We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Harbor Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Blue Harbor Resort to your Saves list
Blue Harbor Resort
725 Blue Harbor Drive, Sheboygan, WI 53081   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Just Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here in a 2 bed condo overlooking the lake for 5 nights in June. As I was working locally that week we needed somewhere to keep my wife, 4 year and 10 month old boys amused whilst I was gone. The Blue Harbor certainly did not disappoint. The condo was well appointed (if a little out of date decor wise), very clean and had the perfect space to spread out our life and lots of toys for the week. Just a few steps from the beach and the water park it was a perfect location for paddling and playing for the boys, and with excellent coffee shops and restaurants lining both sides of the river there was no shortage of little stop offs for coffee and cakes.

The main hotel lobby and facilities are really nice, and just recently remodelled. We did not eat at the hotel restaurants, but locally in Sheboygan as I know the area well. however, they looked inviting and bustling. The hotel runs an active kids club and the boys partook on several occasions with artistic and fun activities, as well as bedtime stories and marshmallow toasting round the fire pit each evening.

The watermark itself was not large but did have some excellent slides and fixtures that we all loved. We visited the Dells the following week, and this really held its own even if not on scale. The lifeguards were attentive and visible, and there was a plentiful supply of good life jackets. The best thing was that it really wasn't busy and on. It's afternoons we virtually had the place to ourselves!

Overall highly recommended for families with young children, particularly the condos - although top price they are well worth the extra space and privacy for parents and kids alike. We will return!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    153
    49
    42
    12
See reviews for
300
57
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband, two sons (ages 6 and 2) stayed in a villa for two nights in June. The lobby atrium was modern, airy and open and featured a gorgeous view of Lake Michigan. Our villa was very clean and stocked with dishes, utensils, soaps, and standard hotel amenities. We enjoyed lake views from almost all windows in our villa. The housekeeping staff were accomodating when we requested a pack and play for our toddler. We were a few steps from a gorgeous sandy beach and two buildings away from the fun and exciting indoor water park and outdoor pool. My six-year old had a blast on the four water and tube slides. The two year old enjoyed the zero-depth spray area and toddler pool. Lifeguards were attentive to the children and were observed completing practice CPR drills. During the week, there was plenty of seating, sufficient hotel provided life jackets, and tubes. On the weekend, the waterpark was busier but still uncrowded. Furniture in the villa was mostly well-maintained although some stains were observed in our photos. Sheboygan is a very family-friendly area with a Children's Museum, boating, fishing, lovely parks, and a weekly summer farmer's market. I highly recommend Blue Harbor and will return with my family and extended relatives.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Blue Harbor Resort is a neat hotel with an indoor water park right on the shores of Lake Michigan. It really has a lot going for it and there's nothing quite like it nearby. My family (wife and two daughters that were 5 and 3 at the time) and I stayed over on a weekend several months ago in December 2011 (yes, parts of this review may now be outdated) and had a good time with one major exception detailed below.

My review is sorted by ratable categories below:

Service (5 stars):

Front desk was absolutely great. There was no wait, they let us check in early, and off to the water park we went! I don't remember check-out so it must have gone smoothly. Housekeeping cleaned the rooms without any incident!

Value (4 stars):

All of these types of hotels with indoor water parks strike me as being way, way overpriced. This one actually seems to be a little less expensive than comparable ones (in the Dells or Key Lime Cove in Gurnee, for example) and commonly has deals on their web site. In addition, they have a lot of neat room configurations (big bed for the parents, bunk beds for the kids, aquarium or boat-themed rooms, etc.) that are only slightly more expensive than the standard rooms.

Sleep Quality (4 stars):

The sleep quality was fine. It was actually a little on the warm side for December so we actually slept with the balcony door cracked so you could hear the Lake Michigan waves a little! (The wife and I prefer a little noise when we sleep.)

The one very minor suggestion for improvement that I have is: we had an aquarium themed room and the kids had a set of bunk beds that are in a small alcove. It seems like it would be really, really easy to make that alcove a separate room with a door so that the adults could stay up a little longer without bothering the kids. :-)

Cleanliness (5 stars):

This place is squeaky clean and seemingly ... underused.

Location (5 stars):

Definitely earns 5 stars here. Right on Lake Michigan w/ a decent beach just to the south of the hotel, and downtown Sheboygan and restaurants not far away at all.

Rooms (5 stars):

See comments above regarding value. There is a ton of variety in the room selections and some of them - particularly the aquarium-themed room, are a lot of fun for younger kids.

Food (Dinner, NOT breakfast ... 2 stars):

We planned on eating the first night at one of the hotel's restaurants, since we were driving up from Northern Illinois in the early afternoon and wanted to take it easy in the evening. At the time (December 2011), Blue Harbor was in the process of remodeling their family restaurant and we understood, from what was indicated on their web site, that they would be honoring and serving their family restaurant's menu at their fancier restaurant while the family restaurant was closed.

