We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Sheboygan's best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rupps Downtown

Rupps Downtown
925 N 8th Street, Sheboygan, WI 53081
920-459-8155
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 140 restaurants in Sheboygan
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One of Sheboygan's best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Rupps is the ultimate Sheboygan restaurant. It has a little bit of everything from a salad bar to lobster tail. My favorite is the steak sandwich and the Friday night fish fry. The atmosphere and staff are comfortable and friendly. Love the bar too! We always go early so we can sit and have a drink before our meal. If you're in downtown Sheboygan, be sure and eat a meal here. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    25
    15
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Being from a large metro area, we are no strangers to supper clubs. We sometimes also design vacations around restaraunt destinations. Rupps came up in a search, so we rolled the dice, and hit the jackpot! Very friendly service, super fresh salad bar, and soups that were clearly home made, all on a weeknight. What really surprised us was the steak. Several times at other places we've noticed seasoning or tenderizing to compensate for sub-par meat, but not here. Top notch steak done PERFECTLY, didn't need a thing. Sides were nicely done as well. Visible kitchen was intriguing, and chefs were true professionals, running traditional equipment that so many supper clubs lack these days. We only live 80 miles from Rupps, but wouldn't hesitate to drive there again for dinner. We can only hope they will be there for years to come!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Family who had visited before said to try Rupps. Old school "supper club". We were not disappointed. Loved the salad bar, the rolls, the waitress, the mixed drinks, and especially the absolutely perfectly cooked and seasoned steak. Outstanding.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Oasis in Sheboygan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great place for steaks and cocktails ! The service was great and the prices are right. Old decor, but that's what Rupps is, a grand old Restaurant right around the corner from the Grand Stay Hotel. Very convenient.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balaton MN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wesely p”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great food steaks were great was done perfectly nice atmosphere peaceful I would recommend this place to people that enjoy a great steak.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rupps Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Rupps Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rupps Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.