We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location downtown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Sheboygan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Sheboygan to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Sheboygan
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   723 Center Avenue, Sheboygan, WI 53081 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn - Sheboygan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Rosamond CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice location downtown”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I never look forward to staying in an Econo Lodge, but this place is nice! Very hands on owner who also owns a motel in Manitowoc and is clearly trying to upgrade the place. Our key did not function when we checked in and the desk man could not make it work either. The owner was summoned and when he arrived, it worked perfectly. Don't know what was up with it, but they made sure it worked.

The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Everyone associated with the hotel was very friendly. Did not get a chance to use the large indoor pool and spa but checked it out. Seemed really nice in a steamy sort of way! Would be a terrific spot in the winter.

The location is the best thing this motel has going for it. Downtown, right across from the Kohler Center for the Arts as well as the redeveloped downtown area. Lots of little shops, bars, restaurants, etc. and within walking distance of the riverfront marina area.

There is a restaurant/pizza place inside the hotel but I did not get a chance to try it. The hotel provides a standard hotel breakfast buffet in the restaurant in the mornings. Nothing special but the attendant was so friendly and interested in everything we had going on!

Given a bit more time and money, the owner will make this into a very nice budget type hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    8
    3
    7
See reviews for
11
6
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, WI
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

After reading other TA reviews, it seemed like the best place to book for our one night in Sheboygan. We spent two days at the Kohler Dunes and were just looking for a place to sleep. That's the only way I would stay here again. Rooms are so tiny - especially the bathrooms. I thought the door was going to hit the toilet and then the tub when opening it. The restaurant that got such great reviews is no longer in operation. But 8th Street is loaded with places to eat and quirky shops and it is walking distance to the riverwalk area, which made a nice evening walk. All in all I suppose we got what we paid for. If you will be busy with other activities and literally just looking for a place to sleep, book here. But if you want to hang in your room for any length of time, I'd say go elsewhere. One positive note - the breakfast bar was nice in the morning, especially if you have hungry children with. Joy, the woman stocking and cleaning the breakfast spot was so very nice. The best employee we came in contact with. If you happen to be in that area on Saturday morning - check out the farmers market in Fountain Park - just north of the motel. It is the best!

Room Tip: This is a very old building once being the Grand Hotel. A very small building in general. I think mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

For the price, we got what we expected however the room and bathroom were too small for 4 people. The only major complaint was the breakfast bar not being stocked all 3 days we were there.
Did like the fact there was a restaurant in the hotel. The pizza is really good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My son and I recently spent two very enjoyable, relaxing nights here. It was a pleasant and affordable experience. The staff was very friendly, accommodating and eager to please. All areas of the hotel were very clean and quiet. The pool and hot tub was highly relaxing with perfect water temperatures. The breakfast bar offered a wide variety of fresh choices. The adjacent restaurant has amazing pizzas (the best I ever had) cold tap beer and enjoyable friendly staff. All this and location location location!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here one night to go to a wedding in Sheboygan Falls. It is not fancy and a little dated, but the staff is super friendly, the beds and pillows are very comfortable, and it was very, very clean. We also stopped in for a drink later in the evening, and they were still serving food rather late. We ordered the Chicken Florentine pizza, and it was fantastic. They had a very nice little menu. I hear these are new owners and hope they are able to make it and then work on updating! I really did not have time to use or even look at the fitness center, which is the only reason I rated it average. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would avoid the room across from the elevator. Can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanton, Ohio, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the hotel this weekend and found this to be a pleasant surprise. Although the building is dated they are trying very hard to make this a nice place to stay. Very clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. If something did not work or was not right they made it right. The food in the restaurant was great. Service was excellent. I understand this hotel is re-opened under new management and I hope they make it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place is under new ownership and you can tell they care. Clean, Friendly staff. Its far away from the exit highway , so no noise with bother you. Only about 3 blocks from the lake, easy walk, and within walking distance to local restaurants. Highly recommend.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Sheboygan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Sheboygan

Address: 723 Center Avenue, Sheboygan, WI 53081 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn - Sheboygan)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Sheboygan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Sheboygan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Sheboygan 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Econo Lodge Sheboygan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Sheboygan
Sheboygan Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Sheboygan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.