When we went to the fancier restaurant and sat down for dinner, we found out that this was not the case at all and that they only had the fancy restaurant's menu available.

I guess, at that point, we should have left and complained, and then went elsewhere for dinner, but we begrudgingly stayed because we were tired. Without going into too much detail, the rest of dinner proceeded to downwardly spiral into an embarrassing scene since neither of my kids would eat any of the food, and, well, even a well-behaved 5 and 3 year old can become a complete terror in a fancy restaurant if they are bored, tired, and won't eat.

Morals of the story: 1) To Blue Harbor, PLEASE keep your web site updated AND accurate, 2) The fancy restaurant (I think it's called Latitude?) is not a good place to bring kids, and 3) For my own personal reference, it is occasionally better to complain and leave rather than be miserable and stay!

(Note, again, this review is from a stay that was about 6 months ago, so the above-mentioned family restaurant may now be reopened.)

Water park (4 stars, *very* dependent on age of children):

The water park is smaller, which isn't necessarily a bad thing. My 5 year old could go on most of the rides and in about a year or so will probably be able to go on just about everything and require only a small amount of supervision. My 3 year old was mostly constrained to the smaller slides/pool and playground and if she went anywhere else, needed an adult to help her along. We had both of them wear life jackets as there are pools where the water is 4-5 feet deep that aren't far from the smaller slides/pool.

The "sweet spot" age for the water park, I think, is between 6-12. Kids in that range who can swim should be able to go on everything, have fun, and only require a small amount of loose supervision. Teenagers, I suspect, might get bored with this water park, as they'd probably be interested only in going on the set of big slides and maybe the lazy river. One other point: when we were there, the water park was rather empty. Not sure what the water park would be like with a big crowd. I suspect not too much fun.

Additional information/tips for the readers' benefit (not influencing the ratings):

- In mid-December, Blue Harbor Resort was all but EMPTY. Perhaps that was just a good weekend to go because the place gets really busy a couple of weeks later during the holidays? I don't know. Anyway, it's kind of a shame because it's a neat place and I hope it doesn't "go under". We'll definitely consider going back there.

- There are several restaurants very close by along the riverfront. We went to Highland House, which is just down the street. It'd be a great place to grab a drink or a bite if the weather is nice since they have outdoor seating along the river, but we found their lunch to just be okay. On the other side of the river is an English pub, the Duke of Devon, which I heard is pretty good. We'll probably try there next time.

- I'd like to see what this place is like in the Summer. With the lake view and beach, I assume it'd be even nicer than in Winter.

All in all, if they have resolved the restaurant issues described above, I'd say Blue Harbor Resort would be a darned near perfect place to spend a fun weekend with the family, especially with kids between 6-12. I only hope they get enough business to stay in business.

Room Tip: Lakefront view rooms are nicest but more expensive. Ask yourself, "Do I need the view if I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dousman, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Blue Harbor Resort was a really nice place for a conference. It's nice that the conference center and the rooms are on the opposite side of the building from the waterpark. We didn't have to contend with all the kids and noise during our meetings or at bedtime. The waterpark is great and was a lot of fun even for us adults. I especially loved the views of the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Loved it. Great location, great room away from the Water Park and staff was very professional. We had a 4th floor room facing the lake. Awesome sunrise and nice and cool on the balcony in the afternoon. Hotel is very clean and well kept. Stores, Shops and Restaurants near the hotel were also great. Only complaint was we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: With kids: near the Water Park. Without kids: away from Water Park. Fourth floor is best, vaulted ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Was there on a business trip - stayed 2 nights and was completely satisfied, other than it took me a couple of tries to find the place. The property is beautiful, spotless, awesome location on the lake, great attention to detail and the staff was outstanding. (from the manager to the housekeeping staff- amazing). Would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Blue Harbor is a fantastic resort. My family stayed for 2 nights in the Boathouse suite. The room was clean. The outdoor pool was very nice. The water park was very clean with lots of lifeguards around. Housekeeping and put fresh towels, soaps, etc in our room while we were out on our second day, which was so appreciated. Lake Michigan is beautiful. No complaints about this hotel. It is beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Harbor Resort

Address: 725 Blue Harbor Drive, Sheboygan, WI 53081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sheboygan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sheboygan
#4 Family Hotel in Sheboygan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Harbor is the largest resort on Lake Michigan. We are located in charming downtown Sheboygan. We have multiple restaurants, lounges, conference space, a spa and an indoor water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Harbor Sheboygan
Blue Harbor Hotel Sheboygan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.