We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty Ribs, Annoying Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Roadhouse

Texas Roadhouse
4304 Gander Road, Sheboygan, WI 53083
920-457-7427
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 143 Restaurants in Sheboygan
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty Ribs, Annoying Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stopped at the Texas Roadhouse on my way back to Chicago. This was my second visit. Upon entering a gaggle of high school/college girls greeted me cheerily at the door. As I was walked to my seat, the hostess chatted me up with questions like, "Do you come here often?" and "Isn't the weather beautiful" and "How is your day today?" with feigned enthusiasm. As I sat in my booth, I watched and listened as the hostesses practiced the same plastic greeting to everyone who entered.

Immediately upon being seated, I was given a bucket of peanuts and a basket of rolls (the kind you buy frozen and bake) and sweet butter. I had the half slab of ribs, which were fall off the bone tender, buttered corn (which I expected would be on the cob but was basically dressed up canned corn) and the mashed potatoes and gravy. The food was good. But I find people trying so hard to seem happy somehow phony and annoying. Maybe other people like that kind of thing in servers but it detracted from my experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    8
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disgusting bathroom,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Everything else was great prime rib!
for $20 service (Gilly) was great manager came to check on us,
Bathroom was more than just untidy it has not been cleaned in a long time and was pretty bad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good steaks but has gone downhill a bit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

On our last visit, my daughter and I ordered salmon and husband ordered steak. The steak had to be sent back to cook a little bit longer. This isn't a huge deal for us and it was excellent as usual when it came back out. Daughter's salmon was good but mine was not even close to being done. Salmon not being cooked through seems to be a common problem here as it happens too many times to me. I was hesitant to order it but did anyway. Back to the kitchen it went and it was cooked through when brought back to the table. I will no longer order the salmon. I was surprised that we were not offered any free appetizer coupon from the manager when the food was brought back to us. I've always been given a free appetizer coupon before when this happens. We never use them but it's the gesture that is appreciated.

The last few visits I've also noticed that some waitstaff is more busy sitting and chatting with friends than taking care of customers.

We'll continue to go but should we continue to encounter uncooked food and unattentive waitstaff we'll stop going. It's too bad because they really do have excellent steaks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Won't go back anytime soon”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

1/2 full restaurant on a Wednesday night. Seated us with a child that needed a high-chair in high traffic area by bar when there were plenty of outlying areas clear. First waitress took order, never came back, later a waiter (Gilbert) came back to "replace" other one, no reason given. Brought drinks, but no water as requested. Waited about 45 minutes for salad and appetizer combo. Never checked on meal after served. Waited another 15-20 minutes after finished eating for bill. Plenty of staff there, just apparently all incompetent. Not atypical from other times eating there. Probably the last time will eat there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible! Don't waste your money!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We are forgiving people and punished ourselves more than once. Out of a total of six visits we had one fairly good experience. Won't go back again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Texas Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.