We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Paradise?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ferry Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ferry Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Ferry Bed & Breakfast
92 Spence Road, Lower Shotover | RD 1, Lower Shotover 9371, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
GRADIGNAN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Close to Paradise?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We are three French seniors. Two nights in The Ferry. Whole house for ourselves, and plenty of wood in front of the cheminee. Much too short stay to appreciate the place. Glenis and Kevin did as much as they could for us: very warm welcome, delicious breakfast, fishing advices...
What to say? Just perfect! Too bad this fantastic place is so far away from France.

Room Tip: All rooms are vey good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We wanted to give our daughter and granddaughters some respite from earthquake damage in Christchurch. We had been before and remembered The Ferry for the hospitality. We had the whole house to ourselves and arrived to a very warm welcome and a wonderful log fire. Glenys and Kevin were excellent and friendly hosts. We were all able to relax and the girls were able to unwind. There were games for the children and plenty of places nearby for fun and food. We all look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If your party is big enough, go for the whole house. if not, the double room with en suite is lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FerryQueenstown, Owner at The Ferry Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
We really appreciate you taking the time to compile and submit your review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us again. Bringing your daughter and grand-daughters this time made it very special and we really hope to see you again on one of your future visits. Maybe next time your son in law will be able to come too. Hope you enjoyed your world cup games, fashion show and race meeting in Auckland and had a good trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needingworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We arrived after the historic snow storm and the Ferry B&B looked beautiful in the snow, with amazing views of the river and historic bridge. Glenys and Kevin were very welcoming and very helpful and knowledgeable of the local area, giving us advice on where to go and what to see. Glenys helped book our Jet Boat trip - which was great. We loved the acommodation, it was very comfortable, cosy and warm. It was lovely to wake up in the morning to a fire and to have a lovely breakfast with fresh home made bread all prepared and ready for us. Buckley was good fun and our two boys looked forward to seeing him every morning - we also took him for a walk one afternoon in the snow which was great as we were missing our dog from home. I am glad we chose to stay here rather than in the centre of Queenstown as Queenstown was very busy, full of skiers and we preferred the peace and quiet and beautiful scenery of the Ferry B&B. This was one of the places in New Zealand that we really did not want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Warm, comfortable and with very welcoming hosts (even the four-legged kind!)

We loved every minute of our stay here. We had a four year old with us and his comment sums it all up - "I loved being in the ferry house - it was AWESOME'. Oh yeah - and he named his lego dog Buckely - after Glenys and kevin's dog.

Do yourself a favour and stay here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Exceptionally walm welcome from the hosts and the log fire was sure welcome as well.
The hosts were great with the children who had plenty to do like tagging along taking the dog for a walk, playing the board games, watching DVDs.
The shotover river is beautiful, the river and historic bridge just meters away. The history is seen in the house as well, the walls adorned with pictures of the B&B.way back in time.
So, we highly recommend it,.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

It's quaint, very friendly, fabulous breakfasts,warm and cosy by the roaring fire, better than at home.!!
A wonderful experience we will be doing again, loved every minute especially the the hosts.
Highly recommend, especially if you want affordable luxury.
Many thanks
Gay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Glenys and Kevin have wonderful holiday accommodation in the heart of Central Otago. Perfectly positioned to access all the fun and action in and around Queenstown for winter and summer trips. They are friendly and helpful, making great efforts to maximize the enjoyment of your stay using their wide knowledge of all the area has to offer. The boys enjoyed walking Buckley along the river and the fantastic breakfasts..
It was hard to leave the warm, comfortable and spacious house truly a home from home, felt like staying with family.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ferry Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ferry Bed & Breakfast

Address: 92 Spence Road, Lower Shotover | RD 1, Lower Shotover 9371, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lower Shotover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lower Shotover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World Elegance aptly describes this delightful B&B not just a place to stay, a feature of your holiday. Formerly a popular hotel for over 100 years, the B&B is now an Historic landmark. Your hosts Kevin and Glenys enjoy helping you to make the most of your stay in Queenstown offering advice and information and making bookings for local attractions. Buckley our friendly English Springer likes to walk you along our beautiful track by the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Ferry Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ferry Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.