean and as well used as it should be. The masterbedroom had a nice 2 sink vanity, very nice jaccuzzi tub, good shower and a view of the lake. There was a ceiling fan over the bed which provided a nice white noise in an unfamiliar place. The mattress could be replacing. It was hard. Good washer and dryer. Bring your own Tide Pods as we did. Easy. 2nd bedroom had 2 queen size beds; the best secluded one in the condo. The bathroom was good and clean. Downstairs is the businest. Living room, balcony for partying, kitchen with minimal cookware, but enough to make spaghetti or boil eggs. Plenty of dishware and glasses; wine glasses included. Dishwasher included with 2 dishwashing tablets. The back bedroom has a queen and 2 bunk beds. The other bedroom had one queen. There is one bathroom there. Both bedrooms and the sleeper sofa will share this bathroom. It was expensive. About $1800 including taxes for 3 nights. Sharing between 4 families is ideal. The breakfast buffet in the hotel is a HUGE improvement over last October's odd breakfast. The chef was inviting and entertaining. He made great omelettes. Biscuits and gravy were very good, scrambled eggs, donuts, pastries, fruit, hashbrowns, bacon and sausage. I loved it. The waitress was very nice, poured coffee when we needed it. Nice lady. The front desk staff were very nice, helpful and fast. Attention to detail has improved greatly; they appreciate our business. Not sure how all the rooms get cleaned so fast, as there are many rooms - but they do. And if you need extra ice; call the front desk, you'll get a bag of ice if your refridgerator does not keep up to the partying you will do. The lake was gorgeous. Clear from neck to toe. Soft, beautiful sand; well groomed.

Room Tip: Bring a flashlight to walk the beach in the dark. Go to the 'smores bonfire at 7:30 pm with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHarborManager, General Manager at Blue Harbor Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We're glad you noticed our improvements in food and beverage since last year. We have a new Chef and Food and Beverage Director and they are working hard to give our guests what they want. We have to give credit to the City of Sheboygan for keeping the beach much nicer this year! Thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We rented a four bedroom villa for my wife's birthday. The villa was very spacious for 3 couples and 4 children. We loved that the porch was big enough for all of us too...we had a great view of Lake Michigan. We felt the resort had two negatives...they had the bare necessities for cookware. If you plan on staying in for a meal, espcially if you have a huge family staying there, plan ahead and bring your own cookware. We also had an issue with the housekeeping department. Nothing was done after the first night, and we HAD to call for new sheets and towels after the 2nd night! They finally got the hint on the 3rd day. Here's a TIP...they have a special for $99.00/night on your next stay, but you'll have to book it before your check-out! The kids loved the water park, but bring your own beach towels as the towels they provide are small...even for the kids!! I would have rated The Blue Harbor 4 stars if it weren't for the issues we had...but it won't deter us for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHarborManager, General Manager at Blue Harbor Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you for alerting us to the housekeeping issues in your villa and the shortage of cookware. We have ordered replacement sets for the units. I hope you come back and can give us 5 stars next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

We; three kids (ages 7, 7, and 11), my wife and I; found plenty of things to do at this resort. Check in was smooth and the hotel staff was very professional. The beach was clean, the water park was near-perfect, and the rooms were spacious and like new. Our room, a family suite with city view, was very spacious and the counters were at a perfect height. The bedding was new, soft, and clean. The beds were perfect for my bad back...slept in everyday.

The indoor waterpark offered excellent choices in slides (7 total) and attractions (me in the hot tub) was the perfect size. Everything seemed centrally located and was easy to keep tabs on the kids who wanted to go in all directions. The lifeguarding was "ok". Many of them went through the motions of surveillance but some liked watching each other do the "jig" and so on. I guess the same guy that over saw the guards at Key Lime Cove by Gurnee, IL is developing this crew. The Key Lime Cove Crew is a lot better than this crew as far as being serious about their surveillance. All-in-all, I rank the waterpark for my family a 4. Improve the guards' surveillance and they'd get a 5. The waterpark is excellently maintained, the is water clean and had the perfect temperature.

Bring a blanket, some lawn chairs, a frisbee, cooler with beverages, and some spf to enjoy the beach. Lake Michigan is fairly shallow on this beach. We waded 100 yards out without ever having water over waist high (and I'm a short fat guy). The lake water is cool but refreshing.

The outdoor pool was a brand-new kidney-shaped pool with two basketball hoops and more-than-ample deck space with furniture and a bar with a huge flat-screen tv. I noticed that beers were about $4.00 while frozen daqiuries ran close to $10.00.

Plenty of other activities for the kids as well: smores on the beach in the evening, bocci ball, putting green, beach volleyball, glitter tatoos, and sand-castle-building contests were just some of the other activities available for kids.

In summation, we'll be back and my wife, my kids, and I can't wait! Kudos to Blue Harbor Resort! All members of my family, including me, ranked this resort as the best one ever!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHarborManager, General Manager at Blue Harbor Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
We are honored to be ranked as your best resort ever! It's makes our staff's day when we see our guests enjoying our amenities and laughing and smiling!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A large group of us were stayed here over this past Memorial Day weekend for a wedding. We opted to rent out the Presidential Suite since it would sleep our large crew of couples and had pull out couches for the dateless guys. It was beyond perfection! We had a gorgeous view of the lake with floor to ceiling windows in the oversized living room. The wet bar, kitchen and spacious dining area allowed us to entertain other wedding guests. We had an absolute ball. My boyfriend and I pulled the "lucky straw" and got to stay in the King Suite (the other 3 have queens and shared bathrooms). The King Suite had a private jetted tub, large ensuite bathroom and a huge comfy king sized bed - again, all perfect! The resort had tons of entertainment - games on the lawn, the large indoor waterpark, outdoor pool/bar, jogging/walking trails... the list goes on. Although the surrounding area has some shops and restaurants, its not a busting metropolis, however it's great for that "getaway" feeling. I would absolutely recommend this hotel ten times over. The wedding venue was beautifully done and everyone had a fantastic time! We did visit some of our friends' rooms who stayed in the regular suites and they were also quite spacious. Overall, this place is a hit!

Room Tip: There was a normal "by the water" smell - nothing moldy/musty - just the run of the mill l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHarborManager, General Manager at Blue Harbor Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Glad you enjoyed one of our Presidential Suites. We've recently totally renovated one of them and will finish the other 3 this Fall. They are getting new carpet, furniture, light fixtures and a fresh coat of paint. We love it when guests like you take the time to say nice things. It really helps us reinforce to the staff that service does make a difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Harbor Resort

Address: 725 Blue Harbor Drive, Sheboygan, WI 53081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sheboygan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sheboygan
#4 Family Hotel in Sheboygan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Harbor is the largest resort on Lake Michigan. We are located in charming downtown Sheboygan. We have multiple restaurants, lounges, conference space, a spa and an indoor water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Harbor Sheboygan
Blue Harbor Hotel Sheboygan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.