We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your time!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Harbor Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Harbor Resort to your Saves list
Blue Harbor Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   725 Blue Harbor Drive, Sheboygan, WI 53081   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Don't bother! This place is a joke. When I checked into my room, I was surprised. The floor needed to be cleaned and vacuumed. Spots and dirt on the floor. I had a first floor room with a patio. When I stepped out onto the patio, there were cigerette butts everywhere. Clean it up people!! The room above me sounded like a herd of elephants. I could hear every conversation, their tv and their children running from one end of the room to the other until 10pm!!! The next day, the same thing. I called the front desk to complain about the noise and was told that QUIET hours were not until 11pm and that there was nothing they could do about it. What??? How about some courtesy to others around you!! And of course, after I called to complain about it, I swear it got worse. Thank goodness I was traveling alot and didn't have to spend much time in my room. It looks nice from the outside, but dont be fooled. It is not worth the price you pay. I will stick with the Hyatt!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHarborManager, General Manager at Blue Harbor Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
I'm very sorry about the housekeeping and noise issues you experienced. I too enjoy Hyatts. I think in general we are as nice although as a family resort, noise issues sometimes present themselves. We should have done a better job of correcting them. In terms of housekeeping, I'm frankly embarrassed. You fell victim to a total breakdown of inspection procedures in your room. Please email me at info@blueharborresort.com. I would very much like to make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    164
    55
    46
    15
See reviews for
322
62
3
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed here in March for a family get away - decided on the Blue Harbor because of the shorter drive. Rates were conparable to the Dells.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom family suite with a Lake Michigan view. We checked in Saturday at approximately 1:30, and our room was already set. The lobby was amazing... very cool. The room was clean and nice too.

Our kids are 7 and 4. They were both more than content with the Water Park for Saturday (5 hours) and Sunday (2 hours). We didn't eat at the resort, but ordered pizza from Fayes and had it delivered. It was very good. We had also brought our own breakfast items, so I cannot comment on the food at Blue Harbor.

I found the staff to be friendly. When we had neighbors that thought it was appropriate to have their young kids play in the hall after 9:00pm, I called and they took care of it right away. Not the worst but we were trying to get our own kids to bed!

I also forgot my glasses there. When I called the housekeepers called me back in about 5 hours and are shipping them back to me. (I am paying though!)

I also woke up early Sunday and made some coffee to watch the sunrise over Lake Michigan. It was beautiful. The grounds were nice and the beach was fun for a brief but chilly walk.
We will be going back. It is a perfect drive time and perfect for our kids before they get too big!

The only complaint is they could have used another elevator. There was a long wait at times.

Room Tip: We were in room 403 which was top floor near the water park. It was nice and close to Breaker Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHarborManager, General Manager at Blue Harbor Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments. I'm very sorry about the slow elevators. We did have one out of order during your stay. I too enjoy the sunrises over the lake! I hope you come back this season as we have some special offers that will enhance this experience such as Sunrise Coffee and refreshments served on our lobby patio. I also hope the next time you visit you will sample some of the family dining specials in our Beacon Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We just got back from a stay at Blue Harbor and overall we really liked it. I think in the summer when we could use the beach and more local places would be open it would be even better. Our girls really liked the waterpark and it is great for kids 8 and under. Staff was nice. My only complaints would be the resort fee added to the room. When paying $350 a night for 2 bedroom place, is it really necessary to add on a $20 resort fee? Just put it into the price of the room. Additionally there was something wrong with our account and each meal when we tried to put the cost back to the room it caused an issue.
We will definately return this summer and hope they correct the issues.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

We brought our sons and a few of their friends to Blue Harbor for their birthdays and rented the two bedroom villa this year. Having frequented resorts in the WI Dells we had high hopes. Unfortunately we were disappointed. The villa was quite dated, although pretty clean. Our disappointment stems from the fact that we paid $350 for a single night stay so that we would have access to a full kitchen. To say the kitchen was grossly under equipped would be an understatement.

No corkscrew, no cheese grater and no knife longer than 4". I wasn't expecting a 5 star kitchen, but hoped for enough to put together a simple pasta dinner.

The water park is quite small, but probably good for families with younger children (ages 2-5.). Our kids (7-9) wished we'd gone to the Dells. Next time we'll spend the extra hour driving each way, and save a few hundred dollars by going to the Dells.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed march 3rd 2012 in a family fireplace suite. Promised early check in that never happened...front desk staff was rude. Was never told breakfast buffet was in a different restaurant due to the construction. Restaurant staff was rude and food was cold and not good. Over priced and not worth the money....room not very clean either. Stay away and save your money!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHarborManager, General Manager at Blue Harbor Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Thank you for your frank comments about our resort. We failed miserably to create a fun and relaxing experience for you. Please contact me at info@blueharborresort.com so we can make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We were at Blue Harbor Feb 25,2012 for one night. THe staff was great and we loved the waterpark. The lobby was under construction so we are coming back again to see what a great job they did. We were in Unit 733. It was a 2 bedroom. Great location near the water park. This unit is probably one of the closest to the waterpark. I will request it again when we go back up there.

Snacks at the WaterPark are just OK. We had lots of food in the villa so it was easy to run back and forth.

The kids can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for 733
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueHarborManager, General Manager at Blue Harbor Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your villa stay! As a tip for other readers, units such as yours close to the water park are in high demand when it's cold. The lakefront units have very high demand in summer months. We are anxious to hear what you think of our new lobby, restaurant and lounge. The vast majority of our guests seem to really like it- particularly the view of the lake and improved food and beverage concepts. Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We were at Blue Harbor about a month ago and stayed in a Boat Suite. My two grandchildren (5 & 3) loved it. Unlike bigger water parks this was quieter and much easier to keep track of the kids. They loved the slides and lazy river. I thought the water could have been warmer but that would have been my only compliant. We were so happy we booked it again for the middle of March but this time will be staying in a Villa. If you have young ones this is perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Harbor Resort

Address: 725 Blue Harbor Drive, Sheboygan, WI 53081
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sheboygan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sheboygan
#3 Business Hotel in Sheboygan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Harbor is the largest resort on Lake Michigan. We are located in charming downtown Sheboygan. We have multiple restaurants, lounges, conference space, a spa and an indoor water park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Harbor Sheboygan
Blue Harbor Hotel Sheboygan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Harbor Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.